Istanbul Open

The Istanbul Open is an outdoor clay court tennis tournament on the WTA Tour that takes place annually in Istanbul, Turkey.

From the start, tournament organizers had a vision of creating a tournament that would attract some of the best tennis players on the WTA Tour, as well as giving opportunities to some young Turkish players.

The tournament is currently sponsored by TEB BNP Paribas with matches being played at the TTF Istanbul Tennis Center located in the İstinye neighborhood of Istanbul.

Istanbul Open

2023 Istanbul Open

Alternative Name:TEB BNP Paribas Tennis Championship Istanbul
Location:Istanbul, Turkey
Tour Level:WTA 250
Court Surface:Outdoor Clay
2022 Champion(s):Anastasia Potapova (Singles), Sara Sorribes Tormo and Marie Bouzkova (Doubles)
Draw Size:32 Singles, 16 Doubles
Prize Money:$239,477 (2022)


The 2023 WTA Istanbul Open tennis tournament will take place from the 17th to the 23rd of April 2023.

The tournament will be held in the same week as the WTA 500 tournament in Stuttgart and the ATP tournaments in Barcelona, Munich, and Banja Luka.


The official entry list for 2023 has not yet been released but in 2022, the tournament featured top WTA players like Elise Mertens, Sorana Cirstea, and Veronika Kudermetova.

Below is a list of the top eight seeds in singles for the 2022 Istanbul Tennis Tournament.

  • Elise Mertens
  • Sorana Cîrstea
  • Veronika Kudermetova
  • Anhelina Kalinina
  • Jil Teichmann
  • Ajla Tomljanovic
  • Sara Sorribes Tormo
  • Tereza Martincova


The 2023 tournament will start on Monday, the 17th of April, with the finals being played on Sunday, the 23rd of April 2023.

Monday, 17 April 20221st Round Matches
Tuesday, 18 April 20221st and 2nd Round Matches
Wednesday, 19 April 20222nd and 3rd Round Matches
Thursday, 20 April 20223rd Round Matches
Friday, 21 April 2022Quarterfinal Matches
Saturday, 22 April 2022Semifinal Matches
Sunday, 23 April 2022Finals


The draws for the 2023 singles and doubles tournaments in Istanbul will be made closer to the start of the tournament.

Singles Qualifying Draw: TBC

Singles Draw: TBC

Doubles Draw: TBC

Prize Money and Points

The total prize fund for 2023 has not yet been confirmed but in 2022 it was $239,477, with the prize money and points for the 2022 singles and doubles tournaments in Istanbul being split as follows:

Women’s Singles

The winner of the Women’s Singles Event in 2022 won $31,000 and 280 ranking points, with the runner up receiving $18,037 and 180 ranking points.

Performance$WTA Points
Round 2$3,67530
Round 1$2,6751

Women’s Doubles

The winners of the Women’s Doubles Event in 2022 won $10,800 ($5,400 each) and 280 points, with the runner ups receiving $6,300 ($3,150 each) and 180 points.

1st Round$1,7501

WTA Istanbul Past Winners and Runner Ups

Women’s Singles

The current champion in the women’s singles event is Anastasia Potapova who beat Veronika Kudermetova 6-3, 6–1 in the 2022 singles final in Istanbul.

Below is a list of previous winners of the singles event in Istanbul, going back to 2014.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2022Anastasia PotapovaVeronika Kudermetova6-3, 6-1
2021Sorana CîrsteaElise Mertens6–1, 7–6
2020Patricia Maria ȚigEugenie Bouchard2–6, 6–1, 7–6
2019Petra MartićMarkéta Vondroušová1–6, 6–4, 6–1
2018Pauline ParmentierPolona Hercog6–4, 3–6, 6–3
2017Elina SvitolinaElise Mertens6–2, 6–4
2016Çağla BüyükakçayDanka Kovinić3–6, 6–2, 6–3
2015Lesia TsurenkoUrszula Radwańska7–5, 6–1
2014Caroline WozniackiRoberta Vinci6–1, 6–1

Women’s Doubles

Marie Bouzkova and Sara Sorribes Tormo are the current champions in the women’s doubles event at the WTA Istanbul Open after beating Natela Dzalamidze and Kamilla Rakhimova 6–3, 6–4 in the 2022 doubles final.

Below is a list of previous winners of the doubles event in Istanbul, going back to 2014.

YearWinnerRunner UpScore
2022Marie Bouzkova and Sara Sorribes TormoNatela Dzalamidze and Kamilla Rakhimova6-3, 6-4
2021Veronika Kudermetova and Elise MertensNao Hibino and Makoto Ninomiya6–1, 6–1
2020Alexa Guarachi and Desirae KrawczykEllen Perez and Storm Sanders6–1, 6–3
2019Tímea Babos and Kristina MladenovicAlexa Guarachi and Sabrina Santamaria6–1, 6–0
2018Liang Chen and Zhang ShuaiXenia Knoll and Anna Smith6–4, 6–4
2017Dalila Jakupović and Nadiia KichenokNicole Melichar and Elise Mertens7–6, 6–2
2016Andreea Mitu and İpek SoyluXenia Knoll and Danka KovinićWalkover
2015Daria Gavrilova and Elina SvitolinaÇağla Büyükakçay and Jelena Janković5–7, 6–1, 10–4
2014Misaki Doi and Elina SvitolinaOksana Kalashnikova and Paula Kania6–4, 6–0