Swiss Open Gstaad

The Swiss Open Gstaad is an ATP 250 clay court tournament that is played at Roy Emerson Arena in Gstaad, Switzerland.

The tournament has a long history with the first tennis tournament being played in 1915.

Swiss Open Gstaad

ATP Swiss Open Gstaad

Tournament Name:ATP Swiss Open Gstaad
Location:Gstaad, Switzerland
Tour Level:ATP 250
Court Surface:Outdoor Clay Court
Prize Money:€534,555
Draw Size:28 Singles, 16 Doubles

When did the 2022 Swiss Open Gstaad take place?

The 2022 tournament in Gstaad took place from the 18th to the 24th of July 2022.

The tournament took place in the same week as the combined ATP/WTA tennis tournament in Hamburg as well as the WTA 250 tournament in Palermo.

How do you get tickets for the 2023 Swiss Open Gstaad?

Tickets for the 2023 tournament in Gstaad are not on sale yet but if you are looking for more information on ticketing for 2023, keep an eye out for updates on the tournament’s official website.

2022 Swiss Open Gstaad Open Players

The full entry list for the 2022 tournament in Gstaad has now been released and below is a selection of players that played in the 2022 singles tournament.

  • Casper Ruud
  • Matteo Berrettini
  • Roberto Bautista Agut
  • Albert Ramos Viñolas
  • Pedro Martínez
  • Cristian Garín
  • Hugo Gaston
  • João Sousa
  • Dominic Thiem
  • Federico Delbonis

Home favorite Stan Wawrinka was expected to play in Gstaad in 2022 but he pulled out of the tournament so he could better prepare for the US Open.

2022 Swiss Open Gstaad Draw

The draws for the singles and doubles tournaments in Gstaad have now been made and can be viewed on the ATP Tour website (see links below).

Singles Qualifying Draw:

Singles Main Draw:

Doubles Draw:

The top four seeds in the singles draw 1. Casper Ruud, 2. Matteo Berrettini, 3. Roberto Bautista Agut, and 4. Albert Ramos Viñolas all received byes into the second round.

2022 Swiss Open Gstaad Schedule

Monday, 18th of July 20221st Round
Tuesday, 19th of July 20221st Round
Wednesday, 20th of July 20222nd Round
Thursday, 21st of July 20222nd Round
Friday, 22nd of July 2022Quarterfinals
Saturday, 23rd of July 2022Semifinals
Sunday, 24th of July 2022Final

2022 Swiss Open Gstaad Prize Money and Points

The prize money for the 2022 ATP 250 tournament in Gstaad is detailed below:

Singles Prize Money and Points in 2022

Performance2022 Prize MoneyATP Points
2nd Round€9,38020
1st Round€5,7300

The winner of the Men’s Singles Event in 2022 received €81,310 (2021: €41,145) in prize money and 250 points, with the runner-up receiving €47,430 (2021: €29,500) in prize money and 150 points.

Doubles Prize Money and Points in 2022

Performance2022 Prize MoneyATP Points
Round 1€2,9200

The winners of the Men’s Doubles Event in 2022 received €28,250 (€14,125 each) in prize money and 250 points, with the runner ups receiving €15,110 (€7,555 each) in prize money and 150 points.

Open Era Previous Winners and Runner Ups (Singles)

The winner of the singles event in 2022 was Casper Ruud who beat Matteo Berrettini 4-6, 7-6, 6–2 to claim his second Swiss Open Singles Title in a row.

Below is a full list of singles winners and runner ups at the Swiss Open in the open era (1968-2022).

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Casper RuudMatteo Berrettini4-6, 7-6, 6-2
2021Casper RuudHugo Gaston6–3, 6–2
2020N/AN/ATournament not held
2019Albert Ramos ViñolasCedrik-Marcel Stebe6–3, 6–2
2018Matteo BerrettiniRoberto Bautista-Agut7–6, 6–4
2017Fabio FogniniYannick Hanfmann6–4, 7–5
2016Feliciano LópezRobin Haase6–4, 7–5
2015Dominic ThiemDavid Goffin7–5, 6–2
2014Pablo AndújarJuan Mónaco6–3, 7–5
2013Mikhail YouzhnyRobin Haase6–3, 6–4
2012Thomaz BellucciJanko Tipsarević6–7, 6–4, 6–2
2011Marcel GranollersFernando Verdasco6–4, 3–6, 6–3
2010Nicolás AlmagroRichard Gasquet7–5, 6–1
2009Thomaz BellucciAndreas Beck6–4, 7–6
2008Victor HănescuIgor Andreev6–3, 6–4
2007Paul-Henri MathieuAndreas Seppi6–7, 6–3, 7–5
2006Richard GasquetFeliciano López7–6, 6–7, 6–3, 6–3
2005Gastón GaudioStanislas Wawrinka6–4, 6–4
2004Roger FedererIgor Andreev6–2, 6–3, 5–7, 6–3
2003Jiří NovákRoger Federer5–7, 6–3, 6–3, 1–6, 6–3
2002Àlex CorretjaGastón Gaudio6–3, 7–6, 7–6
2001Jiří NovákJuan Carlos Ferrero6–1, 6–7, 7–5
2000Àlex CorretjaMariano Puerta6–1, 6–3
1999Albert CostaEcuador Nicolás Lapentti7–6, 6–3, 6–4
1998Àlex CorretjaBoris Becker7–6, 7–5, 6–3
1997Félix MantillaJoan Albert Viloca6–1, 6–4, 6–4
1996Albert CostaFélix Mantilla4–6, 7–6, 6–1, 6–0
1995Yevgeny KafelnikovJakob Hlasek6–3, 6–4, 3–6, 6–3
1994Sergi BrugueraGuy Forget3–6, 7–5, 6–2, 6–1
1993Sergi BrugueraKarel Nováček6–3, 6–4
1992Sergi BrugueraFrancisco Clavet6–1, 6–4
1991Emilio SánchezSergi Bruguera6–1, 6–4, 6–4
1990Martín JaiteSergi Bruguera6–3, 6–7, 6–2, 6–2
1989Carl-Uwe SteebMagnus Gustafsson6–7, 3–6, 6–2, 6–4, 6–2
1988Darren CahillJakob Hlasek6–3, 6–4, 7–6
1987Emilio SánchezRonald Agénor6–2, 6–3, 7–6
1986Stefan EdbergRoland Stadler7–5, 4–6, 6–1, 4–6, 6–2
1985Joakim NyströmAndreas Maurer6–4, 1–6, 7–5, 6–3
1984Joakim NyströmBrian Teacher6–4, 6–2
1983Sandy MayerTomáš Šmíd6–0, 6–3, 6–2
1982José Luis ClercGuillermo Vilas6–1, 6–3, 6–2
1981Wojtek FibakYannick Noah6–1, 7–6
1980Heinz GünthardtKim Warwick4–6, 6–4, 7–6
1979Ulrich PinnerPeter McNamara6–2, 6–4, 7–5
1978Guillermo VilasJosé Luis Clerc6–3, 7–6, 6–4
1977Jeff BorowiakJean-François Caujolle2–6, 6–1, 6–3
1976Mexico Raúl RamírezAdriano Panatta7–5, 6–7, 6–1, 6–3
1975Ken RosewallKarl Meiler6–4, 6–4, 6–3
1974Guillermo VilasManuel Orantes6–1, 6–2
1973Ilie NăstaseRoy Emerson6–4, 6–3, 6–3
1972Andrés GimenoAdriano Panatta7–5, 9–8, 6–4
1971John NewcombeTom Okker6–2, 5–7, 1–6, 7–5, 6–3
1970Tony RocheTom Okker7–5, 7–5, 6–3
1969Roy EmersonTom Okker6–1, 12–14, 6–4, 6–4
1968Cliff DrysdaleTom Okker6–3, 6–3, 6–0