ATP Rio Open Tennis Tournament

The ATP Rio Open is a clay court tennis tournament that usually takes place in February in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Past Champions of the singles tournament in Rio include Rafael Nadal, Dominic Thiem, and Cristian Garin.

The tournament is played at the Jockey Club Brasileiro and forms part of a series of tennis tournaments held in South America in February each year along with the Cordoba Open, the Argentina Open, the Mexican Open, and the Chile Open.

Rio Open

2023 Rio Open

Location:Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Tour Level:ATP 500
Court Surface:Clay Court
Current Champion(s):Cristian Garín (Singles), Marcel Granollers and Horacio Zeballos (Doubles)
Draw Size:28 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$1,815,115 (2022)


The 2023 Rio Open tennis tournament will take place from the 20th to the 26th of February 2023.

The 2023 tournament will be held in the same week as the ATP tournaments in Rome (GA), Doha, Marseille, and the WTA tournaments in Merida and Dubai.


Tickets for the 2023 tournament in Rio are not available yet.

Check the official website closer to the start of the 2023 tournament for more information on ticketing.


The provisional player entry list for the 2023 tournament in Rio has now been released with Carlos Alcaraz, Cameron Norrie, and Dominic Thiem headlining the 2023 singles event.

The following top ATP players are expected to play in Rio in 2023:

  • Albert Ramos-Vinolas
  • Alex Molcan
  • Bernabe Zapata Miralles
  • Cameron Norrie
  • Carlos Alcaraz
  • Daniel Elahi Galan
  • Diego Schwartzman
  • Dominic Thiem
  • Fabio Fognini
  • Federico Coria
  • Francisco Cerundolo
  • Guido Pella
  • Hugo Dellien
  • Jaume Munar
  • João Fonseca
  • João Sousa
  • Laslo Djere
  • Lorenzo Musetti
  • Mateus Alves
  • Pedro Cachin
  • Pedro Martinez
  • Roberto Carballes Baena
  • Sebastian Baez
  • Thiago Monteiro
  • Thomaz Bellucci
  • Tomas Martin Etcheverry


Below is the expected tournament schedule for the singles event at the 2023 tournament in Rio, with the Doubles and Singles Finals being played on Sunday, the 26th of February 2023.

Monday, 20 February 20231st Round
Tuesday, 21 February 20231st Round
Wednesday, 22 February 20232nd Round
Thursday, 23 February 20232nd Round
Friday, 24 February 2023Quarterfinals
Saturday, 25 February 2023Semifinals
Sunday, 26 February 2023Doubles and Singles Finals


NB: The draws for the 2023 Rio Open have not been made yet so the below is related to 2022.

The draw for the 2022 tournament in Rio has taken place and is available to view on the ATP Tour website.

Matteo Berrettini was the number one seed in the singles event followed by Casper Rudd who was the number two seed.

The number 1 seed, Matteo Berrettini lost in the quarterfinals while the number 2 seed Casper Rudd pulled out of his round of 16 match against Francisco Cerundolo due to injury.

The singles final was between Carlos Alcaraz and Diego Schwartzman with Alcaraz winning the final 6-4, 6-2.

In the doubles, Marcel Granollers and Horacio Zeballos were the number one seeds with Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah the number two seeds.

The number 2 seeds lost in the round of 16 while the number 1 seeds lost in the semifinals.

The doubles final was won by Fabio Fognini and Simone Bolelli who beat Bruno Soares and Jamie Murray 7-5, 6-7, 10-6 in an exciting doubles final.

Prize Money

The prize fund for 2023 has not been confirmed yet but in 2022 the total prize money for the Rio tournament was $1,815,115.

How the prize money was split for the 2022 tournament is detailed below.

Men’s Singles

The winner of the Singles Event in 2022 (Carlos Alcaraz) received $317,400, with the runner up Diego Schwartzman receiving $169,985.

The Singles Prize Money for the finalists has dropped from the levels seen in 2020 but amounts awarded to players at other levels were consistent with what was paid out for the 2020 tournament.

Round 2$25,900$24,540
Round 1$13,760$13,555

Men’s Doubles

The winners of the Doubles Event in 2022 (Fabio Fognini and Simone Bolelli) received $102,210 ($51,105 each), with the runner ups Bruno Soares and Jamie Murray receiving $54,390 ($27,195 each).

Round 1$6,960$7,430

ATP Rio Past Winners and Runner Ups

Men’s Singles

Carlos Alcaraz is the current champion in the singles event in Rio after beating Diego Schwartzman 6-4, 6-2 in the 2022 final.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore in Final
2022Carlos AlcarazDiego Schwartzman6-4, 6-2
2020Cristian GarínGianluca Mager7–6, 7–5
2019Laslo ĐereFélix Auger-Aliassime6–3, 7–5
2018Diego SchwartzmanFernando Verdasco6–2, 6–3
2017Dominic ThiemPablo Carreño Busta7–5, 6–4
2016Pablo CuevasGuido Pella6–4, 6–7, 6–4
2015David FerrerFabio Fognini6–2, 6–3
2014Rafael NadalAlexandr Dolgopolov6–3, 7–6

Men’s Doubles

Fabio Fognini and Simone Bolelli are the current champions in the doubles event in Rio after beating Salvatore Caruso and Federico Gaio 7-5, 6-7, 10-6 in the 2022 doubles final.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2022Fabio Fognini and Simone BolelliBruno Soares and Jamie Murray7-5, 6-7, 10-6
2020Marcel Granollers and Horacio ZeballosSalvatore Caruso and Federico Gaio6–4, 5–7, 10–7
2019Máximo González and Nicolás JarryThomaz Bellucci and Rogério Dutra Silva6–7, 6–3, 10–7
2018David Marrero and Fernando VerdascoNikola Mektić and Alexander Peya5–7, 7–5, 10–8
2017Pablo Carreño Busta and Pablo CuevasJuan Sebastián Cabal and Robert Farah6–4, 5–7, 10–8
2016Juan Sebastián Cabal and Robert FarahPablo Carreño Busta and David Marrero7–6, 6–1
2015Martin Kližan and Philipp OswaldPablo Andújar and Oliver Marach7–6, 6–4
2014Juan Sebastián Cabal and Robert FarahDavid Marrero and Marcelo Melo6–4, 6–2