WTA Guadalajara

The WTA Guadalajara (also known as the Abierto Akron Zapopan) is an outdoor hardcourt tennis tournament that takes place in Guadalajara, Mexico with the 2022 tournament being held at the Panamerican Tennis Center.

The tournament started in 2019 as a WTA 125 event but in 2021 it was upgraded to a WTA 250 tournament on the WTA Calander.

Past winners of the singles tournament in Guadalajara include Sloane Stephens, Sara Sorribes Tormo, and Veronika Kudermetova.

Abierto Akron Zapopan

2022 WTA Guadalajara

Location:Guadalajara, Mexico
Tour Level:WTA 250
Court Surface:Hardcourt
Defending Champion(s):Sloane Stephens (Singles), Kaitlyn Christian and Lidziya Marozava (Doubles)
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Total Prize Money:$239,477 (2022)


The 2022 Abierto Akron Zapopan tennis tournament took place from the 20th to the 27th of February 2022.

The tournament took place in the same week as the WTA Qatar Open in Doha, Qatar, and the ATP tournaments in Acapulco, Dubai, and Santiago.

Tickets (2023)

Tickets for the 2023 tournament are not available yet.

For more information on getting tickets for the 2023 tournament, keep an eye out on the tournament’s official website.


2021 US Open champion Emma Raducanu was the number 1 seed in the singles event and she was joined by other top WTA players like Madison Keys, Sloane Stephens, and the defending champion Sara Sorribes Tormo.

The following WTA players were included in the entry list for the 2022 Abierto Akron Zapopan.

  • Emma Raducanu
  • Sara Sorribes Tormo
  • Camila Osorio
  • Madison Keys
  • Nuria Parrizas Diaz
  • Sloane Stephens
  • Misaki Doi
  • Saisai Zheng
  • Rebecca Peterson
  • Marie Bouzkova
  • Anna Karolina Schmiedlova
  • Lauren Davis
  • Panna Udvardy
  • Xinyu Wang
  • Magdalena Frech
  • Anna Kalinskaya
  • Harmony Tan
  • Qinwen Zheng
  • Qian Wang
  • Daria Saville


Below is the tournament schedule for the singles event in the 2022 tournament in Guadalajara, with qualifying being held on the 20th/21st of February and the singles final on Sunday, the 27th of February 2022.

Sunday, 20 February 2022Qualifying
Monday, 21 February 2022Qualifying
Tuesday, 22 February 20221st Round
Wednesday, 23 February 20221st Round
Thursday, 24 February 20222nd Round
Friday, 25 February 2022Quarterfinals
Saturday, 26 February 2022Semifinals
Sunday, 27 February 2022Final


The draw for the 2022 tournament is available to view on the WTA Tennis website.

Emma Raducanu was the number 1 seed in the singles draw but was beaten by Daria Saville in the 1st round.

Prize Money and Points

How the prize money and points were split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the Women’s Singles Event in 2022 received $31,000 and 280 WTA points, with the runner up receiving $18,037 and 180 WTA points.

Prize money for the winner and runner up increased from 2021 with other amounts staying the same as they were for the 2021 tournament.

Performance$ – PayoutWTA Points
Round 2$3,67530
Round 1$2,6751

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the Women’s Doubles Event in 2022 received $10,800 ($5,400 each) and 280 ranking points, with the runners up receiving $6,800 ($3,400 each) and 180 ranking points.

Performance$ – PayoutWTA Points
Round 1$1,7501

WTA Guadalajara Past Winners and Runners Up

Women’s Singles

The current champion in the women’s singles event at the Abierto Akron Zapopan is Sloane Stephens who beat Marie Bouzkova 7-5, 1-6, 6-2 in the 2022 Singles Final.

Veronika Kudermetova won the inaugrial singles event in 2019 beating Marie Bouzkova 6–2, 6–0 in the 2019 final.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Sloane StephensMarie Bouzkova7-5, 1-6, 6-2
2021Sara Sorribes TormoEugenie Bouchard6–2, 7–5
2020N/AN/ATournament Not Held
2019Veronika KudermetovaMarie Bouzková6–2, 6–0

Women’s Doubles

Kaitlyn Christian and Lidziya Marozava are the current champions in the women’s doubles event at the Abierto Akron Zapopan after beating Xinyu Wang and Lin Zhu 7-5, 6-3 in the 2022 doubles final.

Maria Sanchez and Fanny Stollar won the inaugural women’s doubles tournament in 2019 beating Desirae Krawczyk and Giuliana Olmos 6–4, 6–4 in the final.

YearWinnersRunners UpScore in Final
2022Kaitlyn Christian and Lidziya MarozavaXinyu Wang and Lin Zhu7-5, 6-3
2021Ellen Perez and Astra SharmaDesirae Krawczyk and Giuliana Olmos6–4, 6–4
2020N/AN/ATournament Not Held
2019Maria Sanchez and Fanny StollárCornelia Lister and Renata Voráčová7–5, 6–1