ATP Hong Kong Open

The ATP Hong Kong Open tennis tournament is an ATP 250 hard court tournament that will be played at the tennis complex in Victoria Park.

The men’s tennis tournament was first played in 1973, with the great Rod Laver winning the inaugural men’s singles and doubles events (with Colin Dibley).

No men’s tournament has been held since 2002, but in June 2023, the ATP announced that an ATP 250 tournament would be held in Hong Kong in January 2024.

ATP Hong Kong Open

Hong Kong Tennis Open 2024

Tour Level:ATP 250
Court Surface:Outdoor Hard Court
Draw Size:28 Singles, 16 Doubles
Total Prize Money:TBD


The 2024 Hong Kong Open tennis tournament will take place from the 1st to the 7th of January 2024, with the tournament being played in the same week at the tournament in Maharashtra and the United Cup in Australia.


The official entry list for 2024 has not yet been released but below is a selection of players that played in the singles event back in 2002.

  • Marat Safin
  • Juan Carlos Ferrero
  • Carlos Moya
  • Alex Corretja
  • Juan Ignacio Chela
  • Nicolás Lapentti
  • Paradorn Srichaphan


Below is the expected tournament schedule for the 2024 tournament in Hong Kong, with the singles final being played on Sunday, the 7th of January 2024.

Monday, 1 January 20241st Round Matches
Tuesday, 2 January 20241st Round Matches
Wednesday, 3 January 20242nd Round Matches
Thursday, 4 January 20242nd Round Matches
Friday, 5 January 2024Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday, 6 January 2024Semifinal Matches
Sunday, 7 January 2024Final


The draws for the 2024 tournament in Hong Kong will be available to view on the ATP Tour website closer to the start of the tournament.

Men’s Singles Qualifying Draw: TBD

Men’s Singles Main Draw: TBD

Men’s Doubles Draw: TBD

Points and Prize Money

The total prize money for the 2024 Hong Kong Tennis tournament has yet to be confirmed but it is likely to be between €500,000 and €1,000,000.

The below tables will be updated once the prize money for 2024 has been confirmed.

Men’s Singles

PerformanceATP Points
Round 220
Round 10

Men’s Doubles (Per Team)

PerformanceATP Points
Round 10

Past Winners and Runner Ups

Past champions of the singles event in Hong Kong include Ivan Lendl (1980), Andre Agassi (1999), and Pete Sampras (1996).

Michael Chang currently holds the record for most singles titles with three to his name (1994, 1995, and 1997).

Men’s Singles

The most recent champion in the men’s singles event was Juan Carlos Ferrero who defeated Carlos Moya 6–3, 1–6, 7–6 in the 2002 singles final.

YearWinnerRunner-upScore in final
2002Juan Carlos FerreroCarlos Moya6–3, 1–6, 7–6
2001Marcelo RíosRainer Schüttler7–6, 6–2
2000Nicolas KieferMark Philippoussis7–6, 2–6, 6–2
1999Andre AgassiBoris Becker6–7, 6–4, 6–4
1998Kenneth CarlsenByron Black6–2, 6–0
1997Michael ChangPat Rafter6–3, 6–3
1996Pete SamprasMichael Chang6–4, 3–6, 6–4
1995Michael ChangJonas Bjorkman6–3, 6–1
1994Michael ChangPat Rafter6–1, 6–3
1993Pete SamprasJim Courier6–3, 6–7, 7–6
1992Jim CourierMichael Chang7–5, 6–3
1991Richard KrajicekWally Masur6–2, 3–6, 6–3
1990Pat CashAlex Antonitsch6–3, 6–4
1987Eliot TeltscherJohn Fitzgerald6–7, 3–6, 6–1, 6–2, 7–5
1986Ramesh KrishnanAndrés Gómez7–6, 6–0, 7–5
1985Andres GomezAaron Krickstein6–3, 6–3, 3–6, 6–4
1984Andres GomezTomas Smíd6–3, 6–2
1983Wally MasurSammy Giammalva Jr.6–1, 6–1
1982Pat DuPreMorris Skip Strode6–3, 6–3
1981Van WinitskyMark Edmondson6–4, 6–7, 6–4
1980Ivan LendlBrian Teacher5–7, 7–6, 6–3
1979Jimmy ConnorsPat DuPré7–5, 6–3, 6–1
1978Eliot TeltscherPat DuPré6–4, 6–3, 6–2
1977Ken RosewallTom Gorman6–3, 5–7, 6–4, 6–4
1976Ken RosewallIlie Nastase1–6, 6–4, 7–6, 6–0
1975Tom GormanSandy Mayer6–3, 6–1, 6–1
1973Rod LaverCharlie Pasarell6–3, 3–6, 6–2, 6–2

Men’s Doubles

Jan-Michael Gambill and Graydon Oliver were the most recent champions in the doubles event after defeating Wayne Arthurs and Andrew Kratzmann in the final of the 2002 doubles event 6–7, 6–4, 7–6.

The full list of winners and runner-ups in the men’s doubles is available to view on the ATP Tour website.