Makarska Open

The Makarska Open is a WTA 125 tennis tournament that is played on outdoor red clay courts in the beautiful seaside town of Makarska in Croatia.

The WTA 125 tournament was formerly known as the Croatian Bol Ladies Open with matches being played at the Bluesun Tennis Center in Bol.

In 2022, the tournament was played in Makarska for the first time.

Makarska Open

2023 Makarska Open

Location:Makarska, Croatia
Tour Level:WTA 125
Court Surface:Outdoor Clay
Draw Size:32 Singles, 8 Doubles
Prize Money:$115,000


The 2023 Makarska Open tennis tournament will take place from the 6th to the 11th of June 2023.

The 2023 tournament will be played in the same week as the second week of the French Open at Roland Garros in Paris, the Open Internacional Femení Solgironès in La Bisbal d’Empordà, Spain, and the Tyler Tennis Championships in Texas, USA.


If you are interested in getting tickets for the 2023 tournament in Makarska, then they can be purchased on the official tournament website.

Players Entry List

The entry list for the 2023 tournament in Makarska has yet to be released but below were the seeded players for the 2022 singles tournament:

  1. Varvara Gracheva
  2. Lucia Bronzetti
  3. Anastasia Potapova
  4. Magdalena Fręch
  5. Anna Karolína Schmiedlová
  6. Clara Burel
  7. Jule Niemeier
  8. Ekaterine Gorgo


Below is the expected schedule for the 2023 tournament in Makarska with the singles final being played on the 11th of June 2023.

Tuesday – Day 16th of June 2023Qualifying and 1st Round Matches
Wednesday – Day 27th of June 20231st Round Matches
Thursday – Day 38th of June 20232nd Round Matches
Friday – Day 49th of June 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday – Day 510th of June 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday – Day 611th of June 2023Final


The draw for the 2023 tournament will be available to view on the WTA Tour website closer to the start of the tournament.

Qualifying Draw: TBC

Singles Draw: TBC

Doubles Draw: TBC

Prize Money and Points

The total financial commitment (including Prize Money) for the 2023 tournament will be $115,000.

How the prize money and points were split for the 2023 tournament has not been released yet but below is how they were split in 2022.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the WTA 125 Singles Event in 2022 received $15,000 and 160 WTA ranking points, with the runner up receiving $8.500 and 95 ranking points.

Players losing in the 1st round of the tournament received $1,250 and 1 WTA Ranking Point.

2nd Round$2,00015
1st Round$1,2501

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the Women’s Doubles Event in 2022 received $6,000 ($3,000 each) and 160 Ranking Points, with the runner ups receiving $4,300 ($2,150 each) and 95 Ranking Points.

Teams losing in the Quarterfinals received $2,000 ($1,000 each) and 1 WTA Ranking Point.


WTA Makarska Past Winners and Runner Ups

Women’s Singles

The current champion in the women’s singles event is Jule Niemeier who beat Elisabetta Cocciaretto 7-5, 6-1 in the final of the 2022 tournament.

YearWinnersRunner UpScore in Final
2022Jule NiemeierElisabetta Cocciaretto7-5, 6-1
2021Jasmine PaoliniArantxa Rus6–2, 7–6
2019Tamara ZidanšekSara Sorribes Tormo7–5, 7–5
2018Tamara ZidanšekMagda Linette6–1, 6–3
2017Aleksandra KrunićAlexandra Cadanțu6–3, 3–0 (Retired)
2016Mandy MinellaPolona Hercog6–2, 6–3

Women’s Doubles

Dalila Jakupović and Tena Lukas are the defending champions in the Women’s doubles event in Makarska after beating Aleksandra Krunić and Olga Danilović 5-7, 6-2, 10-5 in the final in 2022.

YearWinnersRunner UpsScore in Final
2022Dalila Jakupović and Tena LukasAleksandra Krunić and Olga Danilović5-7, 6-2, 10-5
2021Aliona Bolsova and Katarzyna KawaEkaterine Gorgodze and Tereza Mihalíková6–1, 4–6, 10–6
2019Timea Bacsinszky and Mandy MinellaCornelia Lister and Renata Voráčová0–6, 7–6, 10–4
2018Mariana Duque Mariño and Wang YafanSílvia Soler Espinosa and Barbora Štefková6–3, 7–5
2017Chuang Chia-jung and Renata VoráčováLina Gjorcheska and Aleksandrina Naydenova6–4, 6–2
2016Xenia Knoll and Petra MartićRaluca Olaru and İpek Soylu6–3, 6–2