Shanghai Masters

The Shanghai Masters is a men’s tennis tournament on the ATP Tour that is played on outdoor hard courts in Shanghai, China.

The first Shanghai tennis tournament was played in 2009 with Nikolay Davydenko winning the singles and Julien Benneteau and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga winning the doubles.

The tournament has not been held since 2019 but it is expected that it will make a return for the 2023 tennis season.

Shanghai Masters Tennis

ATP Shanghai 2023

Location:Shanghai, China
Tour Level:ATP 1000
Main Sponsor:Rolex
Court Surface:Outdoor Hard Courts
Draw Size:96 Singles, 32 Doubles
Prize Money:$8,800,000


The 2023 ATP Shanghai Masters Tennis tournament will be held from the 2nd to the 15th of October 2023, with this year’s tournament taking place in the same week as the WTA tournaments in Hong Kong, Seoul, and Zhengzhou.


The official entry list for the 2023 tournament in Shanghai has not yet been released but below is a selection of players who are expected to play in the singles in 2023.

  • Adrian Mannarino
  • Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
  • Aleksandar Vukic
  • Alex de Minaur
  • Alexander Bublik
  • Alexander Zverev
  • Alexei Popyrin
  • Andrey Rublev
  • Andy Murray
  • Arthur Fils
  • Arthur Rinderknech
  • Ben Shelton
  • Bernabe Zapata Miralles
  • Borna Coric
  • Botic van de Zandschulp
  • Brandon Nakashima
  • Cameron Norrie
  • Carlos Alcaraz
  • Casper Ruud
  • Christopher Eubanks
  • Christopher O’Connell
  • Corentin Moutet
  • Daniel Altmaier
  • Daniel Elahi Galan
  • Daniel Evans
  • Daniil Medvedev
  • Denis Shapovalov
  • Dominik Koepfer
  • Dusan Lajovic
  • Emil Ruusuvuori
  • Felix Auger-Aliassime
  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Francisco Cerundolo
  • Gregoire Barrere
  • Grigor Dimitrov
  • Holger Rune
  • Hubert Hurkacz
  • J.J. Wolf
  • Jan-Lennard Struff
  • Jannik Sinner
  • Jiri Lehecka
  • Jordan Thompson
  • Juan Pablo Varillas
  • Karen Khachanov
  • Kei Nishikori
  • Laslo Djere
  • Lorenzo Musetti
  • Lorenzo Sonego
  • Luca Van Assche
  • Mackenzie McDonald
  • Marcos Giron
  • Marton Fucsovics
  • Matteo Arnaldi
  • Matteo Berrettini
  • Max Purcell
  • Milos Raonic
  • Miomir Kecmanovic
  • Nicolas Jarry
  • Pedro Cachin
  • Quentin Halys
  • Richard Gasquet
  • Roberto Bautista Agut
  • Roberto Carballes Baena
  • Roman Safiullin
  • Sebastian Baez
  • Sebastian Korda
  • Sebastian Ofner
  • Stan Wawrinka
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas
  • Tallon Griekspoor
  • Taylor Fritz
  • Tomas Martin Etcheverry
  • Tommy Paul
  • Ugo Humbert
  • Yannick Hanfmann
  • Yoshihito Nishioka
  • Zhizhen Zhang


The schedule for the 2023 tournament has not been released yet so check back closer to the start date of the tournament for more information.


In 2023, there will be 96 players included in the singles draw, while in the doubles draw there will be a total of 32 teams.

NB: The draw for the 2023 tournament in Shanghai will be made closer to the start of the tournament.

Singles Qualifying Draw: TBD

Singles Main Draw: TBD

Doubles Draw: TBD

Prize Money and Points

The total prize money fund for the 2023 Shanghai Masters will be $8,800,000, with the prize money and ranking points being split as follows.

Men’s Singles

The winner of the singles tournament in 2023 will win $1,262,220 and 1000 ranking points, while the runner-up received $662,360 and 600 ranking points.

Performance$ATP Points
4th Round$96,95590
3rd Round$55,77045
2nd Round$30,88525
1st Round$18,66010-16

Men’s Doubles (Per Team)

The winners of the doubles tournament in 2023 will win $436,730 ($218,365 each) and 1000 ATP points, while the runner-ups will win $231,660 ($115,830 each) and 600 ATP points.

PerformancePer TeamPer PlayerATP Points
2nd Round$33,460$16,73090
1st Round$18,020$9,0100

Past Winners and Runners Up

Men’s Singles

The winner of the singles at the 2019 Shanghai Masters was Daniil Medvedev who beat Alexander Zverev 6–4, 6–1 in the 2019 final.

Other past winners of the singles competition include Novak Djokovic (2012, 2013, 2015, and 2018), Roger Federer (2014 and 2017), Andy Murray (2010, 2011, and 2016), and Nikolay Davydenko (2009).

Men’s Doubles

The winners of the 2019 doubles competition were Mate Pavic and Bruno Soares who beat Lukasz Kubot and Marcelo Melo 6–4, 6–2 in the 2019 final.

Marcelo Melo currently holds the record for most doubles titles in Shanghai with three to his name (2013, 2015, and 2018).