Monte Carlo Masters

The ATP Monte Carlo Masters is an outdoor claycourt tennis tournament that takes place annually in Monaco.

The tournament is a masters 1000 event on the ATP tour and is the first big clay court tournament of the year.

Although the tournament is called the Monte-Carlo Masters, the event is actually played in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin in France, which is a commune close to Monaco.

Monte Carlo Masters

2023 ATP Monte Carlo Masters

Location:Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
Tour Level:Masters 1000
Court Surface:Outdoor claycourt
Draw Size:56 Singles, 28 Doubles
Financial Commitment:€5,802,475 (2022)

The Monte Carlo Masters tennis tournament has been a popular tournament on the ATP tour for many years now with most of the top players participating in the event even though it is not a mandatory event on the ATP calendar.


The 2022 tennis tournament in Monte Carlo will take place from the 9th to the 16th of April 2023, with the singles qualifying taking place on the 8th and 9th of April.


Tickets for the 2023 tennis tournament are for sale through the Official Ticketing Site, with ticket prices starting at €30.


The official entry list for 2023 has yet to be released but below is a selection of ATP tennis players that played in Monaco in 2022:

  1. Novak Djokovic
  2. Alexander Zverev
  3. Stefanos Tsitsipas
  4. Casper Ruud
  5. Andrey Rublev
  6. Felix Auger-Aliassime
  7. Cameron Norrie
  8. Carlos Alcaraz
  9. Jannik Sinner
  10. Taylor Fritz
  11. Hubert Hurkacz
  12. Diego Schwartzman
  13. Pablo Carreno Busta
  14. Roberto Bautista Agut
  15. Nikoloz Basilashvili
  16. Lorenzo Sonego


Below is the expected tournament schedule for 2023, with the singles final being played on Sunday, the 16th of April 2023.

Sunday, 9 April 20231st Round Matches
Monday, 10 April 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday, 11 April 20231st and 2nd Round Matches
Wednesday, 12 April 20232nd and 3rd Round Matches
Thursday, 13 April 20233rd Round Matches
Friday, 14 April 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday, 15 April 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday, 16 April 2023Final


The draws for the 2023 tennis tournament will be made the week before the start of the tournament.

Singles Qualifying Draw: TBC

Singles Draw: TBC

Doubles Draw: TBC

Prize Money and Points

The total financial commitment (including prize money) for the tournament in 2023 has not been confirmed yet but in 2022, it was €5,802,475.

How the prize money and points were split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

Men’s Singles

The winner of the Men’s Singles Event in 2022 won €836,335 and 1,000 ATP Points, with the runner up winning €456,720 and 600 ATP Points.

3rd Round€72,86590
2nd Round€39,07045
1st Round€21,65010

Men’s Doubles (Per Team)

The winners of the Men’s Doubles Event in 2022 won €256,610 (€128,305 each) and 1,000 ATP Ranking Points, with the runner ups winning €139,390 (€69,695 each) and 600 ATP Ranking Points.

PerformanceATP Ranking Points
2nd Round€23,23090
1st Round€12,6700

Monte-Carlo Past Winners and Runner Ups

Men’s Singles

The current champion in the men’s singles event is Stefanos Tsitsipas who beat Alejandro Davidovich Fokina 6–3, 7–6 in the final of the 2022 tournament.

Rafael Nadal holds the record for most singles titles with 11 to his name (2006-2012, 2016-2018) including an astonishing eight titles in a row from 2006 to 2012.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Stefanos TsitsipasAlejandro Davidovich Fokina6-3, 7-6
2021Stefanos TsitsipasAndrey Rublev6-3, 6-3
2019Fabio FogniniDušan Lajović6−3, 6−4
2018Rafael NadalKei Nishikori6–3, 6–2
2017Rafael NadalAlbert Ramos Viñolas6–1, 6–3
2016Rafael NadalGaël Monfils7–5, 5–7, 6–0
2015Novak DjokovicTomáš Berdych7–5, 4–6, 6–3
2014Stan WawrinkaRoger Federer4–6, 7–6, 6–2
2013Novak DjokovicRafael Nadal6–2, 7–6
2012Rafael NadalNovak Djokovic6–3, 6–1

The above list of winners and runner ups in the men’s singles goes back to 2012. For a full list, check out the official ATP Tour website.

Men’s Doubles

Joe Salisbury and Rajeev Ram are the current champions in the doubles event after beating Robert Farah and Juan Sebastian Cabal 6-4, 3-6, 10-7 in the 2022 men’s doubles final.

Bob and Mike Bryan currently hold the record for most doubles titles with six doubles titles to date (2007, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, and 2018).

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2022Joe Salisbury and Rajeev RamRobert Farah and Juan Sebastian Cabal6-4, 3-6, 10-7
2021Nikola Mektic and Mate PavicDan Evans and Neal Skupski6–3, 4–6, 10–7
2019Nikola Mektić and Franko ŠkugorRobin Haase and Wesley Koolhof6–7, 7–6, 11–9
2018Bob Bryan and Mike BryanOliver Marach and Mate Pavić7–6, 6–3
2017Rohan Bopanna and Pablo CuevasFeliciano López and Marc López6–3, 3–6, 10–4
2016Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas MahutJamie Murray
and Bruno Soares
4–6, 6–0, 10–6
2015Bob Bryan and Mike BryanSimone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini7–6, 6–1
2014Bob Bryan and Mike BryanIvan Dodig and Marcelo Melo6–3, 3–6, 10–8
2013Julien Benneteau and Nenad ZimonjićBob Bryan and Mike Bryan4–6, 7–6, 14–12
2012Bob Bryan and Mike BryanMax Mirnyi and Daniel Nestor6–2, 6–3

The above list of winners and runner ups in the men’s doubles goes back to 2012. For a full list, check out the official ATP Tour website.