WTA German Open

The WTA German Open (AKA bett1 Open) is a WTA 500 tournament played on outdoor grass courts in Berlin, Germany.

The tournament is one of the oldest on the WTA tour with the first German Open being played in 1896.

The WTA Berlin tournament was not held between 2009 and 2020 with the 2021 tournament being the first time the tournament was played in 12 years.

2021 was also the first time the tournament was played on grass courts as it had previously been a clay court tournament.

WTA German Open

WTA German Open

Tournament Name:WTA German Open (bett1 Open)
Location:Berlin, Germany
WTA Tour Level:WTA 500
Tournament Sponsor:bett1
Court Surface:Outdoor Grass
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$757,900
Official Website:https://www.bett1open.de/en/home/

When did the 2022 WTA German Open take place?

The 2022 tournament in Berlin took place from the 13th to the 19th of June 2022.

The 2022 tournament was played in the same week as the ATP 500 tournaments in London, and Halle, the WTA 250 tournament in Birmingham, and the WTA 125 tournament in Gaiba.

How do you get tickets for the 2023 WTA German Open?

Tickets for the 2023 tournament in Berlin, Germany are not on sale yet.

Check out the official ticketing website for more information on ticketing for the 2023 tournament.

2022 WTA German Open Players

Below is a selection of WTA players that entered the singles tournament in Berlin in 2022:

  1. Ons Jabeur
  2. Maria Sakkari
  3. Aryna Sabalenka
  4. Karolína Plíšková
  5. Garbiñe Muguruza
  6. Daria Kasatkina
  7. Coco Gauff
  8. Belinda Bencic
  9. Anna Kalinskaya
  10. Jule Niemeier
  11. Bianca Andreescu
  12. Karolína Muchová
  13. Anastasia Gasanova
  14. Léolia Jeanjean
  15. Tamara Korpatsch
  16. Alycia Parks
  17. Daria Saville
  18. Wang Xinyu

The 2022 French Open Singles Champion Iga Swiatek was expected to play in Berlin but before the tournament started, she announced she would be pulling out.

2022 WTA German Open Schedule

Monday – Day 113th of June 20221st Round Matches
Tuesday – Day 214th of June 20221st Round Matches
Wednesday – Day 315th of June 20222nd Round Matches
Thursday – Day 416th of June 20222nd Round Matches
Friday – Day 517th of June 2022Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday – Day 618th of June 2022Semifinal Matches
Sunday – Day 719th of June 2022Final

2022 WTA German Open Order of Play

You can view the schedule for each day’s play in 2022 by following the below links:

Day 1 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2012/berlin/2022/order-of-play/#Day1

Day 2 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2012/berlin/2022/order-of-play/#Day2

Day 3 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2012/berlin/2022/order-of-play/#Day3

Day 4 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2012/berlin/2022/order-of-play/#Day4

Day 5 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2012/berlin/2022/order-of-play/#Day5

Day 6 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2012/berlin/2022/order-of-play/#Day6

Day 7 Schedule: https://www.wtatennis.com/tournament/2012/berlin/2022/order-of-play/#Day7

2022 WTA German Open Draw

If you are looking for the draws for the 2022 tournament then they can be viewed on the Official WTA Tour website (see links below).

2022 WTA Singles Draw: Singles Draw

2022 WTA Singles Qualifying Draw: Singles Qualifying Draw

2022 WTA Doubles Draw: Doubles Draw

2022 WTA German Open Prize Money and WTA Points

The total prize money for the 2022 tournament was $757,900 and how the prize money and points are to be split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

2022 Singles Prize Money and Points

Performance2022 Prize MoneyWTA Points
2nd Round€8,26255
1st Round€5,3901

The winner of the WTA Berlin Singles Event in 2022 received €93,823 (2021: €55,300) in prize money and 470 WTA points, with the runner up receiving €58,032 (2021: €41,141) and 305 WTA points.

Players losing in the 1st round of the tournament received €5,390 (2021: €5,362) in prize money and 1 WTA Ranking Point.

2022 Doubles Prize Money (Per Team) and Points

Performance2022 Prize MoneyWTA Points
1st Round€3,3871

The winners of the Women’s Doubles Event in Berlin in 2022 received €31,452 (€15,726 each) in prize money, with the runner ups receiving €19,113 (€9,556.50 each).

Teams losing in the 1st round received €3,387 in prize money and 1 WTA Ranking Point.

WTA Berlin Past Winners and Runner Ups

Women’s Singles Winners and Runner Ups

The defending champion in the women’s singles event is Ons Jabeur who beat Belinda Bencic 6-3, 2-1 (Retired) in the final of the 2022 tournament.

This was the second year in a row where Bencic was the runner-up in the singles final.

Steffi Graf currently holds the record for most WTA Berlin singles titles with 9 titles to her name (1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, and 1996).

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Ons JabeurBelinda Bencic6-3, 2-1 (Retired)
2021Liudmila SamsonovaBelinda Bencic1–6, 6–1, 6–3
2009-2020N/AN/ATournament not Held
2008Dinara SafinaElena Dementieva3–6, 6–2, 6–2
2007Ana IvanovicSvetlana Kuznetsova3–6, 6–4, 7–6
2006Nadia PetrovaJustine Henin6–3, 4–6, 6–3
2005Justine HeninNadia Petrova6–2, 5–7, 6–3
2004Amélie MauresmoVenus WilliamsWalkover
2003Justine HeninKim Clijsters6–4, 4–6, 7–5
2002Justine HeninSerena Williams6–2, 1–6, 7–6
2001Amélie MauresmoJennifer Capriati6–4, 2–6, 6–3

Women’s Doubles Winners and Runner Ups

Storm Sanders and Kateřina Siniaková are the defending champions in the Women’s doubles event in Berlin after beating Alizé Cornet and Jil Teichmann 6-4, 6-3 in the final in 2022.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Storm Sanders and Kateřina SiniakováAlizé Cornet and Jil Teichmann6–4, 6–3
2021Victoria Azarenka and Aryna SabalenkaNicole Melichar and Demi Schuurs4–6, 7–5, 10–4
2009-2020N/AN/ATournament not Held
2008Cara Black and Liezel HuberNuria Llagostera Vives and María José Martínez Sánchez6–2, 6–2
2007Lisa Raymond and Samantha StosurTathiana Garbin and Roberta Vinci6–3, 6–4
2006Yan Zi and Zheng JieElena Dementieva and Flavia Pennetta6–2, 6–3
2005Elena Likhovtseva and Vera ZvonarevaCara Black and Liezel Huber3–6, 6–3, 6–1
2004Nadia Petrova and Meghann ShaughnessyJanette Husárová and Conchita Martínez6–2, 2–6, 6–1
2003Virginia Ruano Pascual and Paola SuárezKim Clijsters and Ai Sugiyama6–3, 4–6, 6–4
2002Elena Dementieva and Janette HusárováDaniela Hantuchová and Arantxa Sánchez Vicario0–6, 7–6, 6–2
2001Els Callens and Meghann ShaughnessyCara Black and Elena Likhovtseva6–4, 6–3