WTA Montevideo Open

The WTA Montevideo Open is an annual tennis tournament on the women’s professional tour that is played on outdoor clay courts in Montevideo, Uruguay.

The first WTA 125 tournament in Montevideo was played in 2021, with Diane Parry winning the singles and Irina Bara and Ekaterine Gorgodze winning the doubles.

WTA Montevideo Open

WTA Montevideo 2023

Tour Level:WTA 125
Court Surface:Outdoor Clay Courts
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$115,000


The 2023 Montevideo Open tennis tournament will be held from the 4th to the 10th of December 2023, with the 2023 tournament being played in the same week as the WTA 125 tournament in Angers, France, and the MGM Macau Tennis Masters exhibition tournament.


The entry list for the 2023 Montevideo tennis tournament has now been released and below is a selection of players who will participate in the 2023 singles competition.

  • Diane Parry
  • Julia Riera
  • María Lourdes Carlé
  • Martina Capurro Taborda
  • Miriam Bulgaru
  • Polona Hercog
  • Renata Zarazúa
  • Solana Sierra
  • Valentini Grammatikopoulou


Below is the expected schedule for the 2023 tournament in Montevideo, with the finals being played on Sunday, the 10th of November 2023.

Monday – Day 14 December 20231st Round
Tuesday – Day 25 December 20231st Round
Wednesday – Day 36 December 20232nd Round
Thursday – Day 47 December 20232nd Round
Friday – Day 58 December 2023Quarterfinals
Saturday – Day 69 December 2023Semifinals
Sunday – Day 710 December 2023Final


The draws for the 2023 singles and doubles tournaments in Montevideo are available to view on the WTA Tour website (see links below).

Women’s Singles Qualifying Draw: View

Women’s Singles Main Draw: View

Women’s Doubles Draw: View

The draw size for the 2023 women’s singles tournament will be 32, while the draw size for the 2023 women’s doubles tournament will be 16.

Prize Money and Points

The 2023 WTA Montevideo tennis tournament will have a total financial commitment of $115,000, with most of the amount being distributed as prize money to players.

How the prize money and points are to be split for the 2023 tournament is detailed below.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the 2023 women’s singles tournament will receive prize money totaling $15,000 and 160 ranking points, while the runner-up will receive $8,000 and 95 ranking points.

Players that lose in the first round of singles, will win $1,250 and 1 ranking point for their efforts.

Performance$ – Payout Point(s)
2nd Round$2,00015
1st Round$1,2501

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the 2023 women’s doubles tournament will receive $5,000 ($2,500 each) and 160 points, while the runners-up will receive $2,500 ($1,250 each) and 95 points.

Women’s doubles teams losing in the 1st round will win $1,000 ($500 each) and 1 point.

Performance$ – PayoutPoint(s)
1st Round$1,0001

Past Champions, Runners Up, and Results

Women’s Singles

The winner of the 2022 singles tournament was Diana Shnaider who defeated Leolia Jeanjean 6–4, 6–4 in the 2022 singles final.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2022Diana ShnaiderLeolia Jeanjean6-4, 6-4
2021Diane ParryPanna Udvardy6–3, 6–2

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the 2022 doubles tournament were Luisa Stefani and Ingrid Gamarra Martins who beat Quinn Gleason and Elixane Lechemia 7-5, 6-7, 10-6 in the 2022 doubles final.

YearWinnersRunners UpScore
2022Luisa Stefani and Ingrid Gamarra MartinsQuinn Gleason and Elixane Lechemia7-5, 6-7, 10-6
2021Irina Bara and Ekaterine GorgodzeCarolina Alves and Marina Bassols Ribera6–4, 6–3