WTA Hong Kong Open

The Hong Kong Open is a WTA 250 tennis tournament that is played on outdoor hard courts at Victoria Park in HK, China.

The tournament has a long history on the WTA Tour, with the inaugural event taking place in 1980.

WTA Hong Kong Open

Hong Kong Open 2023

Main Sponsor:Prudential
Tour Level:WTA 250
Court Surface:Outdoor Hard Courts
Draw Size:Singles: 32, Doubles: 16
Prize Money:$259,303


The 2023 WTA Hong Kong tennis tournament will be held from the 9th to the 15th of October 2023, with the 2023 tournament being played in the same week as the WTA tournaments in Zhengzhou and Seoul as well as the ATP Masters 1000 tournament in Shanghai.


The official entry list for the 2023 tournament in Hong Kong has not yet been released but below is a selection of top WTA Players that are expected to play in the singles event in 2023.

  • Anastasia Potapova
  • Beatriz Haddad Maia
  • Elise Mertens
  • Leylah Fernandez
  • Marta Kostyuk
  • Mayar Sherif
  • Mirra Andreeva
  • Peyton Stearns
  • Victoria Azarenka
  • Wang Xiyu


Below is the expected tournament schedule for the 2023 tournament in Hong Kong, with the singles final being played on Sunday, the 15th of October 2023.

Monday – Day 19th of October 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday – Day 210th of October 20231st Round Matches
Wednesday – Day 311th of October 20232nd Round Matches
Thursday – Day 412th of October 20232nd Round Matches
Friday – Day 513th of October 2023Quarterfinals
Saturday – Day 614th of October 2023Semifinals
Sunday – Day 715th of October 2023Finals


The draws for the 2023 WTA Hong Kong tennis tournament will be available to view on the WTA Tour website closer to the start of the tournament, with the draw size for the singles tournament being 32 and 16 for the doubles tournament.

Singles Qualifying Draw: TBD

Singles Draw: TBD

Doubles Draw: TBD

Prize Money and Points

The total financial commitment (including prize money) for the 2023 WTA 250 tournament in Hong Kong will be $259,303.

How the prize money and points are expected to be split for the 2023 tournament is detailed below.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the singles tournament in 2023 will win $34,228 and 280 ranking points, while the runner-up will win $20,226 and 180 ranking points.

2nd Round$3,92030
1st Round$2,8041

Women’s Doubles (Per Team)

The winners of the doubles tournament in 2023 will receive $12,447 and 280 points, while the runner-ups will receive $7,000 and 180 points.

1st Round$1,8481

Past Winners and Runners Up

NB: No tournament has been held since 2018, so the 2018 champions are still the current champions.

Women’s Singles

Dayana Yastremska is the current champion in the singles tournament after defeating Wang Qiang 6-2, 6–1 in the 2018 Singles Final (see highlights from the final below).

Other past winners of the singles include Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (2017), Caroline Wozniacki (2016), Jelena Janković (2015), Sabine Lisicki (2014), and Wendy Turnbull (1980 and 1981).

Women’s Doubles

Samantha Stosur and Zhang Shuai are the current champions in the doubles event after defeating Shuko Aoyama and Lidziya Marozava in the 2018 doubles final 6–4, 6–4.

Sharon Walsh, Chan Hao-ching, and Chan Yung-jan jointly hold the record for most doubles titles with two titles each.