BMW Open Tennis Tournament

The BMW Open tennis tournament is an ATP 250 level event on the ATP Tour that is held annually in Munich, Germany and is played on outdoor clay courts at the MTTC Iphitos tennis club near the English Garden in Munich.

The tournament was previously called the Bavarian International Tennis Championships but since 1990 it has been known as the BMW Open.

The tournament is one of the longest-running tennis tournaments in the world with the first tournament being played in 1900.

BMW Open Tennis

2023 BMW Open

Location:Munich, Germany
Tour Level:ATP 250
Court Surface:Outdoor Clay
Draw Size:28 Singles, 16 Doubles
Total Prize Money:€534,555


The 2023 BMW Open tennis tournament took place from the 17th to the 23rd of April 2023, with the tournament being played in the same week as the ATP tournaments in Barcelona and Banja Luka and the WTA tournament in Stuttgart.


Tickets for the 2023 tournament in Munich were sold through the official tournament website, with ticket prices starting from €25.


The official entry list for 2023 has now been released and below is a selection of players who played in the ATP Munich tennis tournament in 2023.

The singles entry list included the defending 2022 singles champion Holger Rune and the 2020 US Open singles champion Dominic Thiem.

  • Alexander Ritschard
  • Alexander Zverev
  • Aslan Karatsev
  • Botic van de Zandschulp
  • Christopher O’Connell
  • Constant Lestienne
  • Cristian Garin
  • Daniel Altmaier
  • Dominic Thiem
  • Flavio Cobolli
  • Holger Rune
  • Jan-Lennard Struff
  • Jordan Thompson
  • Kyle Edmund
  • Lorenzo Sonego
  • Marc-Andrea Huesler
  • Marcos Giron
  • Marko Topo
  • Marton Fucsovics
  • Max Hans Rehberg
  • Oscar Otte
  • Quentin Halys
  • Roberto Carballes Baena
  • Sebastian Baez
  • Taylor Fritz
  • Thiago Monteiro
  • Ugo Humbert
  • Yannick Hanfmann


Below was the schedule for the 2023 singles competition in Munich with the singles final taking place on Sunday, the 23rd of April 2023.

Monday, 17 April 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday, 18 April 20231st Round Matches
Wednesday, 19 April 20232nd Round Matches
Thursday, 20 April 20232nd Round Matches
Friday, 21 April 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday, 22 April 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday, 23 April 2023Singles Final

NB: Singles Qualifying will take place on the 15th and 16th of April 2023.


The draws for the 2023 BMW Open tennis tournament were made the week before the start of the tournament and are now available to view on the official ATP Tour website (see links below).

Singles Qualifying: View Draw

Singles Main: View Draw

Doubles: View Draw

Prize Money and Ranking Points

The total prize money fund for the 2023 tournament in Munich was €562,815, with the prize money and points being split as follows:

Men’s Singles

The winner of the ATP 250 Singles Event in 2023 won €85,605 (2022: €81,310) and 250 ATP ranking points, with the runner-up winning €49,940 (2022: €47,430) and 150 ATP ranking points.

PerformanceATP Ranking Points
2nd Round€9,88020
1st Round€6,0350

Men’s Doubles (Per Team)

The winners of the Doubles Event in 2023 won €29,740 (2022: €28,250) and 250 points, with the runner-ups winning €15,910 (2022: €15,110) and 150 points.

PerformanceATP Ranking Points
1st Round€3,0700

ATP Munich Past Winners and Runner Ups

Over the years the tournament has attracted some of the top tennis players in the world with past champions including Roger Federer, Andy Murray, Ivan Lendl, and Roy Emerson.

Men’s Singles

The current champion in the men’s singles event is Holger Rune who beat Botic van de Zandschulp 6-4, 1-6, 7-6 in the 2023 ATP Munich final.

Gottfried von Cramm, Philipp Kohlschreiber, and Budge Patty jointly hold the record for most singles titles with three each.

The below list of winners and runner-ups in the men’s singles tournament goes back to 2012. For a full list, check out the official ATP Tour website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2023Holger RuneBotic van de Zandschulp6-4, 1-6, 7-6
2022Holger RuneBotic van de Zandschulp3-4 (retired)
2021Nikoloz BasilashviliJan-Lennard Struff6–4, 7–6
2019Cristian GarínMatteo Berrettini6–1, 3–6, 7–6
2018Alexander ZverevPhilipp Kohlschreiber6–3, 6–3
2017Alexander ZverevGuido Pella6–4, 6–3
2016Philipp KohlschreiberDominic Thiem7–6, 4–6, 7–6
2015Andy MurrayPhilipp Kohlschreiber7–6, 5–7, 7–6
2014Martin KližanFabio Fognini2–6, 6–1, 6–2
2013Tommy HaasPhilipp Kohlschreiber6–3, 7–6
2012Philipp KohlschreiberMarin Cilic7–6, 6–3

Men’s Doubles

Alexander Erler and Lucas Miedler are the current champions in the doubles event after beating Tim Putz and Kevin Krawietz in the final of the 2023 doubles event 6-3, 6–4.

Wojtek Fibak holds the record for most Doubles titles in the open era with three titles to his name (1975, 1979, 1984).

The below list of winners and runner-ups in the men’s doubles tournament goes back to 2012. For a full list, check out the official ATP Tour website.

YearWinnersRunner UpsScore in Final
2023Alexander Erler and Lucas MiedlerTim Putz and Kevin Krawietz6-3, 6–4
2022Kevin Krawietz and Andreas MiesDavid Vega Hernández and Rafael Matos4-6, 6-4, 10-7
2021Kevin Krawietz and Wesley KoolhofSander Gillé and Joran Vliegen4–6, 6–4, 10–5
2020N/AN/ATournament not held
2019Frederik Nielsen and Tim PützMarcelo Demoliner and Divij Sharan6–4, 6–2
2018Ivan Dodig and Rajeev RamNikola Mektić and Alexander Peya6–3, 7–5
2017Juan Sebastián Cabal and Robert FarahJérémy Chardy and Fabrice Martin6–3, 6–3
2016Henri Kontinen and John PeersJuan Sebastián Cabal and Robert Farah6–3, 3–6, 10–7
2015Alexander Peya and Bruno SoaresAlexander Zverev and Mischa Zverev4–6, 6–1, 10–5
2014Jamie Murray and John PeersColin Fleming
and Ross Hutchins
6–4, 6–2
2013Jarkko Nieminen and Dmitry TursunovMarcos Baghdatis
and Eric Butorac
6–1, 6–4
2012František Čermák and Filip PolášekXavier Malisse
and Dick Norman
6–4, 7–5