Women’s Stuttgart Open

The Women’s Stuttgart Open is a WTA 500 tennis tournament that is played on indoor clay courts in the Porsche Arena in Stuttgart, Germany with the tournament being the longest-running women’s indoor tournament in Europe.

The Stuttgart tennis tournament is a popular event on the WTA tour as the players have voted it their favorite Premier Tournament at the WTA Tournament Awards on 11 separate occasions.

Women's Stuttgart Open

2023 WTA Stuttgart Open

Official Name:Porsche Tennis Grand Prix
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Tour Level:WTA 500
Court Surface:Indoor Claycourt
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$780,637


The 2023 WTA Stuttgart Open (also known as the Porsche Tennis Grand Prix) tennis tournament took place from the 17th to the 23rd of April 2023.

The 2023 tournament was held in the same week as the ATP tournaments in Barcelona, Banja Luka, and Munich.


Tickets for the 2023 WTA tournament in Stuttgart were sold through the tournament’s official website, with ticket prices starting at €15.


The provisional entry list for the 2023 WTA 500 tournament in Stuttgart has now been released with the 2023 Australian Open singles champion Aryna Sabalenka and the world number 1 Iga Swiatek headlining the event.

Other top players in the singles entry list included Coco Gauff, Ons Jabeur, and Emma Raducanu.

  • Aryna Sabalenka
  • Barbora Krejcikova
  • Beatriz Haddad Maia
  • Caroline Garcia
  • Coco Gauff
  • Daria Kasatkina
  • Donna Vekic
  • Ekaterina Alexandrova 
  • Elena Rybakina
  • Emma Raducanu
  • Iga Swiatek
  • Jelena Ostapenko
  • Jule Niemeier
  • Karolina Pliskova
  • Liudmila Samsonova   
  • Maria Sakkari
  • Martina Trevisan
  • Ons Jabeur
  • Petra Kvitova
  • Qinwen Zheng
  • Tatjana Maria
  • Veronika Kudermetova


The 2023 WTA Stuttgart Open started on Monday, the 17th of April 2023, with the finals being played on Sunday, the 23rd of April 2023.

Monday, 17 April 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday, 18 April 20231st and 2nd Round Matches
Wednesday, 19 April 20232nd and 3rd Round Matches
Thursday, 20 April 20233rd Round Matches
Friday, 21 April 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday, 22 April 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday, 23 April 2023Finals


The draws for the 2023 singles and doubles tournaments in Stuttgart were made a few days before the start of the tournament and are now available to view on the Official WTA Tour website (see links below).

Women’s Singles: View Draw

Women’s Singles Qualifying: View Draw

Women’s Doubles: View Draw

Prize Money and Ranking Points

The total financial commitment for the 2023 Porsche Tennis Grand Prix in Stuttgart was $780,637.

This was the total investment by tournament organizers and includes Marketing Fees, Prize Money, and Bonus Pool Contributions.

How the prize money and points were split for the 2023 tournament is detailed below.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the women’s singles tournament in 2023 won $120,150 and 470 points, while the runner-up won $74,161 and 305 points.

2nd Round$11,50055
1st Round$8,3101

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the women’s doubles tournament in 2023 received $40,100 ($20,050 each) and 470 ranking points, while the runner-ups received $24,300 ($12,150 each) and 305 ranking points.

Performance$ – Per Team$ – Per PlayerPoints
1st Round$4,350$2,1751

WTA Stuttgart Open Past Winners

Women’s Singles Event

The current champion in the singles event is Iga Swiatek who beat Aryna Sabalenka 6-3, 6-4 in the 2023 singles final (see match highlights from the final below).

This was the third year in a row that Aryna Sabalenka was beaten in the final by a world number 1 after she lost to the then world number 1 Ashleigh Barty in the 2021 singles final and the current world number 1 Iga Swiatek in the 2022 singles final.

Martina Navratilova currently holds the record for most singles titles in Stuttgart with six titles to her name, followed by Martina Hingis and Tracy Austin with four titles each.

Below is a list of past winners and runner-ups in the singles event from 2012 to 2023. For a full list, check the official WTA Tour website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2023Iga SwiatekAryna Sabalenka6-3, 6-4
2022Iga SwiatekAryna Sabalenka6-2, 6-2
2021Ashleigh BartyAryna Sabalenka3–6, 6–0, 6–3
2019Petra KvitovaAnett Kontaveit6–3, 7–6
2018Karolína PliskovaCoCo Vandeweghe7–6, 6–4
2017Laura SiegemundKristina Mladenovic6–1, 2–6, 7–6
2016Angelique KerberLaura Siegemund6–4, 6–0
2015Angelique KerberCaroline Wozniacki3–6, 6–1, 7–5
2014Maria SharapovaAna Ivanovic3–6, 6–4, 6–1
2013Maria SharapovaLi Na6–4, 6–3
2012Maria SharapovaVictoria Azarenka6-1, 6-4

Women’s Doubles Event

Demi Schuurs and Desirae Krawczyk are the defending champions in the doubles event after beating Giuliana Olmos and Nicole Melichar-Martinez 6-4, 6-1 in the 2023 doubles final.

Martina Navratilova currently holds the record for the most doubles titles with eight titles to her name.

Below is a list of past winners and runner-ups in the doubles event going back to 2012. For a full list, check the official WTA Tour website.

YearWinnersRunner UpsScore
2023Demi Schuurs and Desirae KrawczykGiuliana Olmos and Nicole Melichar-Martinez6-4, 6-1
2022Demi Schuurs and Desirae KrawczykCoco Gauff and Zhang Shuai6–3, 6–4
2021Ashleigh Barty and Jennifer BradyDesirae Krawczyk and Bethanie Mattek-Sands6–4, 5–7, 10–5
2019Mona Barthel and Anna-Lena FriedsamAnastasia Pavlyuchenkova and Lucie Šafářová2–6, 6–3, 10–6
2018Raquel Atawo and Anna-Lena GrönefeldNicole Melichar and Květa Peschke6–4, 6–7, 10–5
2017Raquel Atawo and Jeļena OstapenkoAbigail Spears and Katarina Srebotnik6–4, 6–4
2016Caroline Garcia and Kristina MladenovicMartina Hingis and Sania Mirza2–6, 6–1, 10–6
2015Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Lucie SafarovaCaroline Garcia and Katarina Srebotnik6–4, 6–3
2014Sara Errani and Roberta VinciCara Black and Sania Mirza6–2, 6–3
2013Mona Barthel and Sabine LisickiBethanie Mattek-Sands and Sania Mirza6–4, 7–5
2012Iveta Benešová and Barbora Záhlavová-StrýcováJulia Görges and Anna-Lena Grönefeld6–4, 7–5