Tennis in the Land

The Tennis in the Land tournament is played on outdoor hard courts at the Jacobs Pavilion in Cleveland, Ohio, USA.

The tournament is also known as the WTA Cleveland Ladies Open and has been a WTA 250 level tournament since 2021.

An ITF Women’s Circuit tournament was previously played in Cleveland from 2009 to 2011 with no tournament being played between 2012 and 2020.

Tennis in the Land

Tennis in the Land 2023

Location:Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Tour Level:WTA 250
Court Surface:Outdoor Hardcourt
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$271,363


The 2023 Tennis in the Land tournament was held in Cleveland, Ohio from the 19th to the 26th of August 2023, which was the week before the start of the 2023 US Open.

The 2023 tournament was played in the same week as the WTA 125 tournament in Chicago and the ATP tournament in Winston-Salem.


Tickets for the 2023 tournament in Cleveland were sold through the tournament’s official ticketing partner SeatGeek.

For more information on tickets for 2023, check out the official tournament website.


The official entry list for the 2023 WTA Cleveland tennis tournament has now been released, with the below players playing in the 2023 singles event.

  • Anhelina Kalinina
  • Anna Blinkova
  • Barbora Krejcikova
  • Caroline Garcia
  • Ekaterina Alexandrova
  • Jasmine Paolini
  • Leylah Fernandez
  • Sloane Stephens
  • Veronika Kudermetova


Below is the schedule for the 2023 Tennis in the Land tournament in Cleveland, with qualifying for the singles starting on the 19th of August 2023, and the singles and doubles finals being held on the 26th of August 2023.

Saturday – Day 119th of August 2023Qualifying Matches
Sunday – Day 220th of August 20231st Round Matches
Monday – Day 321st of August 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday – Day 422nd of August 20231st Round Matches
Wednesday – Day 523rd of August 20232nd Round Matches
Thursday – Day 624th of August 2023Quarterfinals
Friday – Day 725th of August 2023Semifinals
Saturday – Day 826th of August 2023Finals


The draws for the 2023 singles and doubles tournaments in Cleveland are now available to view on the WTA Tour website (see links below).

Singles (Qualifying): View Draw

Singles (Main): View Draw

Doubles (Main): View Draw

Prize Money and Ranking Points

The total prize fund for the 2023 WTA Cleveland tennis tournament was $271,363, with the prize money and points being split as follows.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the WTA 250 Singles tournament in 2023 won $34,228 (2022: $33,200) and 280 ranking points, while the runner-up won $20,226 (2022: $19,750 and 180 ranking points.

2nd Round$4,22030
1st Round$2,9301

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the WTA Doubles Event in 2023 received $12,447 and 280 points, with the runners-up receiving $7,000 and 180 points.

1st Round$1,8481

WTA Cleveland Past Winners

Women’s Singles

Sara Sorribes Tormo won the women’s singles event in 2023 after beating Ekaterina Alexandrova 3-6, 6-4, 6-4 in the final (see video highlights from their final below).

Other past winners of the singles in Cleveland include Madison Keys (2010), Anett Kontaveit (2021), and Ludmilla Samsonova (2022).

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2023Sara Sorribes TormoEkaterina Alexandrova3-6, 6-4, 6-4
2022Ludmilla SamsonovaAliaksandra Sasnovich6-1, 6-3
2021Anett KontaveitIrina-Camelia Begu7–6, 6–4
2011Kyle McPhillipsXi Li6–3, 6–2
2010Madison KeysPiia Suomalainen6–2, 6–4
2009Jamie HamptonKyle McPhillips6–4, 6–1

Women’s Doubles

Miyu Kato and Aldila Sutjiadi are the current champions in the women’s doubles event after beating Nicole Melichar-Martinez and Ellen Perez 6-4, 6-7, 10-8 in the final of the doubles tournament in 2023.

YearWinnersRunners UpScore
2023Miyu Kato and Aldila SutjiadiNicole Melichar-Martinez and Ellen Perez6-4, 6-7, 10-8
2022Ellen Perez and Nicole Melichar-MartinezAleksandra Krunic and Anna Danilina7–5, 6–3
2021Shuko Aoyama and Ena ShibaharaChristina McHale and Sania Mirza7–5, 6–3
2011Brooke Austin and Brooke BolenderDianne Hollands and Shikha Uberoi7–6, 6–3
2010Sanaz Marand and Caitlin WhoriskeyEmily Harman and Eleanor Peters6–4, 6–0
2009Jamie Hampton and Grace MinTarakaa Bertrand and Elizabeth Lumpkin6–1, 6–2