WTA Berlin Open

The WTA Berlin Open (or “bett1 Open”) grass court championships are held annually in Berlin, Germany, with the 2023 edition being played at the end of June.

The tournament is one of the oldest on the WTA tour with the first German Open being played in 1896.

2021 was the first time the tournament was played on grass courts as it had previously been a clay court tournament.

WTA Berlin Open

Grass Court Championships Berlin 2023

Tour Level:WTA 500
Tournament Sponsor:bett1
Court Surface:Outdoor Grass
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:€678,814


The 2023 WTA Berlin Open tennis tournament took place from the 19th to the 25th of June 2023, with qualifying for the singles taking place on the 17th and 18th of June 2023.

The 2023 tournament was played in the same week as the ATP 500 tournaments in London, Halle, the WTA 250 tournament in Birmingham, and the WTA 125 tournament in Gaiba.


Tickets for the 2023 tournament in Berlin, Germany were sold through the official ticketing website, with ticket prices starting from €15.00.


The official entry list for the grass court championships in Berlin has now been released and below is a selection of WTA players who played in the singles tournament in 2023:

  • Aryna Sabalenka
  • Elena Rybakina
  • Caroline Garcia
  • Coco Gauff
  • Ons Jabeur
  • Maria Sakkari
  • Daria Kasatkina
  • Petra Kvitova
  • Liudmila Samsonova
  • Karolina Pliskova
  • Victoria Azarenka
  • Qinwen Zheng
  • Donna Vekic
  • Ekaterina Alexandrova
  • Petra Martic
  • Bianca Andreescu
  • Alize Cornet
  • Sabine Lisicki


Below is the schedule for the 2023 tournament in Berlin, with 1st round matches being played on the 19th and 20th of June and the singles final being played on the 25th of June 2023.

Monday – Day 119th of June 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday – Day 220th of June 20231st Round Matches
Wednesday – Day 321st of June 20232nd Round Matches
Thursday – Day 422nd of June 20232nd Round Matches
Friday – Day 523rd of June 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday – Day 624th of June 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday – Day 725th of June 2023Final

NB: Singles Qualifying took place on the 17th and 18th of June 2023.


The draws for the 2023 tournament in Berlin are now available to view in PDF format on the Official WTA Tour website (see links below).

2023 Women’s Singles: View Draw

2023 Women’s Singles Qualifying: View Draw

2023 Women’s Doubles: View Draw

Prize Money and Points

The total prize money for the 2023 Grass Court Championships in Berlin was €678,814 with the prize money and points being split as follows.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the singles event in 2023 won €104,478 (2022: €93,823) and 470 ranking points, with the runner-up winning €64,500 (2022: €58,032) and 305 ranking points.

Players losing in the 1st round of the tournament won €5,974 (2022: €5,390) and 1 Ranking Point.

Performance€ – PayoutPoints
2nd Round€9,15655
1st Round€5,9741

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the women’s doubles event in Berlin in 2023 won €34,870 (€15,726 each) and 470 ranking points, with the runners-up winning €21,130 (€17,435 each) and 305 ranking points.

Teams losing in the 1st round won €3,780 (€1,890 each) and 1 WTA ranking point.

Performance€ – PayoutPoints
1st Round€3,7801

WTA Berlin Past Winners and Runners Up

Women’s Singles

The current champion in the women’s singles event is Petra Kvitova who beat Donna Vekic 6-2, 7-6 in the 2023 singles final (see match highlights below).

Steffi Graf currently holds the record for most WTA Berlin singles titles with nine titles to her name (1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, and 1996).

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2023Petra KvitovaDonna Vekic6-2, 7-6
2022Ons JabeurBelinda Bencic6-3, 2-1 (Retired)
2021Liudmila SamsonovaBelinda Bencic1–6, 6–1, 6–3
2008Dinara SafinaElena Dementieva3–6, 6–2, 6–2
2007Ana IvanovicSvetlana Kuznetsova3–6, 6–4, 7–6
2006Nadia PetrovaJustine Henin6–3, 4–6, 6–3
2005Justine HeninNadia Petrova6–2, 5–7, 6–3
2004Amélie MauresmoVenus WilliamsWalkover
2003Justine HeninKim Clijsters6–4, 4–6, 7–5
2002Justine HeninSerena Williams6–2, 1–6, 7–6
2001Amélie MauresmoJennifer Capriati6–4, 2–6, 6–3

Women’s Doubles

Luisa Stefani and Caroline Garcia are the current champions in the Women’s doubles event in Berlin after beating Markéta Vondroušová and Kateřina Siniaková 4-6, 7-6, 10-4 in the final in 2023.

YearWinnersRunners UpScore
2023Luisa Stefani and Caroline GarciaMarkéta Vondroušová and Kateřina Siniaková4-6, 7-6, 10-4
2022Storm Sanders and Kateřina SiniakováAlizé Cornet and Jil Teichmann6–4, 6–3
2021Victoria Azarenka and Aryna SabalenkaNicole Melichar and Demi Schuurs4–6, 7–5, 10–4
2008Cara Black and Liezel HuberNuria Llagostera Vives and María José Martínez Sánchez6–2, 6–2
2007Lisa Raymond and Samantha StosurTathiana Garbin and Roberta Vinci6–3, 6–4
2006Yan Zi and Zheng JieElena Dementieva and Flavia Pennetta6–2, 6–3
2005Elena Likhovtseva and Vera ZvonarevaCara Black and Liezel Huber3–6, 6–3, 6–1
2004Nadia Petrova and Meghann ShaughnessyJanette Husárová and Conchita Martínez6–2, 2–6, 6–1
2003Virginia Ruano Pascual and Paola SuárezKim Clijsters and Ai Sugiyama6–3, 4–6, 6–4
2002Elena Dementieva and Janette HusárováDaniela Hantuchová and Arantxa Sánchez Vicario0–6, 7–6, 6–2
2001Els Callens and Meghann ShaughnessyCara Black and Elena Likhovtseva6–4, 6–3