Guide to the Women’s Tennis Association (or “WTA”)

The Women’s Tennis Association (or “WTA”) is the governing body of Women’s Professional tennis and the WTA Tour.

The WTA was founded by Billie Jean King in 1973 and initially consisted of 9 players including Peaches Bartkowicz, Rosie Casals, Judy Dalton, Julie Heldman, Billie Jean King, Kristy Pigeon, Kerry Melville Reid, Nancy Richey, and Valerie Ziegenfuss.

One of the main reasons for setting up the WTA was to address the inequality in the amount of prize money awarded to male tennis players at tournaments in comparison with female tennis players at the same tournament.

In some cases, male players were being paid 12 times the amount being paid to female players.

Over the years, the WTA has fought to address the inequality in prize money and by 2007 all four grand slam events paid equal prize money to male and female tennis players.

The WTA Tour

The WTA Tour is run by the Women’s Tennis Association and is the equivalent of the ATP Tour in the Men’s game.

The WTA Tour shares a similar tournament structure to the ATP Tour with tournaments being split into different categories: Grand Slam, WTA 1000, WTA 500 and WTA 250.

The bigger the tournament, the more ranking points are awarded to the winner of the tournament with grand slam winners being awarded 2,000 points, with WTA 1000 winners getting 1000 points, WTA 500 getting 470 points and WTA 250 winners getting 280 ranking points.

There is also a year end Championships where the top 8 WTA players who have scored the most ranking points in that year meet to compete in the WTA Finals. The winner of the WTA Finals can win up to 1,500 points for winning.

Table of Contents

WTA (Women's Tennis Association) Guide
Guide to the Women’s Tennis Association (or “WTA”)

Top WTA Players (Singles)

Ashleigh Barty from Australia is the current number WTA tennis player in the world and has held the number 1 ranking since 2019. Aryna Sabalenka from Belarus is currently ranked second followed by 2021 French Open champion Barbora Krejčíková who is ranked number 3 in the world.

Below is a list of the top 10 players in the world according to the WTA Official Ranking as of 17/11/2021.

RankingPlayer NameAchievements in 2021
1Ashleigh BartyWimbledon Champion
2Aryna SabalenkaMadrid Open Champion
3Barbora KrejčíkováFrench Open Champion
4Karolína PlíškováWimbledon Finalist
5Garbiñe MuguruzaChampion in Dubai and Chicago
6Maria SakkariSemi-Finalist at the French Open and the US Open
7Ons JabeurChampion in Birmingham Classic
8Anett Kontaveit4 WTA Titles in 2021
9Iga SwiatekItalian Open Champion
10Paula BadosaIndian Wells Champion

WTA Grand Slam Winners

Similar to the ATP Tour, The WTA Tour plays 4 grand slam events each year at the Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open.

Margaret Court currently holds the record for the most grand slam wins with 24 titles to her name.

The most successful player at the grand slams that is still active is Serena Williams who has won 23 grand slams, one behind the all time record set by Margaret Court.

You can check out our page on Women’s Grand Slam Winners if you want to find out more information on who has won the different grand slams over the years.

WTA Tournament Calander/Schedule

The WTA Tour runs for around 11 months of the year from January to November with the WTA Finals in November marking the last big tournament played each year.

The WTA Tour is truly global with tournaments being held in Europe, North/South America, Africa and Asia.

For more details on where and when WTA Tournaments will be played in 2022, check out our 2022 WTA Tournament Schedule.

Leave a Comment