Sydney Tennis Classic

The Sydney Tennis Classic was an ATP/WTA tennis tournament that was held in Sydney, Australia in the run up to the Australian Open grand slam tournament in January 2022.

The men’s tournament was at the ATP 250 level while the women’s tournament was at the WTA 500 level.

Both the ATP and the WTA events in 2022 were played at the same venue (NSW Tennis Centre).

Sydney Tennis Classic

2022 Sydney Tennis Classic

Location:Sydney, Australia
Tour Level:ATP 250 and WTA 500
Court Surface:Hard
Prize Money:$521,000 (ATP), $703,580 (WTA)


The 2022 Sydney Tennis Classic took place from the 10th to the 15th of January 2022.

The 2022 tournament was played in the same week at the Adelaide International and in the week before the start of the 2022 Australian Open.

NB: No tennis classic will be held in Sydney in 2024 as the United Cup (28th of December 2023 to the 7th of January 2024) is being held in the city instead.


ATP 250 Players

The below top ATP players played in the men’s singles tournament in 2022.

In addition to the below players, Nick Kyrgios also played in the tournament after he accepted a wildcard into the 2022 tournament.

  • Taylor Fritz
  • Daniel Evans
  • Reilly Opelka
  • Lorenzo Sonego
  • Cristian Garin
  • Aslan Karatsev
  • Roberto Bautista Agut
  • Nikoloz Basilashvili

WTA 500 Players

The below top WTA players played in the women’s singles tournament in 2022.

  • Ashleigh Barty
  • Garbiñe Muguruza
  • Barbora Krejcikova
  • Maria Sakkari
  • Anett Kontaveit
  • Paula Badosa
  • Iga Swiatek
  • Ons Jabeur


The tournament schedules for the 2022 ATP 250 and WTA 500 tournaments are available here and here.


ATP 250 Draw

WTA 500 Draw

Prize Money and Points

The total prize money for the ATP 250 event was $521,000 whereas the WTA 500 event had total prize money of $703,580 as it is a bigger tournament.

Men’s Singles

The winner of the ATP 250 Singles competition in 2022 received $87,370 and 250 points, with the runner up receiving $48,365 and 150 points.

Performance$ – PayoutPoints
Round of 16$8,89020
Round of 32$5,2000
Qualifying Round 2$2,5400
Qualifying Round 1$1,3200

Men’s Doubles

The winners of the ATP 250 doubles competition in 2022 received $23,370 and 250 ranking points, with the runners up receiving $13,210 and 150 ranking points.

Performance$ – PayoutPoints
2nd Round$2,54020
1st Round$1,5200

Women’s Singles

The winner of the WTA 500 Singles Event in 2022 received $108,000 and 470 WTA points, with the runner up receiving $66,800 and 305 WTA points.

Round of 16$10,00055
Round of 32$6,7501

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the WTA 500 doubles competition in 2022 received $36,200 and 470 points, with the runners up receiving $22,000 and 305 points.

Performance$ – PayoutPoints
1st Round$3,9001

Past Winners and Runners Up

Men’s Singles

Aslan Karatsev won the 2022 men’s singles competition after he beat Andy Murray in the final 6-3, 6-2 – see highlights from the final below.

Men’s doubles

John Peers and Filip Polasek beat Simone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini in the 2022 men’s doubles final 7-5, 7-5.

Women’s Singles

Paula Badosa won the 2022 Women’s Singles competition after she beat Barbora Krejcikova in the final 6-3, 4-6, 7-6 – see highlights from their final below.

Women’s Doubles

Anna Danilina and Beatriz Haddad Maia beat Vivian Heisen and Panna Udvardy in the 2022 women’s doubles final 4–6, 7–5, 10-8.