Davis Cup Finals

The Davis Cup Finals is an annual international team tournament in tennis where 16 countries compete to win the top team event in tennis, with the competition sometimes being referred to as the “World Cup of Tennis”.

In 2019, the Davis Cup Finals replaced the old format which involved matches being played at different points throughout the year with only two teams competing in the final.

Davis Cup Finals

Davis Cup 2023

In November 2022, details of the draw for the 2023 Davis Cup qualifying round were released by tournament organizers (see video of the draw below).

A total of 36 matches were played on the 3rd, 4th, and 5th of February 2023 with 12 qualifying matches, 12 World Cup Group I Play-off matches, and 12 World Cup Group II Play-off matches being played over the course of the three days.

The winners of the 12 qualifying matches in February qualified for the group stage matches in September.

Canada and Australia automatically qualified for the 2023 finals, based on their performance in the 2022 tournament, while Italy and Spain received wild cards as they are co-hosting the 2023 finals with the UK and Croatia.

Qualifiers – 2023 Results

#Home teamvsAway TeamResult
5ColumbiavsGreat Britain1-3
8Republic of KoreavsBelgium3-2
9SwedenvsBosnia and Herzegovina3-1
12PortugalvsCzech Republic1-3

NB: Teams in bold were seeded.

Group Stage

The venues for the group stage of the 2023 tournament were Bologna (Italy), Manchester (UK), Valencia (Spain), and Split (Croatia), with matches taking place the week after the US Open (12-17 September 2023).

The group stage consisted of four groups of four in a round-robin format, with the top two teams in each group progressing to the quarterfinals that were played in November 2023.

Below are the results from the group stage of the 2023 Davis Cup.

Group A – Bologna, Italy


Group B – Manchester, UK

Great Britain330

Group C – Valencia, Spain

Czech Republic330
South Korea303

Group D – Split, Croatia


*Countries in bold qualified for the Knockout Stage.

Knockout Stage

The quarterfinals, semifinals, and final were played from the 21st to the 26th of November in Martin Carpena, Malaga, Spain.

2023 Quarterfinal Matches

  1. Finland bt. Canada – 2-1
  2. Australia bt. Czech Republic – 2-1
  3. Italy bt. Netherlands – 2-1
  4. Serbia bt. Great Britain – 2-0

2023 Semifinal Matches

  1. Australia bt. Finland – 2-0
  2. Italy bt. Serbia – 2-1

2023 Final

  1. Italy bt. Australia – 2-0

2023 Davis Cup Schedule and Dates

Below is the schedule for the 2023 Davis Cup with the qualifying matches being played in February, the group stage in September, and the knockout stage in November.

The final was played on Sunday, the 26th of November 2023 at the Martin Carpena in Malaga, Spain.

3-5 February 2023Qualifiers, and World Group I/II Play-offs
12-17 September 2023Davis Cup Finals (Group Stage)
21-26 November 2023Davis Cup Finals (Knockout Stage)


For more information on tickets for the 2023 Finals, check out the official website.

Past Winners, Runners Up, and Results

The 2023 Davis Cup champions were Italy who beat Australia in the final 2-0 after Matteo Arnaldi and Jannik Sinner won their singles matches – see highlights from the Jannik Sinner vs Ale De Minaur match below.

The most successful country in the open era is the USA with thirteen wins followed by Sweden with seven and Australia/Spain with six wins each.

Below is a list of Davis Cup winners by year from 1968 to 2023.

YearWinnerRunner UpScoreLocation of Final
2023ItalyAustralia2-0Malaga, Spain
2022CanadaAustralia2-0Malaga, Spain
2021RussiaCroatia2-0Madrid, Spain
2019Spain Canada2–0Madrid, Spain
2018Croatia France3–1Lille, France
2017France Belgium3–2Lille, France
2016Argentina Croatia3–2Zagreb, Croatia
2015 Great Britain Belgium3–1Ghent, Belgium
2014 Switzerland France3–1Lille, France
2013 Czech Republic Serbia3–2Belgrade, Serbia
2012 Czech Republic Spain3–2Prague, Czech Republic
2011 Spain Argentina3–1Seville, Spain
2010 Serbia France3–2Belgrade, Serbia
2009 Spain Czech Republic5–0Barcelona, Spain
2008 Spain Argentina3–1Mar del Plata, Argentina
2007 United States Russia4–1Portland, USA
2006 Russia Argentina3–2Moscow, Russia
2005 Croatia Slovakia3–2Bratislava, Slovakia
2004 SpainUSA3–2Seville, Spain
2003 Australia Spain3–1Melbourne, Australia
2002 Russia France3–2Paris, France
2001 France Australia3–2Melbourne, Australia
2000 Spain Australia3–1Barcelona, Spain
1999 Australia France3–2Nice, France
1998 Sweden Italy4–1Milan, Italy
1997 Sweden USA5–0Gothenburg, Sweden
1996 France Sweden3–2Malmö, Sweden
1995USA Russia3–2Moscow, Russia
1994 Sweden Russia4–1Moscow, Russia
1993 GermanyAustralia4–1Düsseldorf, Germany
1992USASwitzerland3–1Fort Worth, USA
1991 FranceUSA3–1Lyon, France
1990 United States Australia3–2St. Petersburg, USA
1989 West Germany Sweden3–2Stuttgart, West Germany
1988 West Germany Sweden4–1Gothenburg, Sweden
1987 Sweden India5–0Gothenburg, Sweden
1986 Australia Sweden3–2Melbourne, Australia
1985 Sweden West Germany3–2Munich, West Germany
1984 Sweden United States4–1Gothenburg, Sweden
1983 Australia Sweden3–2Melbourne, Australia
1982 United States France4–1Grenoble, France
1981 United States Argentina3–1Cincinnati, USA
1980 Czechoslovakia Italy4–1Prague, Czechoslovakia
1979 United States Italy5–0San Francisco, USA
1978 United States Great Britain4–1Rancho Mirage, USA
1977 Australia Italy3–1Sydney, Australia
1976 Italy Chile4–1Santiago, Chile
1975 Sweden Czechoslovakia3–2Stockholm, Sweden
1974 South Africa Indiaw/oN/A
1973 Australia United States5–0Cleveland, USA
1972 United States Romania3–2Bucharest, Romania
1971 United States Romania3–2Charlotte, USA
1970 United States West Germany5–0Cleveland, USA
1969 United States Romania5–0Cleveland, USA
1968 United States Australia4–1Adelaide, Australia