Japan Women’s Open

The Japan Women’s Open is an annual tennis tournament that in 2022 will be played on outdoor hard courts in Osaka, Japan.

From 2009 to 2014, the Tournament was held in Osaka before moving to Tokyo from 2015 to 2017 and to Hiroshima for the 2018 and 2019 tournaments.

No tournament was played in 2020 or 2021 due to restrictions in place so 2022 will be the first time in three years that the tournament will be held.

The 2022 tournament will also see the return of the event to Osaka for the first time in over 10 years.

Japan Women's Open

Japan Women’s Open

Tournament Name:Japan Women’s Open
Location:Osaka, Japan
Tour Level:WTA 250
Court Surface:Outdoor Hard Courts
Prize Money:$251,750

2022 Japan Women’s Open Dates

The 2022 tournament will be held in Osaka, Japan from the 12th to the 18th of September 2022.

The tournament will be played in the same week as the WTA tournaments in Portoroz, Slovenia, and Chennai, India.

2022 Japan Women’s Open Tickets

Tickets for the 2022 tournament in Osaka are not on sale yet.

For more information on ticketing for 2022, check out the tournament’s official website.

2022 Japan Women’s Open Players

The entry list for the 2022 tournaments in Osaka has yet to be released by tournament organizers but below is a selection of top WTA players that played in the last women’s open in 2019.

  • Taipei Hsieh Su-wei
  • Veronika Kudermetova
  • Alison Van Uytvanck
  • Anastasia Potapova
  • Tatjana Maria
  • Zarina Diyas
  • Sara Sorribes Tormo
  • Laura Siegemund
  • Sorana Cîrstea
  • Christina McHale

2022 Japan Women’s Open Tennis Schedule

Monday – Day 112th of September 20221st Round Matches
Tuesday – Day 213th of September 20221st Round Matches1st Round Matches
Wednesday – Day 314th of September 20222nd Round Matches1st Round Matches
Thursday – Day 415th of September 20222nd Round MatchesQuarterfinals
Friday – Day 516th of September 2022QuarterfinalsSemifinals
Saturday – Day 617th of September 2022SemifinalsFinals
Sunday – Day 718th of September 2022Finals

Please note that the tournament schedule detailed above is subject to change.

2022 Japan Women’s Open Draw

The draws for the 2022 Osaka tennis tournament will be available to view using the links below closer to the start of the tournament.

WTA Osaka Draws: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/405/hiroshima/2022/draws

2022 Japan Women’s Open Prize Money and Points

The total prize money for the 2022 WTA 250 tournament in Osaka will be $251,750.

Please note that how the prize money is to be split for the 2022 tournament has not been released by tournament organizers yet so the below is based on the prize money awarded at the 2019 tournament.

Women’s Singles Prize Money and Points

Performance2019 Prize MoneyWTA Points
2nd Round$3,40030
1st Round$2,1001

The winner of the Women’s Singles Event in 2019 received $43,000 in prize money and 280 WTA points, while the runner-up received $21,400 and 180 WTA points.

Women’s Doubles Prize Money (Per Team)

Performance2019 Prize MoneyWTA Points
1st Round$9601

The winners of the Women’s Doubles Event in 2019 received $12,300 ($6,150 each) in prize money and 280 Points, while the runner-ups received $6,400 ($3,200 each) in prize money and 180 Points.

Teams losing in the 1st round received $960 ($480 each) in prize money and 1 WTA ranking point.

Past Japan Women’s Open Winners

Past Singles Winners

Nao Hibino is the defending champion in the singles after beating Misaki Doi 6–3, 6–2 in the 2019 Singles Final.

Samantha Stosur holds the record for most singles titles with three to her name (2009, 2013, and 2014).

  • 2022 – TBD
  • 2021 – N/A
  • 2020 – N/A
  • 2019 – Nao Hibino
  • 2018 – Hsieh Su-wei
  • 2017 – Zarina Diyas
  • 2016 – Christina McHale
  • 2015 – Yanina Wickmayer
  • 2014 – Samantha Stosur
  • 2013 – Samantha Stosur
  • 2012 – Heather Watson
  • 2011 – Marion Bartoli
  • 2010 – Tamarine Tanasugarn
  • 2009 – Samantha Stosur

Past Doubles Winners

Misaki Doi and Nao Hibino are the defending champions in the doubles event after beating Christina McHale and Valeria Savinykh in the 2019 doubles final 3–6, 6–4, 10–4.

Shuko Aoyama holds the record for most doubles titles with three to her name (2014, 2016, and 2017).

  • 2022 – TBD
  • 2021 – N/A
  • 2020 – N/A
  • 2019 – Misaki Doi and Nao Hibino
  • 2018 – Eri Hozumi and Zhang Shuai
  • 2017 – Shuko Aoyama and Yang Zhaoxuan
  • 2016 – Shuko Aoyama and Makoto Ninomiya
  • 2015 – Chan Hao-ching and Chan Yung-jan
  • 2014 – Shuko Aoyama and Renata Voráčová
  • 2013 – Kristina Mladenovic and Flavia Pennetta
  • 2012 – Raquel Kops-Jones and Abigail Spears
  • 2011 – Kimiko Date-Krumm and Zhang Shuai
  • 2010 – Chang Kai-chen and Lilia Osterloh
  • 2009 – Chuang Chia-jung and Lisa Raymond