Acapulco Open

The ATP Acapulco Open is an outdoor hardcourt tennis tournament on the ATP Tour that is held in Acapulco, Mexico.

The tournament is held at the Arena GNP Seguros and is an ATP 500 event that serves as a warm-up tournament ahead of the first Master’s 1000 tournament of the year in Indian Wells.

Acapulco Open

2023 Acapulco Open

Location:Acapulco, Mexico
Tour Level:ATP 500
Court Surface:Outdoor hardcourt
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$1,832,890 (2022)


The 2023 Acapulco Open tennis tournament will take place from the 27th of February to the 5th of March 2023.

The 2023 tournament will be held in the same week as the ATP tournaments in Chile, Dubai, and Waco, as well as the WTA tournaments in Monterrey and Austin.


Tickets for 2023 are now on sale through the official tournament website, with single and multi-session tickets available.


The official entry list for the 2023 tournament in Acapulco has not yet been released but the 2023 singles entry list is expected to include several top 50 ATP players including Stefanos Tsitsipas, Carlos Alcaraz, Casper Ruud, and Holger Rune.

The following top ATP players are expected to be included in the entry list for the 2023 Mexico Open.

  • Adrian Mannarino
  • Alex de Minaur
  • Alex Molcan
  • Brandon Nakashima
  • Cameron Norrie
  • Carlos Alcaraz
  • Casper Ruud
  • Denis Shapovalov
  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Holger Rune
  • J.J. Wolf
  • Jenson Brooksby
  • John Isner
  • Marcos Giron
  • Matteo Berrettini
  • Miomir Kecmanovic
  • Reilly Opelka
  • Richard Gasquet
  • Rodrigo Pacheco Mendez
  • Sebastian Korda
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas
  • Taylor Fritz
  • Tommy Paul
  • Yoshihito Nishioka


Below is the expected tournament schedule for the 2023 tournament, with the final being played on Saturday, the 4th of March 2023.

Monday, 27 February 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday, 28 February 20231st Round Matches
Wednesday, 1 March 20232nd round Matches
Thursday, 2 March 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Friday, 3 March 2023Semifinal Matches
Saturday, 4 March 2023Singles Final


The draws for the 2023 tournament in Mexico will be made in the week before the start of the tournament.

Singles Qualifying Draw: TBC

Singles Draw: TBC

Doubles Draw: TBC

Prize Money and Ranking Points

The total financial commitment (including prize money) for the tournament in 2023 has not been confirmed yet but in 2022, it was $1,832,890.

How the prize money and points were split by round for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

Men’s Singles

The winner of the Men’s Singles Event in 2022 won $314,455 and 500 points, with the runner-up winning $169,500 and 300 points.

The 2022 tournament saw big increases in prize money at all levels when compared to the 2021 tournament.

Performance2022ATP Ranking Points
Round 2$24,54045
Round 1$13,0900

Men’s Doubles

The winners of the Men’s Doubles Event in 2022 won $103,080, with the runner-ups winning $54,970.

Similar to the prize money for the singles event, there was a big increase in the doubles prize money awarded in 2022 with the losing semifinalists in 2022 receiving more than the losing finalists in 2021.

Performance2022ATP Ranking Points
Round 1$7,0300

Where can I watch the tournament?

The 2022 tournament was available to stream on Tennis TV, Tennis Channel Plus if you were based in the USA, and on Amazon Prime, if you were based in Ireland or the UK.

Mexican Open Past Winners and Runner Ups

The first Mexican open was in 1993 with Thomas Muster winning the inaugural men’s singles event.

From 1993 until 2013, the tournament was played on red clay but in 2014 the court surface was changed to an outdoor hard court.

Men’s Singles

In the 2022 men’s singles event, Daniil Medvedev was seeded number 1 with Alexander Zverev seeded number 2.

In a rematch of the 2022 Australian Open final, Daniil Medvedev lost to Rafael Nadal in the semifinals while Alexander Zverev was kicked out of the tournament following an incident in a doubles match where Zverev aggressively struck the umpire’s chair four times with his racket.

The 2022 Acapulco singles final was between Rafael Nadal and Cameron Norrie with Nadal winning in straight sets 6-4, 6-4 (see match highlights below)

By winning his fourth Mexican Open title, Nadal now shares the record for most titles in Acapulco with David Ferrer and Thomas Muster.

Below is a list of winners and runner-ups in the men’s singles at the Mexican Open from 2012 to 2022. For a full list, check out the official ATP website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Rafael NadalCameron Norrie6-4, 6-4
2021Alexander ZverevStefanos Tsitsipas6–4, 7–6
2020Rafael NadalTaylor Fritz6–3, 6–2
2019Nick KyrgiosAlexander Zverev6–3, 6–4
2018Juan Martín del PotroKevin Anderson6–4, 6–4
2017Sam QuerreyRafael Nadal6–3, 7–6
2016Dominic ThiemBernard Tomic7–6, 4–6, 6–3
2015David FerrerKei Nishikori6–3, 7–5
2014Grigor DimitrovKevin Anderson7–6, 3–6, 7–6
2013Rafael NadalDavid Ferrer6–0, 6–2
2012David FerrerFernando Verdasco6–1, 6–2

Men’s Doubles

In the 2022 Men’s Doubles event, Marcel Granollers and Horacio Zeballos were the number 1 seeds followed by Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah as the number 2 seeds.

The number 1 seeds Marcel Granollers and Horacio Zeballos were knocked out in the quarterfinals by John Isner and Hans Hach, while the number 2 seeds Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah were beaten by Feliciano Lopez and Stefanos Tsitsipas in an epic match in the quarterfinals that saw Feliciano Lopez and Stefanos Tsitsipas come back from 9-5 down in the final set tiebreaker to win.

Feliciano Lopez and Stefanos Tsitsipas went on to claim the doubles title in Acapulco after beating Jean-Julien Rojer and Marcelo Arévalo 7-6, 6-4 in the 2022 doubles final.

Donald Johnson and Łukasz Kubot currently hold the record for most doubles titles in Acapulco with three doubles titles each.

Below is a list of winners and runner-ups in the men’s doubles at the Mexican Open from 2012 to 2022. For a full list, check out the official ATP website.

YearWinnersRunner UpsScore
2022Feliciano Lopez and Stefanos TsitsipasJean-Julien Rojer and Marcelo Arévalo7-6, 6-4
2021Ken Skupski and Neal SkupskiMarcel Granollers and Horacio Zeballos7–6, 6–4
2020Łukasz Kubot and Marcelo MeloJuan Sebastián Cabal and Robert Farah7–6, 6–7, 11–9
2019Alexander Zverev and Mischa ZverevAustin Krajicek and Artem Sitak2–6, 7–6, 10–5
2018Jamie Murray and Bruno SoaresBob Bryan and Mike Bryan7–6, 7–5
2017Jamie Murray and Bruno SoaresJohn Isner and Feliciano López6–3, 6–3
2016Treat Huey and Max MirnyiPhilipp Petzschner and Alexander Peya7–6, 6–3
2015Ivan Dodig and Marcelo MeloMariusz Fyrstenberg and Santiago González7–6, 5–7, 10–3
2014Kevin Anderson and Matthew EbdenFeliciano López and Max Mirnyi6–3, 6–3
2013Łukasz Kubot and David MarreroSimone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini7–5, 6–2
2012David Marrero and Fernando VerdascoMarcel Granollers and Marc López6–3, 6–4