San Diego Open

The San Diego Open is a WTA tournament played on outdoor hardcourts at the Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego, California.

In 2022, an ATP 250 tournament was played in September while a WTA 500 tournament was played in October, but for 2023 the tournament will be a WTA only event.

San Diego Open Tennis Tournament

2023 San Diego Open

Location:San Diego, California, USA
Tour Level:ATP 250/WTA 500
Court Surface:Outdoor Hard Court
Prize Money:ATP: $612,000 WTA: $823,000 (2022)
Men’s Draw Size:28 Singles, 16 Doubles
Women’s Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles


The WTA 500 tournament in San Diego will be held from the 11th to the 16th of September 2023.

NB: No ATP tournament is currently scheduled for 2023.

The 2023 WTA tournament will be played in the same week as the Japan Women’s Open and the Davis Cup group stage matches.

Qualifying for the women’s tournaments will take place on the weekends immediately before the start of the main draws.


Tickets for the 2023 women’s tournaments do not appear to be on sale yet but in 2022, tickets were sold through SeatGeek which was the official ticketing partner for the 2022 tournament, with ticket prices starting from $20.


The official entry list for the 2023 tournament has yet to be released, but below is a selection of players who played in the WTA singles tournament in 2022.

  • Iga Swiatek
  • Paula Badosa
  • Sofia Kenin
  • Jessica Pegula
  • Aryna Sabelenka
  • Coco Gauff
  • Caroline Garcia
  • Daria Kasatkina
  • Garbine Muguruza
  • Veronika Kudermetova
  • Danielle Collins
  • Madison Keys
  • Karolina Pliskova
  • Maria Sakkari


The draws for the 2023 singles and doubles tournaments in San Diego will be available on the WTA Tour websites closer to the start of the tournament.

Singles Qualifying: TBD

Singles Main Draw: TBD

Doubles: TBD


Below is the expected tennis schedule for the 2023 WTA tournament, with the women’s singles final being played on Sunday, the 16th of September 2023.

WTA San Diego Schedule

  • Monday, 11th of September 2023 – 1st Round
  • Tuesday, 12th of September 2023 – 1st Round
  • Wednesday, 13th of September 2023 – 2nd Round
  • Thursday, 14th of September 2023 – Quarterfinals
  • Friday, 15th of September 2023 – Semifinals
  • Saturday, 16th of September 2023 – Final

Prize Money and Points

The total financial commitment (including prize money) for the 2023 San Diego Open will be $780,637.

How the prize money and points are to be split by round for the 2023 tennis tournament has yet to be confirmed but below is how it was split in 2022.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the WTA 500 Singles Event in 2022 (Iga Swiatek) received $116,340 in prize money and 470 WTA points, with the runner-up (Donna Vekic) receiving $71,960 and 305 WTA points.

Performance$WTA Points
2nd Round$11,18555
1st Round$8,0801

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the WTA 500 Doubles Event in 2022 (Coco Gauff and Jessica Pegula) received $39,000 ($19,500 each) and 470 WTA points, with the runner ups (Giuliana Olmos and Gabriela Dabrowski) receiving $23,700 ($11,850 each) and 305 WTA points.

Performance$WTA Points
1st Round$4,2001

Men’s Singles

The winner of the ATP 250 Singles Event in 2022 (Brandon Nakashima) received $93,090 and 250 ATP points, with the runner-up (Marcos Giron) receiving $54,300 and 150 ATP points.

Performance$ATP Points
2nd Round$10,74020
1st Round$6,5650

Men’s Doubles

The winners of the ATP 250 Doubles Event in 2022 (Jackson Withrow and Nathaniel Lammons) received $32,340 ($16,170 each) and 250 ATP points, with the runner ups (Jason Kubler and Luke Saville) receiving $17,300 ($8,650 each) and 180 ATP points.

Performance$ATP Points
1st Round$3,3400

2022 Winners and Runner Ups

Women’s Singles

The current champion in the women’s singles tournament is Iga Swiatek who beat Donna Vekic 6–3, 3–6, 6-0 in the final of the 2022 tournament.

Women’s Doubles

Coco Gauff and Jessica Pegula won the 2022 women’s doubles title, after beating Giuliana Olmos and Gabriela Dabrowski in the doubles final 6-3, 7–6.

Men’s Singles

The current champion in the men’s singles tournament is Brandon Nakashima who defeated Marcos Giron 6–4, 6–4 in the final of the 2022 tournament.

Men’s Doubles

Jackson Withrow and Nathaniel Lammons won the 2022 Men’s Doubles title, beating Jason Kubler and Luke Saville in the doubles final 7–6, 6-2.