Maharashtra Open

The Tata Maharashtra Open (ATP Pune) is a hard court tennis tournament that is held annually in Pune, India.

The tournament is at the ATP 250 level on the ATP Tour that attracts some of the top ATP players from around the world with some big names listed as previous winners including Pat Rafter, Carlos Moya, and Stan Wawrinka.

Maharashtra Open

2024 Tata Maharashtra Open

Location:Pune, India
Tour Level:ATP 250
Court Surface:Hard Court
Draw Size:28 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$713,495 (2023)
Sponsor:Tata Motors


The 2024 Tata Maharashtra Open (ATP Pune) will take place from the 1st to the 7th of January 2024.

In 2024, the tournament will be held in the same week as the United Cup, the ASB Classic (WTA), the Canberra International, and the first week of the Adelaide International.


The entry list for the 2024 Maharashtra Open has not yet been released, but below is a list of players who participated in the 2023 men’s singles event in Pune, India.

  1. Alex Molcan
  2. Aslan Karatsev
  3. Benjamin Bonzi
  4. Bernabe Zapata Miralles
  5. Botic van de Zandschulp
  6. Chun-Hsin Tseng
  7. Elias Ymer
  8. Emil Ruusuvuori
  9. Filip Krajinovic
  10. Flavio Cobolli
  11. Jaume Munar
  12. Pablo Andujar
  13. Laslo Djere
  14. Manas Manoj Dhamne
  15. Marco Cecchinato
  16. Marin Cilic
  17. Maximilian Marterer
  18. Michael Mmoh
  19. Mukund Sasikumar
  20. Nikoloz Basilashvili
  21. Pedro Martinez
  22. Radu Albot
  23. Ramkumar Ramanathan
  24. Roberto Carballes Baena
  25. Sebastian Baez
  26. Sumit Nagal
  27. Tallon Griekspoor
  28. Tim van Rijthoven


Below is the expected schedule for the 2024 tournament in Pune, with the singles and doubles finals being played on Sunday, the 7th of January 2024.

Monday, 1 January 2024Qualifying
Tuesday, 2 January 2024Round of 32
Wednesday, 3 January 2024Round of 32
Thursday, 4 January 2024Round of 16
Friday, 5 January 2024Quarterfinal matches
Saturday, 6 January 2024Semifinal matches
Sunday, 7 January 2024Doubles and Singles Finals


The Draw for the 2024 singles and doubles tournament in Pune will be available to view on the ATP Tour website closer to the start of the tournament.

Singles Qualifying Draw: TBC

Singles Draw: TBC

Doubles Draw: TBC

NB: The below information is related to the 2023 draws.

2023 Men’s Singles Draw

Marin Cilic was the number 1 seed in the singles event and was seeded to meet Botic van de Zandschulp in the final.

However, Cilic was forced to pull out of the tournament due to a knee injury before his semifinal match with Tallon Griekspoor.

Griekspoor would end up winning the title after he beat Aslan Karatsev 7-6, 6-1 in the 2023 singles final.

2023 Men’s Doubles Draw

In the Doubles event, Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury were seeded number 1 and were seeded to meet Nathaniel Lammons and Jackson Withrow in the men’s doubles final.

However, Lammons and Withrow lost in the quarterfinals, while Ram and Salisbury lost in the semifinals.

The 2023 men’s doubles final was between N.Sriram Balaji/Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan and Sander Gille/Joran Vliegen, with Gille and Vliegen winning 6-4, 6-4.

Prize Money

The total financial commitment (including prize money) for the 2024 ATP Pune tournament has yet to be confirmed but in 2023 it was $713,495.

How the prize money was split by round for the singles and doubles events in 2023 is detailed below.

Men’s Singles

The winner of the ATP 250 Singles Event in 2023 received $97,760, with the runner-up receiving $57,025.

As you can see in the table below, the Singles Prize Money for the 2023 tournament has increased from the prize money awarded for the tournament held in 2022.

The main reason for the big difference in prize money is the fact that spectators were not allowed to attend the tournament in 2022 so it is likely that this loss of revenue impacted the prize money that was awarded to the players that year.

Round of 16$11,280$9,235
Round of 32$6,895$5,035

Men’s Doubles (Per Team)

The winners of the 2023 ATP 250 Doubles Event received $33,960 ($16,980 each), with the runner-ups receiving $18,170 ($9,085 each).

Similar to the prize money for the singles event, the prize money for the 2023 doubles event has increased from the levels paid out for the 2022 tournament.

Round 16$3,510$2,940

Past Winners and Runner Ups

Men’s Singles

Tallon Griekspoor is the current ATP Pune Champion after beating Benjamin Bonzi 4-6, 7-5, 6-3 in the 2023 singles final.

Below is a list of past winners of the singles tournament going back to 2011. For a full list, check out the official ATP website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2023Tallon GriekspoorBenjamin Bonzi4-6, 7-5, 6-3
2022Joao SousaEmil Ruusuvuori7-6, 4-6, 6-1
2021N/AN/ATournament not Held
2020Jiri VeselyEgor Gerasimov7-6, 5-7, 6-3
2019Kevin AndersonIvo Karlovic7-6, 6-7, 7-6
2018Gilles SimonKevin Anderson7-6, 6-2
2017Roberto Bautista AgutDaniil Medvedev6-3, 6-4
2016Stan WawrinkaBorna Coric6-3, 7-5
2015Stan WawrinkaAljaz Bedene6-3, 6-4
2014Stan WawrinkaEdouard Roger-Vasselin7-5, 6-2
2013Janko TipsarevicRoberto Bautista Agut3-6, 6-1, 6-3
2012Milos RaonicJanko Tipsarevic6-7, 7-6, 7-6
2011Stan WawrinkaXavier Malisse7-5, 4-6, 6-1

Men’s Doubles

Sander Gille and Joran Vliegen are the current champions in the doubles event after beating Luke Saville and John Patrick Smith 6-7, 6-3, 10-6 in the final of the 2022 doubles event.

Below is a list of past winners of the doubles tournament going back to 2011. For a full list, check out the official ATP website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2023Sander Gille and Joran VliegenN.Sriram Balaji and Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan6-4, 6-4
2022Rohan Bopanna and Ramkumar RamanathanLuke Saville and John Patrick Smith6-7, 6-3, 10-6
2021N/AN/ATournament not Held
2020Andre Goransson and Christopher RungkatJonathan Erlich and Andrei Vasilevski6-2, 3-6, 10-8
2019Rohan Bopanna and Divij SharanLuke Bambridge and Jonny O’Mara6-3, 6-4
2018Robin Haase and Matwe MiddelkoopPierre-Hugues Herbert and Gilles Simon7-6, 7-6
2017Rohan Bopanna and Jeevan NedunchezhiyanPurav Raja and Divij Sharan6-3, 6-4
2016Oliver Marach and Fabrice MartinAustin Krajicek and Benoit Paire6-3, 7-5
2015Yen-Hsun Lu and Jonathan MarrayRaven Klaasen and Leander Paes6-3, 7-6
2014Johan Brunstrom and Frederik NielsenMarin Draganja and Mate Pavic6-2, 4-6, 10-7
2013Benoit Paire and Stan WawrinkaAndre Begemann and Martin Emmrich6-2, 6-1
2012Leander Paes and Janko TipsarevicJonathan Erlich and Andy Ram6-4, 6-4
2011Mahesh Bhupathi and Leander PaesRobin Haase and David Martin6-2, 6-7, 10-5