WTA Guangzhou Open

The Guangzhou Open is a WTA 250 tennis tournament that is played on outdoor hard courts at the Guangdong Olympic Tennis Centre.

The first tournament in Guangzhou, China was held in 2004, with the tournament being held annually from 2004 until 2019, with no tournament being held in 2020, 2021, or 2022.

WTA Guangzhou Open

Guangzhou Open 2023

Tour Level:WTA 250
Tournament Sponsor:Galaxy Holding Group
Court Surface:Outdoor Hard
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$259,303


The 2023 WTA Guangzhou Open tennis tournament took place from the 18th to the 24th of September 2023, with qualifying for the singles tournament likely to take place on the 16th and 17th of September 2023.

The 2023 tournament was played in the same week as the WTA 1000 tournament in Guadalajara, the Parma Ladies Open, and the ATP tournaments in Zhuhai, Chengdu, and Vancouver.


The official entry list for the 2023 Guangzhou tennis tournament has now been released and below is a list of players who participated in the 2023 women’s singles event:

  • Claire Liu
  • Greet Minnen
  • Linda Fruhvirtová
  • Lucia Bronzetti
  • Magda Linette
  • Rebeka Masarova
  • Tatjana Maria
  • Zhu Lin


Below is the schedule for the 2023 tournament in Guangzhou with the singles final being played on Sunday, the 24th of September 2023.

Monday – Day 118th of September 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday – Day 219th of September 20231st and 2nd Round Matches
Wednesday – Day 320th of September 20232nd and 3rd Round Matches
Thursday – Day 421st of September 20233rd Round Matches
Friday – Day 522nd of September 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday – Day 623rd of September 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday – Day 724th of September 2023Final


The draws for the 2023 tournament in Guangzhou are available to view on the WTA Tour website (see links below).

2023 Women’s Singles: View Draw

2023 Women’s Singles Qualifying: View Draw

2023 Women’s Doubles: View Draw

Ranking Points and Prize Money

The total financial commitment (including prize money) for the 2023 WTA Guangzhou tennis tournament was $259,303.

How the prize money and ranking points were split by round for the 2023 tournament is detailed below.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the women’s singles tournament in 2023 received $34,228 and 280 ranking points, while the runner-up won $20,226 and 180 ranking points.

2nd Round$3,92030
1st Round$2,8041

Women’s Doubles (Per Team)

The winners of the women’s doubles tournament in 2023 received $12,447 and 280 WTA points, while the runners-up won $7,000 and 180 WTA points.

1st Round$1,8481

Past Winners, Runners Up, and Results

The current champion in the women’s singles event is Wang Xiyu who defeated Magda Linette 6–0, 6–2 in the 2023 singles final in Guangzhou (see match highlights below).

Zhang Shuai currently holds the record for most WTA Guangzhou singles titles with two titles to her name (2013 and 2017).

In the women’s doubles event, Guo Hanyu and Jiang Xinyu are the current champions after defeating Eri Hozumi and Makoto Ninomiya 6–3, 7–6 in the 2023 doubles final.

Peng Shuai holds the record for most doubles titles in Guangzhou, having won titles in 2007, 2013, 2016, and 2017.

Women’s Singles

2023Wang XiyuMagda Linette6–0, 6–2
2019Sofia KeninSamantha Stosur6–7, 6–4, 6–2
2018Wang QiangYulia Putintseva6–1, 6–2
2017Zhang Shuai Aleksandra Krunić6–2, 3–6, 6–2
2016Lesia TsurenkoJelena Janković6–4, 3–6, 6–4
2015Jelena JankovićDenisa Allertová6–2, 6–0
2014Monica NiculescuAlizé Cornet6–4, 6–0
2013Zhang ShuaiVania King7–6, 6–1
2012Hsieh Su-weiLaura Robson6–3, 5–7, 6–4
2011Chanelle ScheepersMagdalena Rybáriková6–2, 6–2
2010Jarmila GrothAlla Kudryavtseva6–1, 6–4
2009Shahar Pe’erAlberta Brianti6–3, 6–4
2008Vera ZvonarevaPeng Shuai6–7, 6–0, 6–2
2007Virginie RazzanoTzipora Obziler6–0, 6–3
2006Anna ChakvetadzeAnabel Medina Garrigues6–1, 6–4
2005Yan ZiNuria Llagostera Vives6–4, 4–0 (retired)
2004Li Na  Martina Suchá6–3, 6–4

Women’s Doubles

2023Guo Hanyu and Jiang XinyuEri Hozumi and Makoto Ninomiya6–3, 7–6
2019Peng Shuai and Laura SiegemundAlexa Guarachi and Giuliana Olmos6–2, 6–1
2018Monique Adamczak and Jessica MooreDanka Kovinić and Vera Lapko4–6, 7–5, 10–4
2017Elise Mertens and Demi SchuursMonique Adamczak and Storm Sanders6–2, 6–3
2016Asia Muhammad and Peng ShuaiOlga Govortsova and Vera Lapko6–2, 7–6
2015Martina Hingis and Sania MirzaXu Shilin and You Xiaodi6–3, 6–1
2014Chuang Chia-jung and Liang ChenAlizé Cornet and Magda Linette2–6, 7–6, 10–7
2013Hsieh Su-wei and Peng ShuaiVania King and Galina Voskoboeva6–3, 4–6, 12–10
2012Tamarine Tanasugarn and Zhang ShuaiJarmila Gajdošová and Monica Niculescu2–6, 6–2, 10–8
2011Hsieh Su-wei and Zheng SaisaiChan Chin-wei and Han Xinyun6–2, 6–1
2010Edina Gallovits and Sania MirzaHan Xinyun and Liu Wanting7–5, 6–3
2009Olga Govortsova and Tatiana PoutchekKimiko Date-Krumm and Sun Tiantian3–6, 6–2, 10–8
2008Mariya Koryttseva and Tatiana PoutchekSun Tiantian and Yan Zi6–3, 4–6, 10–8
2007Peng Shuai and Yan ZiVania King and Sun Tiantian6–3, 6–4
2006Li Ting and Sun TiantianVania King and Jelena Kostanić6–4, 2–6, 7–5
2005Maria Elena Camerin and Emmanuelle GagliardiNeha Uberoi and Shikha Uberoi7–6, 6–3
2004Li Ting and Sun TiantianYang Shujing and Yu Ying6–4, 6–1