Erste Bank Open

The Erste Bank Open (also known as the ” Vienna Open”) is an ATP 500 tennis tournament that is played on indoor hard courts at the Wiener Stadthalle in Vienna, Austria.

The first WTA Vienna tennis tournament was in 1974 with Vitas Gerulaitis winning the singles and Andrew Pattison and Raymond Moore winning the doubles.

A map of Austria next to the words Erste Bank Open

Erste Bank Open 2023

Tour Level:ATP 500
Prize Money:€2,559,790
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Location:Vienna, Austria
Venue:Wiener Stadthalle
Court Surface:Indoor Hard Court


The 2023 Erste Bank Open tennis tournament took place from the 23rd to the 29th of October 2023 with qualifying for the tournament taking place on Saturday the 21st and Sunday the 22nd of October.

The 2023 tournament was played in the same week as the Swiss Indoors in Basel, Switzerland, the WTA Elite Trophy in Zhuhai, China, and the WTA Tampico Open in Mexico.


Information in relation to tickets for the 2023 tournament in Vienna is available on the tournament’s official website.


The official entry list for the 2023 tournament in Vienna has now been released with Alexander Zverev, Jannik Sinner, Stefanos Tsitsipas, and Daniil Medvedev participating in the singles in 2023.

Below is the full list of players that participated in the singles competition in 2023.

  • Aleksandar Vukic
  • Alexander Zverev
  • Alexei Popyrin
  • Andrey Rublev
  • Arthur Fils
  • Aslan Karatsev
  • Ben Shelton
  • Borna Gojo
  • Cameron Norrie
  • Daniel Altmaier
  • Daniel Evans
  • Daniil Medvedev
  • Dominic Thiem
  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Francisco Cerundolo
  • Gael Monfils
  • Grigor Dimitrov
  • J.J. Wolf
  • Jannik Sinner
  • Jiri Lehecka
  • Karen Khachanov
  • Lorenzo Musetti
  • Mackenzie McDonald
  • Matteo Arnaldi
  • Roman Safiullin
  • Sebastian Ofner
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas
  • Tommy Paul

Draw (Singles and Doubles)

The draws for the 2023 Vienna Open tennis tournament were released a few days before the start of the tournament and are now available to view on the ATP Tour website (see links below).

2023 Singles Qualifying: View Draw

2023 Singles Main: View Draw

2023 Doubles Qualifying: View Draw

2023 Doubles Main: View Draw


Below is the schedule for the 2023 tournament in Vienna, with the singles and doubles finals being played on Sunday, the 29th of October 2023.

Saturday, 21st of October 2023Qualifying
Sunday, 22nd of October 2023Qualifying
Monday, 23rd of October 20231st Round
Tuesday, 24th of October 20231st Round
Wednesday, 25th of October 20231st and 2nd Round
Thursday, 26th of October 20232nd Round
Friday, 27th of October 2023Quarterfinals
Saturday, 28th of October 2023Semifinals
Sunday, 29th of October 2023Singles and Doubles Final

Vienna Open Prize Money and Points

The total financial commitment (including prize money) for the 2023 Erste Bank Open tennis tournament was €2,559,790.

How the prize money fund of €2,409,835 and the ranking points were split by round for 2023 is detailed below.

Men’s Singles

The winner of the singles tournament in 2023 received €450,650 (2022: €439,305) and 500 ATP points, with the runner-up winning €242,480 (2022: €236,375) and 300 ATP points.

Performance€ – PayoutATP Points
2nd Round€35,24545
1st Round€18,7950 or 20

Men’s Doubles

The winners of the doubles tournament in 2023 received €148,020 (2022: €144,300) and 500 points, with the runners-up winning €78,950 (2022: €76,950) and 300 points.

Performance€ – Per TeamATP Points
1st Round€10,3400

Past Winners and Results

Brian Gottfried holds the record for most ATP Vienna singles titles with four to his name, while Lukasz Kubot holds the record for most doubles titles with a total of four won.

Men’s Singles

The current champion in the men’s singles tournament is Jannik SInner who defeated Daniil Medvedev 7–6, 4–6, 6–3 in the 2023 men’s singles final – see match highlights below.

The below list of past singles winners and runners-up goes back to 2012, with the full list going back to 1974 available on the ATP Tour website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2023Jannik SinnerDaniil Medvedev7–6, 4–6, 6–3
2022Daniil MedvedevDenis Shapovalov4-6, 6-3, 6-2
2021Alexander ZverevFrances Tiafoe7–5, 6–4
2020Andrey RublevLorenzo Sonego6–4, 6–4
2019Dominic ThiemDiego Schwartzman3–6, 6–4, 6–3
2018Kevin AndersonKei Nishikori6–3, 7–6
2017Lucas PouilleJo-Wilfried Tsonga6–1, 6–4
2016Andy MurrayJo-Wilfried Tsonga6–3, 7–6
2015David FerrerSteve Johnson4–6, 6–4, 7–5
2014Andy MurrayDavid Ferrer5–7, 6–2, 7–5
2013Tommy HaasRobin Haase6–3, 4–6, 6–4
2012Juan Martin del PotroGrega Žemlja7–5, 6–3

Men’s Doubles

Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury are the current champions in the men’s doubles event in Vienna after beating Nathaniel Lammons and Jackson Withrow 6–4, 5–7, 12–10 in the doubles final in 2023.

The below list of past doubles winners and runners-up goes back to 2012, with the full list going back to 1974 available on the ATP Tour website.

YearWinnersRunners UpScore
2023Rajeev Ram and Joe SalisburyNathaniel Lammons and Jackson Withrow6–4, 5–7, 12–10
2022Alexander Erler and Lucas MiedlerSantiago Gonzalez and Andres Molteni6-3, 7-6
2021Juan Sebastián Cabal and Robert FarahRajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury6–4, 6–2
2020Łukasz Kubot and Marcelo MeloJamie Murray and Neal Skupski7-6, 7-5
2019Joe Salisbury and Rajeev RamŁukasz Kubot and Marcelo Melo6–4, 6–7, 10–5
2018Joe Salisbury and Neal SkupskiMike Bryan and Édouard Roger-Vasselin7-6, 6-3
2017Rohan Bopanna and Pablo CuevasMarcelo Demoliner and Sam Querrey7–6, 6–7, 11–9
2016Łukasz Kubot and Marcelo MeloOliver Marach and Fabrice Martin4–6, 6–3, 13–11
2015Łukasz Kubot and Marcelo MeloJamie Murray and John Peers4–6, 7–6, 10–6
2014Jürgen Melzer and Philipp PetzschnerAndre Begemann and Julian Knowle7–6, 4–6, 10–7
2013Florin Mergea and Lukáš RosolJulian Knowle and Daniel Nestor7–5, 6–4
2012Andre Begemann and Martin EmmrichJulian Knowle and Filip Polášek6–4, 3–6, 10–4