ATP Masters 1000

The ATP Masters 1000 is a series of tennis tournaments that are played each year on the ATP Tour.

After the four grand slam tournaments and the ATP Finals, the Masters 1000 tournaments are considered the next most prestigious to win as a male tennis professional.

ATP Masters 1000

List of ATP Masters 1000 Tournaments

There are a total of nine tournaments in the Masters 1000 series and these are held all across the world and on different court surfaces with grass being the only court surface not used in any of the tournaments.

TournamentLocationCourt SurfaceCurrent Champion
Indian WellsIndian Wells, CaliforniaHardcourtCarlos Alcaraz
Miami OpenMiami Gardens, FloridaHardcourtDaniil Medvedev
Monte-CarloMonacoClayAndrey Rublev
Madrid OpenMadridClayCarlos Alcaraz
Italian OpenRomeClayDaniil Medvedev
Canadian OpenMontreal / TorontoHardcourtJannik Sinner
CincinnatiMason, OhioHardcourtNovak Djokovic
ShanghaiShanghaiHardcourtDaniil Medvedev
ParisParisHardcourtHolger Rune

Record Holders

Most Masters 1000 Titles

Novak Djokovic currently holds the record for most ATP 1000 titles with 40, followed by Rafael Nadal with 36 and Roger Federer with 28.

To date, Djokovic is the only player to have achieved the “Career Golden Masters” which is winning all active ATP 1000 titles over the course of their playing career.

The big three of Djokovic, Nadal, and Federer have won a combined total of 104 ATP 1000 titles with Andy Murray (14) being the only other active player to win more than 10 ATP 1000 titles in the era of the big three.

Player NameMasters 1000s
Novak Djokovic40
Rafael Nadal36
Roger Federer28
Andre Agassi17
Andy Murray14
Pete Sampras11
Thomas Muster8
Michael Chang7
Daniil Medvedev6
Alexander Zverev5
Carlos Alcaraz4

Most titles per Masters Tournament

It is no surprise that the King of Clay Rafael Nadal leads the way with the most titles won at a single masters tournament with eleven titles to his name in Monte Carlo and ten titles at the Italian Open.

The next best is Roger Federer who won seven Cincinnati singles titles and Novak Djokovic who won seven titles in Paris.

Monte CarloRafael Nadal11
RomeRafael Nadal10
CincinnatiRoger Federer7
ParisNovak Djokovic7
MiamiAndre Agassi and Novak Djokovic6
Indian WellsRoger Federer and Novak Djokovic5
MadridRafael Nadal5
CanadaRafael Nadal5
ShanghaiNovak Djokovic4

ATP Masters 1000 Schedule 2024

Below is the schedule for the ATP 1000 tournaments that are due to be played in 2024, with first being played in Indian Wells in March and the last being played in Paris in November.

Indian WellsIndian Wells Tennis Garden6 – 17 March 2024Ticket Info
Miami OpenHard Rock Stadium20 – 31 March 2024Ticket Info
Monte-CarloMonte Carlo Country Club7 – 14 April 2024Ticket Info
Madrid OpenCaja Mágica24 April – 5 May 2024Ticket Info
Italian OpenForo Italico8 – 19 May 2024Ticket Info
Canadian OpenStade IGA (Montreal)5 – 11 August 2024Ticket Info
CincinnatiLindner Family Tennis Center12 – 18 August 2024Ticket Info
ParisAccorHotels Arena28 October – 3 November 2024Ticket Info

Please note that the above dates are subject to change so check out the relevant tournament website for the latest information.


How many Masters 1000 Tennis Tournaments are there?

There are currently a total of nine tournaments in the ATP Masters 1000 series (Indian Wells, Miami, Madrid, Monte-Carlo, Rome, Canada, Cincinnati, Shanghai, and Paris).

Who has won the most ATP 1000 titles?

Djokovic currently holds the record for titles with 40 to his name followed by Nadal with 36, and Federer with 28.