Birmingham Classic

The Birmingham Classic is a WTA 250 tennis tournament that is played on outdoor grass courts at the Edgbaston Priory Club in Birmingham, England.

The tournament has had many different names over the years including the Aegon Classic, the DFS Classic, the Dow Classic, the Edgbaston Cup, and the Viking Classic.

In 2022, the tournament was sponsored by the pensions insurance specialist Rothesay Life PLC so the 2022 tournament will be called the Rothesay Classic Birmingham.

Birmingham Classic

WTA Birmingham Classic

Tournament Name:WTA Birmingham Classic
Location:Birmingham, England
WTA Tour Level:WTA 250
Tournament Sponsor:Rothesay Life PLC
Court Surface:Outdoor Grass
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$251,750
Official Website:

When did the 2022 Birmingham Classic take place?

The 2022 tournament in Birmingham took place from the 13th to the 19th of June 2022.

Qualifying for the singles tournament took place on the 11th and 12th of June 2022.

The tournament was played in the same week as the ATP 500 tournament in London, England, and Halle, Germany, and the WTA 500 tournament in Berlin.

How do you get tickets for the Birmingham Classic in 2023?

Tickets for the 2023 tournament in Birmingham are not on sale yet. Check out the LTA’s official ticketing website for more information on ticketing for the 2023 tournament.

2022 Birmingham Classic Players

Below is a list of WTA Players that played in the 2022 singles tournament in Birmingham:

  1. Jelena Ostapenko
  2. Simona Halep
  3. Sorana Cirstea
  4. Camila Giorgi
  5. Elise Mertens
  6. Kaja Juvan
  7. Petra Martić
  8. Shuai Zhang
  9. Alison Riske
  10. Magdalena Fręch
  11. Aleksandra Krunić
  12. Nuria Parrizas Diaz
  13. Beatriz Haddad Maia
  14. Viktorija Golubic
  15. Shelby Rogers
  16. Elena-Gabriela Ruse
  17. Caroline Garcia
  18. Camila Osorio
  19. Tereza Martincova
  20. Magda Linette
  21. Barbora Krejcikova
  22. Petra Kvitova
  23. Harriet Dart
  24. Katie Boulter

2022 Birmingham Classic Schedule

Monday – Day 113th of June 20221st Round Matches
Tuesday – Day 214th of June 20221st and 2nd Round Matches
Wednesday – Day 315th of June 20222nd and 3rd Round Matches
Thursday – Day 416th of June 20223rd Round Matches
Friday – Day 517th of June 2022Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday – Day 618th of June 2022Semifinal Matches
Sunday – Day 719th of June 2022Final

2022 Birmingham Classic Order of Play

You can view the schedule for each day’s play in 2022 by following the below links:

Day 1 Schedule:

Day 2 Schedule:

Day 3 Schedule:

Day 4 Schedule:

Day 5 Schedule:

Day 6 Schedule:

Day 7 Schedule:

Day 8 Schedule:

Day 9 Schedule:

2022 Birmingham Classic Draw

The draws for the 2022 tournament in Birmingham are available to view on the WTA Tour website (see links below).

2022 WTA Singles Draw: Singles Draw

2022 WTA Singles Qualifying Draw: Singles Qualifying Draw

2022 WTA Doubles Draw: Doubles Draw

2022 Birmingham Classic Prize Money and WTA Points

The total prize money for the 2022 WTA 250 tournament in Birmingham was $251,750.

How the prize money and WTA Points was split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

2022 Singles Prize Money and Points

The winner of the WTA 250 Singles Event in 2022 received $33,200 (2021: $29,800) in prize money and 280 WTA ranking points, with the runner up receiving $19,750 (2021: $16,398) in prize money and 180 WTA ranking points.

Players losing in the 1st round of the tournament received $2,725 in prize money and 1 WTA Ranking Point.

Performance2022 Prize MoneyWTA Points
2nd Round$3,80030
1st Round$2,7251

2022 Doubles Prize Money (Per Team) and Points

The winners of the Women’s Doubles Event in 2022 received $12,000 ($6,000 each) in prize money, with the runner ups receiving $6,700 ($3,350 each).

Teams losing in the 1st round received $1,750 in prize money and 1 WTA Ranking Point.

Performance2022 Prize MoneyWTA Points
1st Round$1,8001

WTA Birmingham Past Winners and Runner Ups

The tournament has been held in Birmingham since 1982 with past singles champions including Billie Jean King, Pam Shriver, and Martina Navratilova.

Women’s Singles Winners and Runner Ups

The defending champion in the women’s singles event in 2022 is Beatriz Haddad Maia who beat Zhang Shuai after Zhang Shuai had to retire due to injury.

Pam Shriver currently holds the record for most WTA Birmingham singles titles with four titles to her name (1984, 1985, 1986, and 1987).

The below list of previous winners and runner ups goes back to 2012.

For a full list of winners and runner ups, check out the WTA Tennis website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Beatriz Haddad MaiaZhang Shuai5-4 (retired)
2021Ons JabeurDaria Kasatkina7–5, 6–4
2020N/AN/ATournament not Held
2019Ashleigh BartyJulia Görges6–3, 7–5
2018Petra KvitováMagdaléna Rybáriková4–6, 6–1, 6–2
2017Petra KvitováAshleigh Barty4–6, 6–3, 6–2
2016Madison KeysBarbora Strýcová6–3, 6–4
2015Angelique KerberKarolína Plíšková6–7, 6–3, 7–6
2014Ana IvanovicBarbora Strýcová6–3, 6–2
2013Daniela HantuchováDonna Vekić7–6, 6-4
2012Melanie OudinJelena Janković6–4, 6–2

Women’s Doubles Winners and Runner Ups

Lyudmyla Kichenok and Jeļena Ostapenko are the defending champions in the Women’s doubles event in Birmingham after receiving a walkover against Elise Mertens and Zhang Shuai as Zhang Shuai was injured in the singles final.

The below list of previous winners and runner ups goes back to 2012.

For a full list of winners and runner ups, check out the WTA Tennis website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Lyudmyla Kichenok and Jeļena OstapenkoElise Mertens and Zhang ShuaiWalkover
2021Marie Bouzková and Lucie HradeckáOns Jabeur and Ellen Perez6–4, 2–6, 10–8
2020N/AN/ATournament not Held
2019Hsieh Su-wei and Barbora StrýcováAnna-Lena Grönefeld and Demi Schuurs6–4, 6–7, 10–8
2018Tímea Babos and Kristina MladenovicElise Mertens and Demi Schuurs4–6, 6–3, 10–8
2017Ashleigh Barty and Casey DellacquaChan Hao-ching and Zhang Shuai6–1, 2–6, 10–8
2016Karolína Plíšková and Barbora StrýcováVania King and Alla Kudryavtseva6–3, 7–6
2015Garbiñe Muguruza and Carla Suárez NavarroAndrea Hlaváčková and Lucie Hradecká6–4, 6–4
2014Raquel Kops-Jones and Abigail SpearsAshleigh Barty and Casey Dellacqua7-6, 6-1
2013Ashleigh Barty and Casey DellacquaCara Black and Marina Erakovic7-5, 6-4
2012Tímea Babos and Hsieh Su-weiLiezel Huber and Lisa Raymond7–5, 6–7, 10–8