US Open Tennis Women’s Singles Winners (Open Era)

Below is a list of US Open Tennis Women’s Singles Winners from 1968 to 2022 (the Open Era).

Since 1968, there have been a total of 55 US Open Women’s Singles Finals played at Flushing Meadows with 27 different players lifting the singles title in New York in that time.

The current defending US Open Women’s singles champion is Iga Swiatek who beat Ons Jabeur in the 2022 Singles Final.

US Open Tennis Women's Singles Winners (Open Era)

US Open Tennis Women’s Singles Winners and Runner Ups (Open Era)

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2022Iga SwiatekOns Jabeur6-2, 7-6
2021Emma RaducanuLeylah Fernandez6–4, 6–3
2020Naomi OsakaVictoria Azarenka1–6, 6–3, 6–3
2019Bianca AndreescuS.Williams6–3, 7–5
2018Naomi OsakaS.Williams6–2, 6–4
2017Sloane StephensMadison Keys6–3, 6–0
2016Angelique KerberKarolína Plíšková6–3, 4–6, 6–4
2015Flavia PennettaRoberta Vinci7–6, 6–2
2014Serena WilliamsCaroline Wozniacki6–3, 6–3
2013Serena WilliamsVictoria Azarenka7–5, 6–7, 6–1
2012Serena WilliamsVictoria Azarenka6–2, 2–6, 7–5
2011Samantha StosurS.Williams6–2, 6–3
2010Kim ClijstersVera Zvonareva6–2, 6–1
2009Kim ClijstersCaroline Wozniacki7–5, 6–3
2008Serena WilliamsJelena Janković6–4, 7–5
2007Justine HeninSvetlana Kuznetsova6–1, 6–3
2006Maria SharapovaJustine Henin6–4, 6–4
2005Kim ClijstersMary Pierce6–3, 6–1
2004Svetlana KuznetsovaElena Dementieva6–3, 7–5
2003Justine HeninKim Clijsters7–5, 6–1
2002Serena WilliamsVenus Williams6–4, 6–3
2001Venus WilliamsS.Williams6–2, 6–4
2000Venus WilliamsLindsay Davenport6–4, 7–5
1999Serena WilliamsMartina Hingis6–3, 7–6
1998Lindsay DavenportMartina Hingis6–3, 7–5
1997Martina HingisVenus Williams6–0, 6–4
1996Steffi GrafMonica Seles7–5, 6–4
1995Steffi GrafMonica Seles7–6, 0–6, 6–3
1994Arantxa Sánchez VicarioSteffi Graf1–6, 7–6, 6–4
1993Steffi GrafHelena Suková6–3, 6–3
1992Monica SelesArantxa Sánchez Vicario6–3, 6–3
1991Monica SelesMartina Navratilova7–6, 6–1
1990Gabriela SabatiniSteffi Graf6–2, 7–6
1989Steffi GrafMartina Navratilova3–6, 7–5, 6–1
1988Steffi GrafGabriela Sabatini6–3, 3–6, 6–1
1987Martina NavratilovaSteffi Graf7–6, 6–1
1986Martina NavratilovaHelena Suková6–3, 6–2
1985Hana MandlíkováMartina Navratilova7–6, 1–6, 7–6
1984Martina NavratilovaC.Evert4–6, 6–4, 6–4
1983Martina NavratilovaC.Evert6–1, 6–3
1982Chris EvertHana Mandlíková6–3, 6–1
1981Tracy AustinMartina Navratilova1–6, 7–6, 7–6
1980Chris EvertHana Mandlíková5–7, 6–1, 6–1
1979Tracy AustinC.Evert6–4, 6–3
1978Chris EvertPam Shriver7–5, 6–4
1977Chris EvertWendy Turnbull7–6, 6–2
1976Chris EvertEvonne Goolagong6–3, 6–0
1975Chris EvertEvonne Goolagong5–7, 6–4, 6–2
1974Billie Jean King (or “BJK”)Evonne Goolagong3–6, 6–3, 7–5
1973Margaret CourtEvonne Goolagong7–6, 5–7, 6–2
1972BJKKerry Melville6–3, 7–5
1971BJKRosemary Casals6–4, 7–6
1970Margaret CourtRosemary Casals6–2, 2–6, 6–1
1969Margaret CourtNancy Richey6–2, 6–2
1968Virginia WadeBJK6–4, 6–2

Most US Open Women’s Singles Titles (Open Era)

Chris Evert and Serena Williams currently jointly hold the record for most Singles titles in the open era with six titles each.

WTA PlayerSingles Titles
Chris Evert6
Serena Williams6
Steffi Graf5
Martina Navratilova4
Billie Jean King3
Kim Clijsters3
Margaret Court3
Justine Henin2
Monica Seles2
Tracy Austin2
Venus Williams2
Naomi Osaka2
Angelique Kerber1
Arantxa Sánchez Vicario1
Bianca Andreescu1
Emma Raducanu1
Flavia Pennetta1
Gabriela Sabatini1
Hana Mandlíková1
Lindsay Davenport1
Maria Sharapova1
Martina Hingis1
Samantha Stosur1
Sloane Stephens1
Svetlana Kuznetsova1
Virginia Wade1
Iga Swiatek1


What players have won the US Open Women’s singles at least twice in the Open Era?

A total of 10 players have won the Women’s singles title in New York at least twice in the Open Era and they include Steffi Graf, Martina Navratilova, Billie Jean King, Kim Clijsters, Margaret Court, Justine Henin, Monica Seles, Tracy Austin, Venus Williams, and Naomi Osaka.

Who has won the Women’s Singles Title at the US Open six times?

Chris Evert and Serena Williams have both won the Singles Title in New York six times.

Who was the youngest female winner of the US Open Singles?

Tracey Austin holds the record for the youngest player to win the US Open Singles Title when she won in 1979 at the age of 16 years, 8 months, and 28 days.

How old was Emma Raducanu when she won the 2021 US Open Singles Title?

Emma Raducanu was 18 years old when she won the singles title in 2021.

Who has won the Women’s Singles Title without dropping a single set?

To date, only two female players have won the Singles Title in New York without dropping a single set and they are Serena Williams in 2014 and Emma Raducanu in 2021.