Barcelona Open Tennis Tournament

The Barcelona Open is an ATP 500 clay court tournament that is held annually in Barcelona, Spain.

The tennis tournament is played at the Real Club de Tenis Barcelona and is currently sponsored by Banc Sabadell.

Barcelona Open Tennis Tournament

2023 Barcelona Open

Location:Barcelona, Spain
Tour Level:ATP 500
Court Surface:Clay Court
Prize Money:€2,661,825
Draw Size:48 Singles, 16 Doubles


The 2023 ATP Barcelona Open tennis tournament will take place from the 17th to the 23rd of April 2023.

The 2023 tournament will be held in the same week as the ATP tournaments in Banja Luka and Munich and the WTA Tournaments in Stuttgart and Istanbul.


Tickets for the 2023 tournament in Barcelona are now on sale through the tournament’s official website, with ticket prices starting from €9.


The official entry list for 2023 has not yet been released but below is a list of the top ATP players that played in Barcelona in 2022.

  • Stefanos Tsitsipas
  • Casper Ruud
  • Felix Auger-Aliassime
  • Cameron Norrie
  • Carlos Alcaraz
  • Diego Schwartzman
  • Pablo Carreno Busta
  • Nikoloz Basilashvili
  • Alex de Minaur
  • Lorenzo Sonego
  • Daniel Evans
  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Grigor Dimitrov
  • Federico Delbonis
  • Alexander Bublik

The defending singles champion from 2021, Rafael Nadal did not play in the 2022 tournament due to injury but there was still a strong draw in Barcelona with top 10 players like Casper Ruud, Felix Auger-Aliassime, and Cameron Norrie competing as well as the 2022 Monte Carlo Masters Winner Stefanos Tsitsipas.


Below is the expected schedule for the 2023 tournament in Barcelona, with the main draws starting on the 17th of April and the singles final being played on Sunday, the 23rd of April 2023.

Monday, 17 April 20221st Round Matches
Tuesday, 18 April 20221st and 2nd Round Matches
Wednesday, 19 April 20222nd and 3rd Round Matches
Thursday, 20 April 20223rd Round Matches
Friday, 21 April 2022Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday, 22 April 2022Semifinal Matches
Sunday, 23 April 2022Final


The draws for the 2023 singles and doubles competitions in Barcelona will be made the week before the start of the tournament.

Singles Qualifying Draw: TBC

Singles Draw: TBC

Doubles Qualifying Draw: TBC

Doubles Draw: TBC

Prize Money and Ranking Points

The total financial commitment for the 2023 Barcelona Open has not yet been confirmed but in 2022, it was €2,802,580 which included the prize money to be paid to players.

How the prize money and points were split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

Men’s Singles

The winner of the Singles Event in 2022 won €467,150 and 500 ranking points, with the runner up winning €249,140 and 300 ranking points.

Third Round€35,55545
Second Round€19,46520
First Round€10,3800

Men’s Doubles

The winners of the Men’s Doubles Event in 2022 won €163,500 (€81,750 each) and 500 points, with the runner ups receiving €87,200 (€43,600 each) and 300 points.

First Round€11,4200

ATP Barcelona Past Winners and Runner Ups

Men’s Singles

Carlos Alcaraz is the current champion in the singles event in Barcelona after beating Pablo Carreno Busta 6-3, 6-2 in the final in 2022.

The king of clay Rafael Nadal currently holds the record for most singles titles with a total of 12 to his name.

Below is a list of previous winners and runner ups of the singles event in Barcelona from 2014 to 2022. For a full list, check out the official ATP Tour website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Carlos AlcarazPablo Carreno Busta6-3, 6-2
2021Rafael NadalStefanos Tsitsipas6-4, 6-7, 7-5
2019Dominic ThiemDaniil Medvedev6–4, 6–0
2018Rafael NadalStefanos Tsitsipas6–2, 6–1
2017Rafael NadalDominic Thiem6–4, 6–1
2016Rafael NadalKei Nishikori6–4, 7–5
2015Kei NishikoriPablo Andújar6–4, 6–4
2014Kei NishikoriSantiago Giraldo6–2, 6-2

Men’s Doubles

Andreas Mies and Kevin Krawietz are the current champions in the doubles event in Barcelona after beating Neal Skupski and Wesley Koolhof 6-7, 7-6, 10-6 in the 2022 doubles final.

Roy Emerson currently holds the record for the most doubles titles with 7 to his name.

Below is a list of previous winners and runner ups of the doubles event from 2014 to 2022. For a full list, check out the official ATP Tour website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Andreas Mies and Kevin KrawietzNeal Skupski and Wesley Koolhof6-7, 7-6, 10-6
2021Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert FarahKevin Krawietz and Horia Tecau6–4, 6–2
2019Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert FarahJamie Murray and Bruno Soares6–4, 7–6
2018Feliciano López and Marc LópezAisam-ul-Haq Qureshi and Jean-Julien Rojer7–6, 6–4
2017Florin Mergea and Aisam-ul-Haq QureshiPhilipp Petzschner and Alexander Peya6–4, 6–3
2016Bob Bryan and Mike BryanPablo Cuevas and Marcel Granollers7–5, 7–5
2015Marin Draganja and Henri KontinenJamie Murray and John Peers6–3, 6–7, 11–9
2014Jesse Huta Galung and Stéphane RobertDaniel Nestor and Nenad Zimonjić6–3, 6–3

Tournament FAQ

Will the Barcelona Tennis Tournament be on Amazon Prime UK?

Yes, the tournament will be available to stream on Amazon Prime from 17 Apr – 23 Apr 2023.

How many times has Nadal won the Singles Title in Barcelona?

Amazingly, Rafael Nadal has won the singles title in Barcelona a record 12 times (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2021)