Silicon Valley Classic

The WTA San Jose (Silicon Valley Classic) is a WTA 500 tennis tournament that is played on outdoor hard courts in California, United States.

The tournament is part of the US Open Series of tournaments that lead up to the US Open in New York.

The tournament was previously known as the Stanford Classic (1997–2017) but in 2018 the event moved to the campus at San Jose State University and was renamed the Silicon Valley Classic.

WTA San Jose (Silicon Valley Classic)

2023 WTA San Jose (Silicon Valley Classic)

Tour Level:WTA 500
Tournament Sponsor:Mubadala Investment Company
Court Surface:Outdoor Hard Courts
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$757,900 (2022)


The 2023 WTA San Jose open tennis tournament will take place from the 31st of July to the 6th of August 2023.

The 2023 tournament will be played in the same week as the tournaments in Washington, Prague, Los Cabos, and Kitzbühel.


Tickets for the 2023 Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic in San Jose are not on sale yet but single-session, weeklong, and weekend tickets for the 2022 tournament were sold through the tournament’s official website.


The player entry list for the 2023 tournament in San Jose has not yet been released by tournament organizers but below is a selection of the top WTA players that were included in the entry list for the WTA 500 tennis tournament in 2022:

  • Maria Sakkari
  • Paula Badosa
  • Ons Jabeur
  • Aryna Sabalenka
  • Caroline Dolehide
  • Coco Gauff
  • Daria Kasatkina
  • Karolina Pliskova
  • Veronika Kudermetova
  • Amanda Anisimova
  • Elena Rybakina
  • Beatriz Haddad Maia
  • Madison Keys
  • Ekaterina Alexandrova
  • Camila Giorgi
  • Alison Riske-Amritraj
  • Zheng Qinwen
  • Naomi Osaka
  • Shelby Rogers
  • Anhelina Kalinina
  • Bianca Andreescu


Below is the expected schedule for the 2023 tournament in San Jose with the 1st round matches being played on the 31st of July and the 1st of August and the singles final being played on the 6th of August 2023.

Monday – Day 131st of July 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday – Day 21st of August 20231st Round Matches
Wednesday – Day 32nd of August 20232nd Round Matches
Thursday – Day 43rd of August 20232nd Round Matches
Friday – Day 54th of August 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday – Day 65th of August 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday – Day 76th of August 2023Final


The draw for the 2023 qualifying, singles, and doubles tournaments in San Jose will be made available to view on the WTA Tour website a few days before the start of the tournament.

Singles (Qualifying) Draw: TBC

Singles (Main) Draw: TBC

Doubles (Main) Draw: TBC

For the 2022 women’s singles event, Maria Sakkari was the number 1 seed, while in the doubles Veronika Kudermetova and Zhang Shuai were the number 1 seeds.

Prize Money and Points

The total financial commitment including prize money for the 2023 San Jose Tennis tournament has yet to be confirmed but in 2022 it was $757,900.

How the prize money was split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the Women’s Singles tournament in 2022 won $116,340 (2021: $68,570) and 470 ranking points, with the runner-up winning $71,960 and 305 ranking points.

Players losing in the 1st round of the tournament received $8,110 and 1 WTA Ranking Point.

Performance$WTA Points
2nd Round$11,26055
1st Round$8,1101

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the Women’s Doubles tournament in 2022 won $39,000 ($19,500 each) and 470 WTA points, with the runner-ups winning $23,700 ($11,850 each) and 305 WTA points.

Teams losing in the 1st round received $4,200 ($2,100 each) and 1 WTA Ranking Point.

Performance$WTA Points
1st Round$4,2001

WTA San Jose Past Winners and Runner Ups

Women’s Singles

The current champion in the women’s singles event is Daria Kasatkina who beat Shelby Rogers 6-7, 6-1, 6-2 in the 2022 singles final.

Martina Navratilova currently holds the record for most singles titles with five titles to her name (1979, 1980, 1988, 1991, and 1993).

The below list of singles winners and runner-ups goes back to 2016, with a full list available on the official WTA Tour website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Daria KasatkinaShelby Rogers6-7, 6-1, 6-2
2021Danielle CollinsDaria Kasatkina6–3, 6–7, 6–1
2019Zheng SaisaiAryna Sabalenka6–3, 7–6
2018Mihaela BuzărnescuMaria Sakkari6–1, 6–0
2017Madison KeysCoco Vandeweghe7–6, 6–4
2016Johanna KontaVenus Williams7–5, 5–7, 6–2

Women’s Doubles

Xu Yifan and Yang Zhaoxuan are the current champions in the Women’s doubles event after beating Chan Hao-ching and Shuko Aoyama 7–5, 6-0 in the doubles final in 2022.

Lindsay Davenport and Rosemary Casals jointly hold the record for most doubles titles with five titles each.

The below list of doubles winners and runner-ups goes back to 2016, with a full list available on the official WTA Tour website.

YearWinnersRunner UpsScore in Final
2022Xu Yifan and Yang ZhaoxuanChan Hao-ching and Shuko Aoyama7–5, 6-0
2021Darija Jurak and Andreja KlepačGabriela Dabrowski and Luisa Stefani6–1, 7–5
2020N/AN/ATournament not Held
2019Nicole Melichar and Květa PeschkeShuko Aoyama and Ena Shibahara6–4, 6–4
2018Latisha Chan and Květa PeschkeLyudmyla Kichenok and Nadiia Kichenok6–4, 6–1
2017Abigail Spears and Coco VandewegheAlizé Cornet and Alicja Rosolska6–2, 6–3
2016Raquel Atawo and Abigail SpearsDarija Jurak and Anastasia Rodionova6–3, 6–4