WTA Elite Trophy

The WTA Elite Trophy is a year end women’s tennis tournament for players who have just missed out on qualifying for the WTA Finals.

The tournament was first played in 2015, with Venus Williams winning the singles event and Liang Chen and Wang Yafan winning the doubles.

From 2015 to 2019, the tournament was held in Zhuhai, China, with no tournament being held in 2020, 2021, and 2022.

WTA Elite Trophy

WTA Elite Trophy 2023

Location:Zhuhai, China
Court Surface:Outdoor Hard Courts
Draw Size:Singles: 12, Doubles: 6
Prize Money:TBC


The 2023 edition of the WTA’s Elite Trophy will be held from Tuesday, the 24th to Sunday, the 28th of October 2023.

The 2023 tournament will be held in the same week as the Swiss Indoors in Basel and the Erste Bank Open in Vienna.


In the singles, the 12 players are split into four groups of three, with each player playing the other two players in their group once.

The winner of each group qualifies for the semifinals, with the winner of each semifinal meeting in the final.

Group matches are played over four days (Tuesday-Friday), with the semifinals being held on Saturday and the final on Sunday.

In the doubles, the six teams are split into two groups of three, with the winner of each group meeting in the final.


The player list for 2023 has yet to be confirmed but below are the players that played in 2019.


  • Alison Riske
  • Aryna Sabalenka
  • Dayana Yastremska
  • Donna Vekić
  • Elise Mertens
  • Karolína Muchová
  • Kiki Bertens
  • Madison Keys
  • Maria Sakkari
  • Petra Martić
  • Sofia Kenin
  • Zheng Saisai


  • Duan Yingying and Zhaoxuan Yang
  • Jiang Xinyu and Qianhui Tang
  • Jurak Darija and Alicja Rosolska
  • Kalashnikova Oksana and Sofia Kenin
  • Kichenok Lyudmyla and Andreja Klepac
  • Wang Xinyu and Lin Zhu

Prize Money Breakdown

The total prize money fund for the 2023 WTA Elite Trophy has yet to be confirmed but in 2019 it was $2,419,844, with the below amounts being paid out to singles players.


The 2019 champion (Aryna Sabalenka) won $721,000, while the losing finalist (Kiki Bertens) won $361,000.

PlayerTotal Prize Money Won
Aryna Sabalenka$721,000
Kiki Bertens$361,000
Karolina Muchova$221,009
Saisai Zheng$181,009
Sofia Kenin$128,500
Elise Mertens$128,500
Dayana Yastremska$128,500
Petra Martic$118,500
Madison Keys$96,500
Alison Riske$46,500
Maria Sakkari$46,500
Donna Vekic$46,500


Kichenok Lyudmyla and Andreja Klepac$50,080
Duan Yingying and Zhaoxuan Yang$39,426
Jiang Xinyu and Qianhui Tang$22,580
Wang Xinyu and Lin Zhu$22,580
Jurak Darija and Alicja Rosolska$17,080
Kalashnikova Oksana and Sofia Kenin$17,080

Past Winners and Runners Up


Aryna Sabalenka is the current singles champion after she defeated Kiki Bertens 6–4, 6–2 in the 2019 singles final (see match highlights below).

Below is a full list of winners and runners-up from 2015 to 2019.

2019Aryna SabalenkaKiki Bertens6–4, 6–2
2018Ashleigh BartyWang Qiang6–3, 6–4
2017Julia GorgesCoCo Vandeweghe7–5, 6–1
2016Petra KvitováElina Svitolina6–4, 6–2
2015Venus WilliamsKarolína Plíšková7–5, 7–6


The current doubles champions are Lyudmyla Kichenok and Andreja Klepac, who defeated Duan Yingying and Yang Zhaoxuan 6–3, 6–3 in the 2019 doubles final

2019Lyudmyla Kichenok and Andreja KlepacDuan Yingying and Yang Zhaoxuan6–3, 6–3
2018Lyudmyla Kichenok and Nadiia KichenokShuko Aoyama and Lidziya Marozava6–4, 3–6, 10–7
2017Duan Yingying and Han XinyunLu Jingjing and Zhang Shuai6–2, 6–1
2016İpek Soylu and Xu YifanYang Zhaoxuan and You Xiaodi6–4, 3–6, 10–7
2015Liang Chen and Wang YafanAnabel Medina Garrigues and Arantxa Parra Santonja6–4, 6–3