US Men’s Clay Court Championships

The US Men’s Clay Court Championships is an outdoor clay court tennis tournament on the Men’s Tour that is held in Houston, Texas.

The tournament is an ATP 250 event and is currently sponsored by Fayez Sarofim & Co.

US Men's Clay Court Championships

2023 US Men’s Clay Court Championships

Location:Houston, Texas
Tour Level:ATP 250
Court Surface:Outdoor Clay Court
Draw Size:28 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$665,330 (2022)


The 2023 US Men’s Clay Court Championships will take place from the 3rd to the 9th of April 2023, with the 2023 tournament taking place in the same week as the ATP tournaments in Marrakech, Morocco, and Estoril, Portugal, and the WTA tournaments in Charleston and Bogota.


Tickets for the 2023 tournament are on sale now through the official tournament website.


Tournament Organizers have confirmed that the draw for the 2023 tournament will include the 2022 singles finalists John Isner and Reilly Opelka (see tweet below).

The full player entry list for 2023 has not been released yet but the following top ATP players were included in the entry list for the men’s singles event at the 2022 tournament in Houston.

  • Taylor Fritz
  • Cristian Garin
  • Reilly Opelka
  • John Isner
  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Jenson Brooksby
  • Sam Querrey


The 2023 tournament will be held from Monday, the 3rd of April 2023 to Sunday, the 9th of April 2023.

Monday, 3 April 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday, 4 April 20231st Round Matches
Wednesday, 5 April 20232nd Round Matches
Thursday, 6 April 20232nd Round Matches
Friday, 7 April 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday, 8 April 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday, 9 April 2023Singles Final

Singles Qualifying will take place on the 1st and 2nd of April 2023.


The draw for the singles and doubles events at the 2023 ATP Houston tennis tournament will not be released until closer to the start of the competition.

Men’s Singles: TBD

Men’s Singles Qualifying: TBD

Men’s Doubles: TBD

Prize Money and Points

The total prize fund for 2023 has not been confirmed yet but in 2022 it was $665,330.

How the prize money and points were split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

NB: The below will be updated once prize money for 2023 has been confirmed.

Men’s Singles

The winner of the Men’s Singles Event in 2022 won $90,495 and 250 ATP Points, with the runner up winning $52,790 and 150 ATP Points.

Both the prize money for the winner and runner up fell from the amount awarded at the 2019 tournament.

Performance2022 Prize MoneyATP Points
2nd Round$10,44020
1st Round$6,3800

Men’s Doubles (Per Team)

The winners of the Men’s Doubles Event in 2022 won $31,440 ($15,720) each) and 250 points, with the runner ups winning $16,820 ($8,410 each) and 150 points.

Performance2022 Prize MoneyATP Points
Round 1$3,2500

ATP Houston Past Champions and Runner Ups

The tournament has been a popular event on the ATP calendar for many years with past champions including tennis greats like Andy Roddick, Jim Courier, Andre Agassi, and Jimmy Connors.

The first US Clay Court Championships was played in 1910 with Melville Hammond Long winning the inaugural singles event after beating Walter Merrill Hall 6–0, 6–1, 6–1 in the final.

Men’s Singles

The current champion in the men’s singles event is Reilly Opelka who beat John Isner in the final in 2022 (6-3, 7-6).

Home favorite Andy Roddick holds the record for most singles titles in Houston in the open era with three titles to his name (2002, 2003, and 2005).

YearChampionRunner UpScore in Final
2022Reilly OpelkaJohn Isner6-3, 7-6
2019Cristian GarínCasper Ruud7–6, 4–6, 6–3
2018Steve JohnsonTennys Sandgren7–6, 2–6, 6–4
2017Steve JohnsonThomaz Bellucci6–4, 4–6, 7–6
2016Juan MónacoJack Sock3–6, 6–3, 7–5
2015Jack SockSam Querrey7-6, 7-6
2014Fernando VerdascoNicolás Almagro6–3, 7–6
2013John IsnerNicolás Almagro6–3, 7–5
2012Juan MónacoJohn Isner6–2, 3–6, 6–3

The above list of winners and runner ups in the men’s singles goes back to 2012. For a full list, check out the official ATP Tour website.

Men’s Doubles

Matthew Ebden and Max Purcell are the current champions in the doubles event after beating Ivan Sabanov and Matej Sabanov in the doubles final in 2022.

Bob and Mike Bryan currently hold the record for most doubles titles in Houston with six doubles titles to their names (2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2014, and 2016).

YearChampionsRunner UpsScore in Final
2022Matthew Ebden and Max PurcellIvan Sabanov and Matej Sabanov6-3, 6-3
2019Santiago González and Aisam-ul-Haq QureshiKen and Neal Skupski3–6, 6–4, 10–6
2018Max Mirnyi and Philipp OswaldAndre Begemann and Antonio Šančić6–7, 6–4, 11–9
2017Julio Peralta and Horacio ZeballosDustin Brown and Frances Tiafoe4–6, 7–5, 10–6
2016Bob Bryan and Mike BryanVíctor Estrella Burgos and Santiago González4–6, 6–3, 10–8
2015Ričardas Berankis and Teymuraz GabashviliTreat Huey and Scott Lipsky6–4, 6–4
2014Bob Bryan and Mike BryanDavid Marrero and Fernando Verdasco4–6, 6–4, 11–9
2013Jamie Murray and John PeersBob Bryan and Mike Bryan1–6, 7–6, 12–10
2012James Blake and Sam QuerreyTreat Huey and Dominic Inglot7–6, 6–4

The above list of champions and runner ups in the men’s doubles in Houston goes back to 2012. For a full list, check out the official ATP Tour website.