ATP Bucharest

In April 2024, the ATP Bucharest tennis tournament ( or “Romanian Open”) will be held for the first time since 2016.

The tournament was previously run from 1993 to 2016, before being replaced in 2017 by the Hungarian Open on the ATP Tour Schedule.

Flag of Romania next to the words ATP Bucharest

ATP Bucharest Open 2024

Tour Level:ATP 250
Dates:15 – 21 April 2024
Court Surface:Outdoor Clay Courts
Draw Size:28 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money€600,000


The 2024 ATP Bucharest Open tennis tournament will be held from the 15th to the 21st of April 2024, with the tournament being played in the same week as the ATP tournaments in Munich and Barcelona, and the WTA tournament in Stuttgart.


The official entry list for the 2024 tournament in Bucharest has not yet been released but below is a selection of players who are expected to participate in the 2024 tournament, with Adrian Mannarino and Francisco Cerundolo likely to be the top two seeds.

  • Adrian Mannarino
  • Alejandro Tabilo
  • Arthur Rinderknech
  • Federico Coria
  • Francisco Cerundolo
  • Gael Monfils
  • Laslo Djere
  • Lorenzo Sonego
  • Luciano Darderi
  • Mariano Navone
  • Marton Fucsovics
  • Miomir Kecmanovic
  • Nuno Borges
  • Pedro Martinez
  • Sebastian Korda
  • Stan Wawrinka
  • Tallon Griekspoor
  • Thiago Seyboth Wild


Below is the expected schedule for the 2024 Romanian Open, with the finals being played on Sunday, the 21st of April 2024.

  • 15 April 2024 – Qualifying Matches
  • 16 April 2024 – 1st Round Matches
  • 17 April 2024 – 1st Round Matches
  • 18 April 2024 – 2nd Round Matches
  • 19 April 2024 – Quarterfinal Matches
  • 20 April 2024 – Semifinal Matches
  • 21 April 2024 – Singles and Doubles Finals


The draw for the 2024 singles and doubles tournaments in Bucharest will be made the week before the start of the tournament.

Singles Qualifying Draw: TBC

Singles Main Draw: TBC

Doubles Draw: TBC

Prize Money and Points

Prize money for the 2024 ATP Bucharest Open is expected to be approximately €600,000, with the exact split having yet to be confirmed.

The below tables will be updated once the prize money for 2024 has been confirmed.

Men’s Singles

PerformanceATP Ranking Points
2nd Round20
1st Round0

Men’s Doubles

PerformanceATP Ranking Points
1st Round0

Past Winners (Men’s Singles)

The current men’s singles champion is Fernando Verdasco, who defeated Lucas Pouille 6-3, 6-2 in the 2016 final.

Other noteable past winners of the singles include Grigor Dimitrov (2014), David Ferrer (2002), and Goran Ivanišević (1993).

YearWinnerRunner UpResult
2016Fernando VerdascoLucas Pouille6–3, 6–2
2015Guillermo García-LópezJiří Veselý7–6, 7–6
2014Grigor DimitrovLukáš Rosol7–6, 6–1
2013Lukáš RosolGuillermo García-López6–3, 6–2
2012Gilles SimonFabio Fognini6–4, 6–3
2011Florian MayerPablo Andújar6–3, 6–1
2010Juan Ignacio ChelaPablo Andújar7–5, 6–1
2009Albert MontañésJuan Mónaco7–6, 7–6
2008Gilles SimonCarlos Moyá6–3, 6–4
2007Gilles SimonVictor Hănescu4–6, 6–3, 6–2
2006Jürgen MelzerFilippo Volandri6–1, 7–5
2005Florent SerraIgor Andreev6–3, 6–4
2004José AcasusoIgor Andreev6–3, 6–0
2003David SánchezNicolás Massú6–2, 6–2
2002David FerrerJosé Acasuso6–3, 6–2
2001Younes El AynaouiAlbert Montañés7–6, 7–6
2000Juan BalcellsMarkus Hantschk6–3, 3–6, 7–6
1999Alberto MartínKarim Alami6–3, 6–2
1998Francisco ClavetArnaud Di Pasquale6–4, 2–6, 7–5
1997Richard FrombergAndrea Gaudenzi6–1, 7–6
1996Alberto BerasateguiCarlos Moyá6–1, 7–6
1995Thomas MusterGilbert Schaller6–3, 6–4
1994Franco DavínGoran Ivanišević6–2, 6–4
1993Goran IvaniševićAndrei Cherkasov6–2, 7–6