St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy

The St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy is an indoor hardcourt tennis tournament that was held annually in Saint Petersburg, Russia, and was until 2022 a WTA 500 event on the WTA Tour.

St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy

WTA St. Petersburg 2022

Location:Saint Petersburg, Russia
Tour Level:WTA 500
Court Surface:Indoor Hardcourt
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Total Prize Money:$703,580 (2022)


The 2022 St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy tennis tournament took place from the 7th to the 13th of February 2022 and was held in the same week as the tournaments in Rotterdam, Dallas, and Buenos Aires.


Tickets for the 2022 tournament in St. Petersburg were sold through the tournament’s official website.


The following top WTA players played in the WTA 500 event in Saint Petersburg in 2022, with the draw for the 2022 tournament including Anett Kontaveit, Maria Sakkari, and other top 25 WTA players like Belinda Bencic and Elena Rybakina.

  • Anett Kontaveit
  • Maria Sakkari
  • Elena Rybakina
  • Belinda Bencic
  • Petra Kvitova
  • Elise Mertens
  • Jelena Ostapenko
  • Veronika Kudermetova
  • Camila Giorgi
  • Jil Teichmann
  • Sorana Cirstea
  • Marketa Vondrousova
  • Ekaterina Alexandrova
  • Tereza Martincova
  • Magda Linette
  • Alison Van Uytvanck
  • Petra Martic


Below is the schedule for the 2022 tournament with the singles and doubles finals being played on Sunday, the 13th of February 2022.

Monday, 7 February 20221st Round
Tuesday, 8 February 20221st Round
Wednesday, 9 February 20222nd Round
Thursday, 10 February 20222nd Round
Friday, 11 February 2022Quarterfinals
Saturday, 12 February 2022Semifinals
Sunday, 13 February 2022Doubles and Singles Finals


The draw for the 2022 tournament has been released and is available on the WTA Tennis website.

Maria Sakkari was seeded number 1 in the singles event with Anett Kontaveit seeded number 2.

In the doubles event, Veronika Kudermetova and Elise Mertens were the number 1 seeds with Lyudmyla Kichenok and Jelena Ostapenko seeded number 2.

The number 1 and 2 seeds in the singles event made it to the final with Anett Kontaveit beating Maria Sakkari in a very close final 5-7, 7-6, 7-5.

In the doubles, the number 1 seeds Veronika Kudermetova and Elise Mertens withdrew from the tournament due to injury and were replaced by Ekaterina Alexandrova and Yana Sizikova.

The number 2 seeds Lyudmyla Kichenok and Jelena Ostapenko lost in the 1st round to Sorana Cirstea and Raluca Olaru.

The women’s doubles final was between Alicja Rosolska/Erin Routliffe and Anna Kalinskaya/Catherine McNally with Anna Kalinskaya and Catherine McNally winning 6-3, 6-7, 10-4.

Draws for the tournament in previous years are also available from the official tournament website.

Prize Money

The total prize money for the 2022 tournament was $703,580, which is an increase of approximately $138,000 from the 2021 Tournament.

How the prize money is to be split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

Women’s Singles

The winner of the WTA 500 Singles Event in St. Petersburg in 2022 received $108,000, with the runner up receiving $66,800.

Except for the prize money for 1st round losers, the prize money for the 2022 tournament saw a big increase from the amounts awarded at the 2021 tournament.

2nd Round$9,500$8,200
1st Round$ 6,200$6,650

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the WTA 500 Doubles Event in 2022 received $36,200, with the runners up receiving $22,000.

Round 1$3,900$3,500

WTA St. Petersburg Past Winners and Runners Up

Women’s Singles

The current singles champion is Anett Kontaveit who beat Maria Sakkari 5-7, 7-6, 7-5 in the singles final of the 2022 tournament.

Previous champions of the singles event include two time grand slam champion Petra Kvitova and former number 1 doubles player Roberta Vinci.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2022Anett KontaveitMaria Sakkari5-7, 7-6, 7-5
2021Daria KasatkinaMargarita Gasparyan6–3, 2–1 (Retired)
2020Kiki BertensElena Rybakina6–1, 6–3
2019Kiki BertensDonna Vekic7–6, 6–4
2018Petra KvitovaKristina Mladenovic6–1, 6–2
2017Kristina MladenovicYulia Putintseva6–2, 6–7, 6–4
2016Roberta VinciBelinda Bencic6–4, 6–3

Women’s Doubles

Anna Kalinskaya and Catherine McNally are the current champions in the doubles event after beating Alicja Rosolska and Erin Routliffe 6-3, 6-7, 10-4 in the doubles final in 2022.

YearWinnersRunners UpScore
2022Anna Kalinskaya and Catherine McNallyAlicja Rosolska and Erin Routliffe6-3, 6-7, 10-4
2021Nadiia Kichenok and Raluca OlaruKaitlyn Christian and Sabrina Santamaria2–6, 6–3, 10–8
2020Japan Shuko Aoyama and Ena ShibaharaKaitlyn Christian and Alexa Guarachi4–6, 6–0, 10–3
2019Margarita Gasparyan and Ekaterina MakarovaAnna Kalinskaya and Viktória Kužmová7–5, 7–5
2018Timea Bacsinszky and Vera ZvonarevaAlla Kudryavtseva and Katarina Srebotnik2–6, 6–1, 10–3
2017Jeļena Ostapenko and Alicja RosolskaDarija Jurak and Xenia Knoll3–6, 6–2, 10–5
2016Martina Hingis and Sania MirzaVera Dushevina and Barbora Krejcikova6–3, 6–1