Palermo Ladies Open

The WTA Palermo Ladies Open is an outdoor clay court tennis tournament that is held at the Country Time Club in Palermo, Italy.

A Ladies’ tournament was played in Palermo from 1990 to 2013 until the license for the tournament was sold to the Malaysian Open in 2014.

However, in 2019 the WTA Tour returned to Palermo with the 2023 tournament being the 34th edition of the event.

Palermo Ladies Open

WTA Palermo Open 2023

Alternative Name:Internazionali Femminili di Palermo
Location:Palermo, Italy
Tour Level:WTA 250
Court Surface:Outdoor Clay Court
Prize Money:$259,303
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles


The 2023 WTA Palermo Ladies Open Tennis Tournament took place from the 17th to the 23rd of July 2023.

The 2023 tournament was held in the same week as the tournaments in Iasi, Budapest, Newport, Bastad, and Gstaad.


Tickets for the 2023 tournament in Palermo were sold through the tournament’s official website, with ticket prices starting from €9.


The entry list for the 2023 tournament in Palermo has now been released and below is a selection of WTA players who played in the singles tournament in 2023.

  • Daria Kasatkina
  • Elisabetta Cocciaretto
  • Emma Navarro
  • Jasmine Paolini
  • Julia Grabher
  • Lucia Bronzetti
  • Mayar Sherif
  • Zheng Qinwen

Draw and Order of Play

The draws for the WTA singles and doubles tournaments in Palermo will be available to view on the official WTA Tour website a few days before the start of the tournament.

Singles Qualifying: View Draw

Singles: View Draw

Doubles: View Draw

The WTA Tour website will also have a schedule for each day’s order of play.


Below was the schedule for the 2023 tournament in Palermo, with the singles final being played on Sunday, the 23rd of July 2023.

Monday, 17th of July 20231st Round
Tuesday, 18th of July 20231st Round
Wednesday, 19th of July 20232nd Round
Thursday, 20th of July 20232nd Round
Friday, 21st of July 2023Quarterfinals
Saturday, 22nd of July 2023Semifinals
Sunday, 23rd of July 2023Final

Prize Money and Points

The total prize fund for the 2023 WTA 250 tennis tournament in Palermo was $259,303.

See below for details in relation to how the prize money and points were split for the 2023 tournament.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the WTA 250 Singles Event in 2023 received €29,760 (2022: €26,770) and 280 ranking points, with the runner-up receiving €17,590 (2022: €15,922) and 180 ranking points.

Second Round€3,41030
First Round€2,4381

Men’s Doubles

The winners of the WTA 250 Doubles Event in 2023 received €10,820 (€5,410 each) and 280 WTA Points, with the runners-up receiving €6,090 (€3,045 each) in prize money and 180 WTA Points.

PerformanceWTA Points
First Round€1,6061

Past Winners and Runner-Ups in Palermo

Women’s Singles

The winner of the women’s singles event at the 2023 WTA Palermo tennis tournament was Qinwen Zheng who beat Jasmine Paolini 6–4, 1-6, 6–1 in the singles final.

The below list of women’s singles winners and runner-ups goes back to 2019. For a full list, check out the WTA Tour website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2023Qinwen ZhengJasmine Paolini6–4, 1-6, 6–1
2022Irina-Camelia BeguLucia Bronzetti6-2, 6-2
2021Danielle CollinsElena-Gabriela Ruse6–4, 6–2
2020Fiona FerroAnett Kontaveit6–2, 7–5
2019Jil TeichmannKiki Bertens7-6, 6-2

Women’s Doubles

Yana Sizikova and Kateryna Baindl are the current champions in the women’s doubles event in Palermo after beating Camilla Rosatello and Angelica Moratelli 6-2, 6-4 in the 2023 doubles final.

The below list of Women’s doubles winners and runner-ups goes back to 2019. For a complete list, check out the WTA Tour website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2023Yana Sizikova and Kateryna BaindlCamilla Rosatello and Angelica Moratelli6-2, 6-4
2022Kimberley Zimmermann and Anna BondárAmina Anshba and Panna Udvardy6-3, 6-2
2021Erin Routliffe and Kimberley ZimmermannNatela Dzalamidze and Kamilla Rakhimova7-6, 4-6, 10-4
2020Arantxa Rus and Tamara ZidanšekElisabetta Cocciaretto and Martina Trevisan7-5, 7–5
2019Cornelia Lister and Renata VoráčováEkaterine Gorgodze and Arantxa Rus7-6, 6-2