Mubadala World Tennis Championships

The Mubadala World Tennis Championships is an exhibition tournament that is played on outdoor hard courts in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

The first exhibition event in Abu Dhabi was played in 2009 with Andy Murray beating Rafael Nadal in three sets 6–4, 5–7, 6–3.

In 2017, a women’s singles match was added to the competition with the 2017 French Open singles champion Jeļena Ostapenko beating Serena Williams 6–2, 3–6, 10–5.

Mubadala World Tennis Championships

2022 Mubadala World Tennis Championships

Location:Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Venue:Zayed Sports City
Court Surface:Outdoor Hard Courts
Draw Size:6 Men’s Singles, 2 Women’s Singles
Prize Money:US$250,000


The 2022 Abu Dhabi Tennis Tournament was held from the 16th to the 18th of December 2022 at the Zayed Sports City.


Tickets for the 2022 competition in the Abu Dhabi Tennis Tournament were sold through the tournament’s official website.


Tournament organizers confirmed before the start of the tournament that the following players would play in the 2022 Abu Dhabi exhibition event.


The 2022 tournament was held from Friday, the 16th of December to Sunday, the 18th of December 2022.

Friday, 16 December 2022Men’s Quarterfinals and Women’s Final
Saturday, 17 December 2022Men’s 5th Place Play-Off and Semifinals
Sunday, 18 December 2022Men’s 3rd Place Play-Off and Final

The first match on Friday was Stefanos Tsitsipas vs Cameron Norrie, followed by Frances Tiafoe vs Andrey Rublev.

Finally, the Ons Jabeur vs Emma Raducanu match was played on Friday (Not before 8 pm local time).

On Saturday, Casper Ruud took on the winner of the Tsitsipas/Norrie match, and this was followed by Carlos Alcaraz taking on the winner of the Tiafoe/Rublev match.

On Sunday, the losing semifinalists took each other on in the third place playoff, and this was followed by the men’s final.


For the 2022 tournament, there were 6 players included in the men’s singles draw and 2 players in the women’s singles draw.

The men’s draw was made a few days before the start of the tournament and the women’s match saw Ons Jabeur take on Emma Raducanu.

Prize Money

The winner of the men’s singles competition in Abu Dhabi takes home prize money totaling $250,000.

All other male players in the competition will not receive any prize money but they will receive an appearance fee for participating in the exhibition event.

No information has been released in relation to the prize money awarded to the winner of the women’s match in 2022.

2022 Results

Day 1

Men’s Quarterfinals

Stefanos Tsitsipas bt. Cameron Norrie – 6-1, 6-4

Andrey Rublev bt. Borna Coric – 7-6, 6-4

Women’s Final

Ons Jabeur bt. Emma Raducanu – 5-7, 6-3, 10-8

Day 2

5th Place Playoff

Cameron Norrie bt. Borna Coric – 6-3, 7-5

Men’s Semifinals

Stefanos Tsitsipas bt. Casper Ruud – 6-2, 6-2

Andrey Rublev bt. Carlos Alcaraz – 6-2, 6-1

Day 3

3rd Place Playoff

Casper Ruud bt. Carlos Alcaraz – 6-1, 6-4

Men’s Final

Stefanos Tsitsipas bt. Andrey Rublev – 6-2, 4-6, 6-2

Past Winners and Runners Up

Men’s Singles

The current champion in the men’s singles competition is Stefanos Tsitsipas who beat the 2021 defending champion Andrey Rublev in three sets 6-2, 4-6, 6-2 in the 2022 men’s singles final.

Rafael Nadal currently holds the record for most finals (6) and most titles (5) at the exhibition tournament in Abu Dhabi.

Below is a table detailing the winners and runners up in the men’s singles competition since it started in 2009.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2022Stefanos TsitsipasAndrey Rublev6-2, 4-6, 6-2
2021Andrey RublevAndy Murray6–4, 7–6
2019Rafael Nadal Stefanos Tsitsipas6–7, 7–5, 7–6
2018Novak Djokovic  Kevin Anderson4–6, 7–5, 7–5
2017Kevin AndersonRoberto Bautista Agut6–4, 7–6
Dec 2016Rafael Nadal David Goffin6–4, 7–6
Jan 2016Rafael Nadal Milos Raonic7–6, 6–3
2015Andy Murray Novak DjokovicWalkover**
2013Novak Djokovic David Ferrer7–5, 6–2
2012Novak Djokovic Nicolás Almagro6–7, 6–3, 6–4
Dec 2011Novak DjokovicDavid Ferrer6–2, 6–1
Jan 2011Rafael Nadal Roger Federer7–6, 7–6
2010Rafael NadalRobin Söderling7–6, 7–5
2009Andy MurrayRafael Nadal6–4, 5–7, 6–3

*No exhibition event was held this year.

**Djokovic withdrew from the event due to a fever he picked up.

Women’s Singles

The current champion in the women’s singles tournament is Ons Jabeur who beat Emma Raducanu 5-7, 6-3, 10-8 in the 2022 women’s singles final.

Ons Jabeur became the first female tennis player to win the Abu Dhabi exhibition tournament twice.

Below is a table detailing the winners and runners up in the women’s singles tournament since it started in 2017.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2022Ons JabeurEmma Raducanu5-7, 6-3, 10-8
2021Ons JabeurBelinda Bencic4–6, 6–3, 10–8
2019Maria SharapovaAjla Tomljanovic6–4, 7–5
2018Venus WilliamsSerena Williams4–6, 6–3, 10–8
2017Jeļena OstapenkoSerena Williams6–2, 3–6, 10–5

*No tournament was held this year.