Hopman Cup

The Hopman Cup is an international tennis tournament that was played in Perth from 1989 to 2019 and will be played again at the Nice Lawn Tennis Club in France in 2023.

The mixed tournament is one of the few places where you can see top ATP and WTA players playing together and against each other.

A good example of this was when Roger Federer and Belinda Bencic played Serena Williams and Frances Tiafoe in doubles at the 2019 tournament.

Hopman Cup

2023 Hopman Cup Tennis Tournament

Location:Nice, France
Court Surface:Clay
Current Champions:Croatia (2023)
Number of Teams:6


The 2023 Hopman Cup tennis tournament in Nice was held from the 19th to the 23rd of July 2023, with the tournament being played in the same week as the tournaments in Iasi, Palermo, Budapest, Bastad, Gstaad, and Newport.

Countries and Players

Information has now been released on the countries and players that will play in the 2023 Hopman Cup, with Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, France, Spain, and Switzerland participating in the 2023 event.


  • David Goffin
  • Elise Mertens


  • Borna Coric
  • Donna Vekic


  • Clara Tauson
  • Holger Rune


  • Alize Cornet
  • Richard Gasquet


  • Carlos Alcaraz
  • Paula Badosa – Rebeka Masarova


  • Belinda Bencic – Celine Naef
  • Leandro Riedi


For the 2023 tournament, six countries were selected to play in the event with each country being represented by one male and one female player.

The six teams were then separated into two groups of three with a round-robin format being used to decide the winners of each group.

Each match (including the final) consisted of one men’s singles match, one women’s singles match, and one mixed doubles match.

The winners of each of the groups met in the final with the winning country being crowned Champions.


Group 1

  • Denmark
  • Switzerland
  • France

Group 2

  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Spain


Below is the schedule for the 2023 tournament in Nice, with the final being played on Sunday, the 23rd of July 2023.

Wednesday19 July 2023Denmark vs Switzerland
Thursday20 July 2023Denmark vs France and Belgium vs Croatia
Friday21 July 2023Belgium vs Spain and Switzerland vs France
Saturday22 July 2023Croatia vs Spain
Sunday23 July 2023Croatia vs Switzerland

Past Winners and Runners Up

Borna Coric and Donna Vekic Of Croatia won both of their singles matches to defeat Celine Naef and Leandro Riedi of Switzerland In the 2023 final.

The USA currently holds the record for most Hopman Cup titles with a total of six won (1997, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008, and 2011).

YearWinners – (Country)Runners Up – (Country)Score
2023Borna Coric and Donna Vekic – (Croatia)Celine Naef and Leandro Riedi – (Switzerland)2-0
2019Roger Federer and Belinda Bencic – (Switzerland)Alexander Zverev and Angelique Kerber – (Germany)2–1
2018Roger Federer and Belinda Bencic – (Switzerland)Alexander Zverev and Angelique Kerber – (Germany)2–1
2017Richard Gasquet and Kristina Mladenovic – (France)Jack Sock and CoCo Vandeweghe – (USA)2–1
2016Nick Kyrgios and Daria Gavrilova – (Australia)Alexandr Dolgopolov and Elina Svitolina – (Ukraine)2–0
2015Jerzy Janowicz and Agnieszka Radwańska – (Poland)John Isner and Serena Williams – (USA)2–1
2014Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Alizé Cornet – (France)Grzegorz Panfil and Agnieszka Radwańska – (Poland)2–1
2013Fernando Verdasco and Anabel Medina Garrigues – (Spain)Novak Djokovic and Ana Ivanovic – (Serbia)2–1
2012Tomáš Berdych and Petra Kvitová – (Czech Republic)Richard Gasquet and Marion Bartoli – (France)2–0
2011John Isner and Bethanie Mattek-Sands – (United States)Ruben Bemelmans and Justine Henin – (Belgium)2–1
2010Tommy Robredo and MJ Martínez Sánchez – (Spain)Andy Murray and Laura Robson – (Great Britain)2–1
2009Dominik Hrbatý and Dominika Cibulková – (Slovakia)Marat Safin and Dinara Safina – (Russia)2–0
2008Mardy Fish and Serena Williams – (United States)Novak Djokovic and Jelena Janković – (Serbia)2–1
2007Dmitry Tursunov and Nadia Petrova – (Russia)Tommy Robredo and Anabel Medina Garrigues – (Spain)2–0
2006Taylor Dent and Lisa Raymond – (United States)Peter Wessels and Michaëlla Krajicek – (Netherlands)2–1
2005Dominik Hrbatý and Daniela Hantuchová – (Slovakia)Guillermo Coria and Gisela Dulko – (Argentina)3–0
2004James Blake and Lindsay Davenport – (United States)Karol Kučera and Daniela Hantuchová – (Slovakia)2–1
2003James Blake and Serena Williams – (United States)Lleyton Hewitt and Alicia Molik – (Australia)3–0
2002Tommy Robredo and Arantxa Sánchez Vicario – (Spain)Jan-Michael Gambill and Monica Seles – (United States)2–1
2001Roger Federer and Martina Hingis – (Switzerland)Jan-Michael Gambill and Monica Seles – (United States)2–1
2000Wayne Ferreira and Amanda Coetzer – (South Africa)Paradorn Srichaphan and Tamarine Tanasugarn – (Thailand)3–0
1999Mark Philippoussis and Jelena Dokić – (Australia)Jonas Björkman and Åsa Carlsson – (Sweden)2–1
1998Karol Kučera and Karina Habšudová – (Slovakia)Cédric Pioline and Mary Pierce – (France)2–1
1997Justin Gimelstob and Chanda Rubin – (United States)Wayne Ferreira and Amanda Coetzer – (South Africa)2–1
1996Goran Ivanišević and Iva Majoli – (Croatia)Marc Rosset and Martina Hingis – (Switzerland)2–1
1995Boris Becker and Anke Huber – (Germany)Andrei Medvedev and Natalia Medvedeva – (Ukraine)2–0
1994Petr Korda and Jana Novotná – (Czech Republic)Bernd Karbacher and Anke Huber – (Germany)2–1
1993Michael Stich and Steffi Graf – (Germany)Emilio Sánchez and Arantxa Sánchez – (Spain)2–0
1992Jakob Hlasek and Manuela Maleeva – (Switzerland)Karel Nováček and Helena Suková – (Czechoslovakia)2–1
1991Goran Prpić and Monica Seles – (Yugoslavia)David Wheaton and Zina Garrison – (United States)3–0
1990Emilio Sánchez and Arantxa Sánchez Vicario – (Spain)John McEnroe and Pam Shriver – (United States)2–1
1989Miloslav Mecir and Helena Suková – (Czechoslovakia)Pat Cash and Hana Mandlíková – (Australia)2–0