Next Gen ATP Finals

The Next Gen ATP Finals is an annual tennis tournament that was started in 2017 to showcase the best young players (21 and under) on the ATP Tour.

The tournament was played on indoor hard courts at the PalaLido arena in Milan, Italy from 2017 to 2022, with the 2023 tournament being held at the King Abdullah Sports City in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

Next Gen ATP Finals

2023 Next Gen ATP Finals


The 2023 Next Generation ATP Finals were held from the 28th of November to the 2nd of December 2023, the week after the ATP Finals in Turin.

The 2023 tournament was played in the same week as the tennis tournaments in Buenos Aires, Andorra, Seoul, and the challenger tournaments in Yokkaichi, Maia, Temuco, and Masopalomas.


Tickets for the 2023 tournament in Jeddah were sold through the tournament’s official website, with ticket prices starting from 15 SAR.


Below is the schedule for the 2023 tournament in Jeddah, with the tournament starting on Tuesday, the 28th of November, and the final match being played on Saturday, the 2nd of December 2023.

28 – 30 November 2023Group Stage
1 December 2023Semifinals
2 December 2023Final


Each year the Association of Tennis Professionals runs a “Race to the Next Gen Finals” to choose seven players under the age of 21 who get to participate in the finals in November.

There is also one wild card entry which brings the total number of participants to 8.

The 8 players are then split into two groups of four (Group A and Group B) with a round-robin format being used to decide who qualifies for the semifinals.

All matches are best of five sets, but sets are played in a first to four games format rather than the first to six games format that is used in the regular ATP Tour matches.

Once the round robin matches have been completed, the winner of Group A faces the runner up in Group B while the winner of Group B faces the runner up in Group A in the semifinals, with the winner of the two semifinals meeting in the final.

Next Gen Players

The player list for the 2023 tournament in Jeddah has now been released (see below):

  1. Arthur Fils
  2. Dominic Stricker
  3. Luca Van Assche
  4. Flavio Cobolli
  5. Alex Michelsen
  6. Hamad Medjedovic
  7. Luca Nardi
  8. Abdullah Shelbayh


The groups for 2023 have now been confirmed, with the players (see below) being split into two groups (green and red).

Green Group

  • Arthur Fils
  • Dominic Stricker
  • Flavio Cobolli
  • Luca Nardi

Red Group

  • Luca Van Assche
  • Alex Michelsen
  • Hamad Medjedovic
  • Abdullah Shelbayh

Prize Money

The total prize money fund for the 2023 Next Generation ATP Finals was $2,000,000, with the prize money being split as follows.

Participation Fee

Players were paid a participation fee of $150,000 (2022: $82,250), with any alternates for the event receiving $15,000.

Group Stage, Semifinals, and Final

For each group match a player won, they earned an additional $32,500 (2022: $28,000) while a semi-final win earned a player an additional $113,500 (2022: $113,500).

The 2023 champion won an additional $153,000 (2022: $153,000) on top of what they had already earned in the group stage and the semifinals.

The maximum amount of prize money a player could earn in 2023 was $514,000 ($150,000 + ($32,500×3) + $113,500 + $153,000).

The winner of the 2023 event (Hamad Medjedovic) won $514,000 as he had won all three of his group stage matches on his way to winning the competition in 2023.

Past Winners and Results

The current champion is Hamad Medjedovic who defeated Arthur Fils in the 2023 final in Jeddah (3-4, 4-1, 4-2, 3-4, 4-1) – see match highlights below.

Other past Next Gen winners include Carlos Alcaraz, Jannik Sinner, Stefanos Tsitsipas, and Brandon Nakashima.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2023Hamad MedjedovicArthur Fils3-4, 4-1, 4-2, 3-4, 4-1
2022Brandon NakashimaJiri Lehecka4–3, 4–3, 4–2
2021Carlos AlcarazSebastian Korda4–3, 4–2, 4–2
2019Jannik SinnerAlex de Minaur4–2, 4–1, 4–2
2018Stefanos TsitsipasAlex de Minaur2-4, 4–1, 4–3, 4–3
2017Chung HyeonAndrey Rublev3–4, 4–3, 4–2, 4–2

Past Players


  • Brandon Nakashima
  • Chun-hsin Tseng
  • Dominic Stricker
  • Francesco Passaro
  • Jack Draper
  • Jiří Lehečka
  • Lorenzo Musetti
  • Matteo Arnaldi


  • Brandon Nakashima
  • Carlos Alcaraz
  • Holger Rune
  • Hugo Gaston
  • Juan Manuel Cerúndolo
  • Lorenzo Musetti
  • Sebastián Báez
  • Sebastian Korda


  • Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
  • Alex de Minaur
  • Casper Ruud
  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Jannik Sinner
  • Mikael Ymer
  • Miomir Kecmanović
  • Ugo Humbert


  • Alex de Minaur
  • Andrey Rublev
  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Hubert Hurkacz
  • Jaume Munar
  • Liam Caruana
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas
  • Taylor Fritz


  • Andrey Rublev
  • Borna Coric
  • Chung Hyeon
  • Daniil Medvedev
  • Denis Shapovalov
  • Gianluigi Quinzi
  • Jared Donaldson
  • Karen Khachanov