ATP Stuttgart Open

The ATP Stuttgart Open (or Boss Open) is played on outdoor grass courts at the Weissenhof Tennis Club in Stuttgart, Germany.

The tournament had previously been a clay court tournament but switched to a grass surface in 2015.

As the tournament is usually held in June, it is used by many tennis pros as a warm-up tournament ahead of the Wimbledon Championships that start at the end of June.

Stuttgart Open

2023 ATP Stuttgart Open

Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Tour Level:ATP 250
Court Surface:Outdoor Grass
Draw Size:28 Singles, 16 Doubles
Total Prize Money:€769,645 (2022)


The 2023 ATP Stuttgart Open (or Boss Open) will take place from the 12th to the 18th of June 2023.

The 2023 tournament was played in the same week as the tennis tournaments in ‘s-Hertogenbosch, Nottingham, and Valencia.


Tickets for the 2023 Boss Open tennis tournament in Stuttgart are for sale through the official tournament website, with ticket prices starting from €25.


The official entry list for the 2023 tournament will be available to view on the ATP Tour Website a few days before the start of the tournament.

Below is a list of top ATP Players that are expected to play in Stuttgart in 2023.

  • Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
  • Alexander Zverev (Wild Card)
  • Aslan Karatsev
  • Denis Shapovalov
  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Grigor Dimitrov
  • Hubert Hurkacz
  • Jack Draper
  • Jan-Lennard Struff
  • Jiri Lehecka
  • Lorenzo Musetti
  • Lorenzo Sonego
  • Marcos Giron
  • Matteo Berrettini
  • Nick Kyrgios
  • Nicolas Jarry
  • Richard Gasquet
  • Taylor Fritz
  • Tommy Paul
  • Yibing Wu

Before the start of the 2022 tournament, tournament organizers announced that Nick Kyrgios and Andy Murray would compete in the 2022 singles tournament and they would end up playing each other in the semifinals with Murray winning the match 7-6, 6-2.

It is unlikely that either player will make a return to Stuttgart in 2023.


Below is the expected schedule for the 2023 tournament in Stuttgart, with the singles final being played on the 18th of June 2023.

Monday – Day 112th of June 20231st Round Matches
Tuesday – Day 213th of June 20231st and 2nd Round Matches
Wednesday – Day 314th of June 20232nd and 3rd Round Matches
Thursday – Day 415th of June 20233rd Round Matches
Friday – Day 516th of June 2023Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday – Day 617th of June 2023Semifinal Matches
Sunday – Day 718th of June 2023Final


The draws for the 2023 tournament will be available to view on the ATP Tour website the week before the start of the tournament.

2023 Men’s Singles Draw: TBC

2023 Men’s Singles Qualifying Draw: TBC

2023 Men’s Doubles Draw: TBC

Prize Money and Ranking Points

The total prize fund for the 2023 tournament has yet to be confirmed but in 2022 it was €769,645.

How the prize money was split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

Men’s Singles

The winner of the ATP 250 Singles Event in 2022 won €105,290 and 250 ATP ranking points, with the runner-up winning €61,420 and 150 ATP ranking points.

PerformanceATP Ranking Points
2nd Round€12,15020
1st Round€7,4250

Men’s Doubles (Per Team)

The winners of the Doubles Event in 2022 received €36,580 (€18,290 each) in prize money and 250 points, with the runner-ups receiving €19,570 (€9,785 each) and 150 points.

PerformanceATP Ranking Points
1st Round€3,7800

Past Winners and Runner Ups

The Stuttgart Open has been an ATP 250 tournament since 2009 and past champions have included tennis greats such as Bjorn Borg, Ivan Lendl, and Roger Federer.

Men’s Singles

The current champion in the men’s singles event is Matteo Berrettini who beat Andy Murray 6-4, 5-7, 6-3 in the final of the 2022 tournament.

Rafael Nadal (2005, 2007, and 2015) currently holds the record for most singles titles with three to his name.

The below list of winners and runner-ups goes back to 2009. For a full list, check out the official ATP Tour website.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Matteo BerrettiniAndy Murray6-4, 5-7, 6-3
2021Marin CilicFelix Auger-Aliassime7-6, 6-3
2019Matteo BerrettiniFelix Auger-Aliassime6-4, 7-6
2018Roger FedererMilos Raonic6-4, 7-6
2017Lucas PouilleFeliciano Lopez4–6, 7–6, 6–4
2016Dominic ThiemPhilipp Kohlschreiber6–7, 6–4, 6–4
2015Rafael NadalViktor Troicki7–6, 6–3
2014Roberto Bautista AgutLukas Rosol6–3, 4–6, 6–2
2013Fabio FogniniPhilipp Kohlschreiber5–7, 6–4, 6–4
2012Janko TipsarevicJuan Monaco6–4, 5–7, 6–3
2011Juan Carlos FerreroPablo Andujar6–4, 6–0
2010Albert MontanesGael Monfils6–2, 1–2 (Retired)
2009Jeremy ChardyVictor Hanescu1–6, 6–3, 6–4

Men’s Doubles

Hubert Hurkacz and Mate Pavić are the defending champions in the doubles event after beating Michael Venus and Tim Pütz 7-6, 7-6 in the final of the 2022 doubles event in Stuttgart.

The below list of winners and runner-ups goes back to 2009. For a full list, check out the official ATP Tour website.

YearWinnersRunner UpsScore
2022Hubert Hurkacz and Mate PavićMichael Venus and Tim Pütz7-6, 7-6
2021Marcelo Demoliner and Santiago GonzálezAriel Behar and Gonzalo Escobar4–6, 6–3, 10–8
2019John Peers and Bruno SoaresRohan Bopanna and Denis Shapovalov7–5, 6–3
2018Philipp Petzschner and Tim PützRobert Lindstedt and Marcin Matkowski7–6, 6–3
2017Jamie Murray and Bruno SoaresOliver Marach and Mate Pavić6–7, 7–5, 10–5
2016Marcus Daniell and Artem SitakOliver Marach and Fabrice Martin6–7, 6–4, 10–8
2015Rohan Bopanna and Florin MergeaAlexander Peya and Bruno Soares5–7, 6–2, 10–7
2014Mateusz Kowalczyk and Artem SitakGuillermo García-López and Philipp Oswald2–6, 6–1, 10–7
2013Facundo Bagnis and Thomaz BellucciTomasz Bednarek and Mateusz Kowalczyk2–6, 6–4, 11–9
2012Jérémy Chardy and Łukasz KubotMichal Mertiňák and André Sá6–1, 6–3
2011Jürgen Melzer and Philipp PetzschnerMarcel Granollers and Marc López6–3, 6–4
2010Carlos Berlocq and Eduardo SchwankChristopher Kas and Philipp Petzschner7–6, 7–6
2009František Čermák and Michal MertiňákVictor Hănescu and Horia Tecău7–5, 6–4