WTA Transylvania Open

The WTA Transylvania Open is a WTA 250 tennis tournament that is played on indoor hard courts at the BTarena in Cluj-Napoca, Romania.

The inaugrial tournament was in 2021 with Anett Kontaveit winning the singles event and Irina Bara and Ekaterine Gorgodze winning the doubles event.

WTA Transylvania Open

WTA Transylvania Open

Location:Cluj-Napoca, Romania
WTA Tour Level:WTA 250
Court Surface:Indoor Hard Court
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$251,750

When will the 2022 WTA Transylvania Open take place?

The 2022 tournament in Cluj-Napoca will take place from the 10th to the 16th of October 2022 with singles qualifying taking place the weekend before the start of the main tournament.

This year’s tournament will be played in the same week as the ATP 250 tournaments in Gijon and Florence, and the WTA 500 tournament in San Diego, USA.

How do you get tickets for the 2022 WTA Transylvania Open?

Tickets for the 2022 tournament are on sale now through the Romanian ticketing website Entertix.ro.

For more information on ticketing for 2022, check out the tournament’s official website.

2022 WTA Transylvania Open Players

The official entry list for the 2022 tournament has not yet been released but below is a selection of tennis players that are expected to play in the singles tournament in 2022.

  • Aleksandra Krunic
  • Ana Bogdan
  • Anastasia Potapova
  • Anhelina Kalinina
  • Ann Li
  • Anna Bondar
  • Barbora Krejcikova
  • Diane Parry
  • Irina-Camelia Begu
  • Jasmine Paolini
  • Jule Niemeier
  • Kaja Juvan
  • Laura Siegemund
  • Lucia Bronzetti
  • Magda Linette
  • Marta Kostyuk
  • Mayar Sherif
  • Nuria Parrizas Diaz
  • Sara Sorribes Tormo
  • Tereza Marticova
  • Xiyu Wang

2022 WTA Transylvania Open Schedule

Below is the expected schedule for the 2022 singles tournament.

Saturday8th of October 2022Qualifying
Sunday9th of October 2022Qualifying
Monday10th of October 20221st Round
Tuesday11th of October 20221st Round
Wednesday12th of October 20222nd Round
Thursday13th of October 20222nd Round
Friday14th of October 2022Quarterfinals
Saturday15th of October 2022Semifinals
Sunday16th of October 2022Final

2022 WTA Transylvania Open Order of Play

Once the WTA 250 tournament in Cluj-Napoca has started you will be able to view the schedule for each day’s play by following the below links:

Day 1 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2050/cluj-napoca/2022/order-of-play/#Day1

Day 2 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2050/cluj-napoca/2022/order-of-play/#Day2

Day 3 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2050/cluj-napoca/2022/order-of-play/#Day3

Day 4 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2050/cluj-napoca/2022/order-of-play/#Day4

Day 5 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2050/cluj-napoca/2022/order-of-play/#Day5

Day 6 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2050/cluj-napoca/2022/order-of-play/#Day6

Day 7 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2050/cluj-napoca/2022/order-of-play/#Day7

Day 8 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2050/cluj-napoca/2022/order-of-play/#Day8

Day 9 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2050/cluj-napoca/2022/order-of-play/#Day9

2022 WTA Transylvania Open Draw

The draws for the 2022 WTA 250 tennis tournament in Cluj-Napoca will be released closer to the start of the tournament.

Women’s Singles Qualifying Draw: TBD

Women’s Singles Draw: TBD

Women’s Doubles Draw: TBD

Similar to other WTA 250 tennis tournaments, the draw size for the singles competition will be 32 while the draw size for the doubles competition will be 16.

If you are looking for the draws for the 2021 tournament, they can be viewed on the WTA Tour website.

2022 WTA Transylvania Open Prize Money and Points

The total financial commitment (including prize money) for the 2022 tournament will be $251,750, which is in line with other WTA 250 tournaments.

How the prize money and points are expected to be split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below:

2022 Singles Prize Money and Points

The winner of the Women’s Singles tournament in 2022 is expected to receive $33,000 in prize money and 280 points, with the runner up expected to receive $19,750 and 180 points.

Players losing in the 1st round of the tournament are expected to receive $2,725 in prize money and 1 WTA Ranking Point.

Performance2022 Prize Money (TBC)WTA Points
2nd Round$3,80030
1st Round$2,7251

2022 Doubles Prize Money (Per Team) and Points

The winners of the Women’s Doubles tournament in 2022 are expected to receive $12,000 ($6,000 each) in prize money and 280 WTA Ranking Points, with the runner ups expected to receive $6,700 ($3,350 each) in prize money and 180 WTA Ranking Points.

Teams losing in the 1st round are expected to receive $1,800 ($900 each) in prize money and 1 WTA Ranking Point.

Performance2022 Prize Money (TBC)WTA Points
1st Round$1,8001

WTA Transylvania Open Previous Winners and Runner Ups

Women’s Singles Winners and Runner Ups

The defending champion in the women’s singles tournament is Anett Kontaveit who beat Simona Halep 6-2, 6-3 in the singles final in 2021.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2021Anett KontaveitSimona Halep6-2, 6-3

Women’s Doubles Winners and Runner Ups

Irina Bara and Ekaterine Gorgodze are the defending champions in the Women’s doubles tournament after beating Aleksandra Krunic and Lesley Pattinama Kerkhove 4–6, 6–1, 11–9 in the women’s doubles final in 2021.

YearWinnersRunner UpsScore
2021Irina Bara and Ekaterine GorgodzeAleksandra Krunic and Lesley Pattinama Kerkhove4–6, 6–1, 11–9