Lleyton Hewitt Grand Slam Record

Lleyton Hewitt has competed in four Grand Slam singles finals including the 2001 US Open, 2002 Wimbledon, 2004 US Open, and the 2005 Australian Open.

Find out more about Lleyton Hewitt’s grand slam finals record below!

Lleyton Hewitt Grand Slam Record

Lleyton Hewitt Grand Slam Titles and Finals (Singles)

YearGrand SlamWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2005Australian OpenMarat SafinLleyton Hewit6–1, 3–6, 4–6, 4–6
2004US OpenRoger FedererLleyton Hewit0–6, 6–7, 0–6
2002WimbledonLleyton HewitDavid Nalbandian6–1, 6–3, 6–2
2001US OpenLleyton HewitPete Sampras7–6, 6–1, 6–1

Lleyton Hewitt’s first grand slam final was at the 2001 US Open where he beat Pete Sampras 7–6, 6–1, 6–1 to win his first grand slam title.

The following year, he won the Wimbledon Championships by beating David Nalbandian 6–1, 6–3, 6–2 in the final.

Hewitt would appear in two more grand slam finals but he would finish runner up in both, losing to Roger Federer in the 2004 US Open Final and Marit Safin in the 2005 Australian Open final.

Lleyton Hewitt Grand Slam Record (Singles)

YearAustralian OpenFrench OpenWimbledonUS Open
20162nd RoundDid Not CompeteDid Not CompeteDid Not Compete
20152nd RoundDid Not Compete1st Round2nd Round
20141st Round1st Round2nd Round1st Round
20131st Round1st Round2nd Round4th Round
20124th Round1st Round1st Round3rd Round
20111st RoundDid Not Compete2nd RoundDid Not Compete
20104th Round3rd Round4th Round1st Round
20091st Round3rd RoundQuarterfinals3rd Round
20084th Round3rd Round4th RoundDid Not Compete
20073rd Round4th Round4th Round2nd Round
20062nd Round4th RoundQuarterfinalsQuarterfinals
2005FinalDid Not CompeteSemifinalsSemifinals
20044th RoundQuarterfinalsQuarterfinalsFinal
20034th Round3rd Round1st RoundQuarterfinals
20021st Round4th RoundChampionSemifinals
20013rd RoundQuarterfinals4th RoundChampion
20004th Round4th Round1st RoundSemifinals
19992nd Round1st Round3rd Round3rd Round
19981st RoundQualifying R1Qualifying R1Qualifying R2
19971st RoundDid Not CompeteDid Not CompeteDid Not Compete

Lleyton Hewitt’s first grand slam tournament was at the 1997 Australian Open where he lost to Sergi Bruguera in the 1st round.

By qualifying for the tournament at the age of 15 years and 11 months old, he became the youngest qualifier ever at the Australian Open (a record he still holds).

He first made the quarterfinals of a grand slam event at the 2001 French Open and this was followed quickly by his first grand slam title at the 2001 US Open.

Hewitt’s best performances at the grand slams came between 2001 and 2006 when he claimed his two grand slam titles (2001 US Open and 2002 Wimbledon) and overall, Lleyton Hewitt won a total of 148 matches in Grand Slam tournaments.

His last grand slam tournament was at the 2016 Australian Open where he lost to David Ferrer in the second round.

Lleyton Hewitt Grand Slam Record (Men’s and Mixed Doubles)

Although during his prime Lleyton Hewitt was more focused on his singles career, he still achieved some success in Men’s and Mixed Doubles at Grand Slam tournaments.

At the 2000 US Open, Lleyton Hewitt and his partner, Max Mirnyi claimed the Men’s doubles title beating Ellis Ferreira and Rick Leach 6–4, 5–7, 7–6 in the final.

And at the 2000 Wimbledon Championships, Lleyton Hewitt and Kim Clijsters lost to Donald Johnson and Kimberly Po in the final 4-6, 6-7.